something about stainless steel

sotplugDESIGNER

Apr 20, 2004
Selangor
Visit site
im a industrial design student,now 1 of my assign is to find out "How 2 make a knife"

ofcoz i know its made by stainless steel,but HOW???

there are 3 types of forming process in industrial which is
-solid state
-plastic state
-liquid state

so now i have to find out how to form stainless steel knife (blade) according to 1 of that 3 processes...

example > is it melt the stainless steel then pour it into mold to form the outlook/shape,when its cold,sand the sharp edge and its done? (this is liquid state forming)

but any taikor can tell a exact/confirm answer? dont care about which forming process 1st, just tell the steps if u know well in making stainless steel exspecially knife

TQ bely much for your helping!:biggrin:

TypicalGuy

1,000 RPM
Dec 29, 2004
KL
Visit site
i always watch how ppl make sword in the movie....
kekekk
google it lar

sotplugDESIGNER

Apr 20, 2004
Selangor
Visit site
thteh86 said:
based on wat i learnt in chemistry, chromium plays a very big part in forming stainless steel

sorry if i can't give much info....
i found chromium and how many % to form it but i want is "how 2 make a knife" hahaha,i mean make/form knife blade not how 2 make stainless steel hehe:biggrin:

sotplugDESIGNER

Apr 20, 2004
Selangor
Visit site
TypicalGuy said:
i always watch how ppl make sword in the movie....
kekekk
google it lar

hahaha u kung fu man lah

neway i googled it but cant found the exact info i wan,all also about how 2 form stainless steel only,not how 2 form a stainless steel knife:frown:

sotplugDESIGNER

Apr 20, 2004
Selangor
Visit site
thteh86 said:
time to visit the blacksmith...hahahahaha

k la, sorry that i can't help
cannot lah abang,blacksmith just heat it n hantam hantam only, i want mass production way,if i want 10000pcs mau hantam until when ah?kekeke:tongue:

satria_95

6,000 RPM
Jan 2, 2004
Malaysia