Sifus, can Small Vtec(EF) fit EK chasis?

Wanggot

May 22, 2006
Jay Bee
Sifus, I just bought an Civic EK2. 1.3 (A) very cheapone. I plan to transplant 1.6 Vtec engine into it. I found out that B16a from Eg6 hafkat is very expensive aredi cost RM7k. If plus wiring,endorsementit would overall cost me 10k...

Just wondering can I put a small vtec Dohc from EF9 hafkat into my EK without any modification in mounting? In JB it only cost me around RM4k for dat hafkat. What about the spareparts? Gearbox mounting? And of course horse power?

lightningfield

Dec 29, 2004
www.ef-honda.com
bro, save your money for another couple of months n look for EG6 halfcut. many things to be considered if u plan to use EF9 engine into EK.

1. mounting - it aint the same
2. driveshafts - can you use EK dshaft to fit with the engine?
2. EF is using cable transmission whereas EG hydraulic
3. wiring - its gonna be a mess fitting OBD0 wiring to an EK unless u wanna go standalone. EF has more vaccum hoses etc compared to EG/EK
4. spareparts - pretty much the same as other B16 engine
5. horsepower - not much different from big v, but small v on heavy EK chassis?
6. engine condition - the first batch of 1st generation dohc vtec was produced in 1989 - 1991. we are entering 2008 in few days time. do the math.

last but not least. i have seen 1-2 EKs with small vtec engines from EF/CRX. well the owners had some 'pening kepala' time dealing with d wirings and other stuff..

Wanggot

May 22, 2006
Jay Bee
bro, save your money for another couple of months n look for EG6 halfcut. many things to be considered if u plan to use EF9 engine into EK.

1. mounting - it aint the same
2. driveshafts - can you use EK dshaft to fit with the engine?
2. EF is using cable transmission whereas EG hydraulic
3. wiring - its gonna be a mess fitting OBD0 wiring to an EK unless u wanna go standalone. EF has more vaccum hoses etc compared to EG/EK
4. spareparts - pretty much the same as other B16 engine
5. horsepower - not much different from big v, but small v on heavy EK chassis?
6. engine condition - the first batch of 1st generation dohc vtec was produced in 1989 - 1991. we are entering 2008 in few days time. do the math.

last but not least. i have seen 1-2 EKs with small vtec engines from EF/CRX. well the owners had some 'pening kepala' time dealing with d wirings and other stuff..
Well I guess U rite. I need to learn morela bout this Hondas stuff.. No point spending a few for a small V if later on got pening kepala. I tot it is easy as put a 4g91 into a Saga... Hehe...
Actually how much does it cost 4 an EG6 halfcut over there in KL/Selangor?
Thanx Mr.Lightning 4 sharing dat useful info..

lightningfield

Dec 29, 2004
www.ef-honda.com
should be around 5-7k depending on condition n spec (with lsd bla bla). which part of jb ure from? im from tmn perling.

btw, ur nick seems familiar. u did sell rims, performance parts somewhere right?

integram

Apr 10, 2007
i do seriously agree wit lightningfield on his opinion bro....m usin a b16a fm a da8 integra hafkat n its a li'l tuff to get selected used perfomance parts lyk da clutch,crank pulley,lsd,extractor n etc coz its not da common b16a....neway im fm tampoi....gud luck bro...

integram

Apr 10, 2007
sure lightningfield....jus inform me the time n day bro....

budin99

Mar 19, 2006
If you're willing to come to Penang, there is one GSR hafkat for 6.5K. workmanship 1K. Change part around 1K. You do the math for grand total.

1 day can finish the transplant. Just stay in da hotel for one night.

Wanggot

May 22, 2006
Jay Bee
should be around 5-7k depending on condition n spec (with lsd bla bla). which part of jb ure from? im from tmn perling.

btw, ur nick seems familiar. u did sell rims, performance parts somewhere right?
5K can get one kaa? Okla can start save money from now... Mr. Lightning can U suggest any Vtec specialist workshop around JB?

Yaa.. I sell rims alot but never sell any performance part... Got very poor knowledge bout engines and stuff.. Hehe... Im from Johor Jaya..

bien335

Aug 3, 2009
sorry its SR Motorsport. not ASR. my bad.

yup. theres a b18c with KKK turbo lying on the floor.. prepare 15k to get it wahaha.
B18??

i tot B16, coz insie EG6 chassis. i saw the halfcut when it came to Wang Di, then some dudes from tan sri yaakob angkut. along with a few EG6's as well.

forgot the dudes name lah. slipped my mind. his bro ada kedai tayar at nusa bestari.

Hello, newbie here.
Anyone tried plastdip their wheels? I tried searching the forums but didn't manage to find any post. I saw DipYourCar videos and it look so easy to do. Any advice and photos? Thanks!

[youtube]OlyB3FbYRRs[/youtube]