Should I Trade My Current Civic EG9 for a BMW E30

ferio94eg9

Jul 12, 2007
Guys, help me in giving out your opinion....

My Current EG9 Spec:-

Year 1994
Manual 5 Speed LSD EK9
B18C Non Type R
175whp & 17.2kg.m

E30 Spec:- (Selling at RM 19,500)

E30 Coupe (yr.1984 end), 2000cc, 5 speed manual. (2nd owner)

Details:
-Full car stripped down, all rusted parts were removed and replaced. (firewall still in great cond.)
-Car has been repainted to Misano Rot 236 with Mtech 2 Bodykit
-The engine and gearbox has been professional rebuilt this year.
-All wear and tear related parts have been replaced
-Eibach lowered spring + New Blistien suspension + Sport rim - tyre(90%)
-A custom made of lower control arm bracket with PU bush insert. (What it does is provide sharper turn in)
-Timely service and maintenance records
-Spent almost RM20K since purchased

Negative & needs:
-Dashboard cracks
-Re-upholstered interior

Buyer will have this as an extras:
Mtech seat, rear seat with headrest
Cabrio rear seat (leather)

Civic EG9

BMW E30

alwhitesat

Jan 6, 2009
dont do that unless u are a hardcore fan of bmw...i switched from a bmw to a honda

eg9_05

Jun 7, 2007
mostly ppl upgrade not downgrading the values of the car

es2611

Jan 10, 2006
keep the EG9 and plump in a K20.
unless u have something in mind/project with the E30.

es2611

Jan 10, 2006
isn't k20 a bit heavy in eg body? wouldn't it compromise the handling....
im not sure about that sir. but from wat i see its a trend in the US.
and many after market parts to counter the handling problems.

looking at a k20a halfcut right now.. but kinda costly.

ferio94eg9

Jul 12, 2007
keep the EG9 and plump in a K20.
unless u have something in mind/project with the E30.
im not sure about that sir. but from wat i see its a trend in the US.
and many after market parts to counter the handling problems.

looking at a k20a halfcut right now.. but kinda costly.
anyway, thx for ur opinion.

p/s: k20a from DC5R or FD2R?

mADmAN

id get the DC5-R....its the most updated throttle cable K20

the FD2-R is DBW...which im not really fond of due to the lag...though according to friends who own the car, the lag isnt that apparent....but still...

anyway, know a mechanic who has a K20A in his EG hatch...asked him how much to convert...he said roughly 20k complete everything.

another guy i know has one in his EK Hatch...bought the halfcut for 12k...but no bodyparts, brakes, dashboard etc etc.

ferio94eg9

Jul 12, 2007
k20a in EG must be 'rare' and powerfull....hehe... anyway, back to topic.

E30 is RWD... stock engine is straight 6, 12v, 2.0liter.... (new driving experience)

es2611

Jan 10, 2006
id get the DC5-R....its the most updated throttle cable K20

the FD2-R is DBW...which im not really fond of due to the lag...though according to friends who own the car, the lag isnt that apparent....but still...

anyway, know a mechanic who has a K20A in his EG hatch...asked him how much to convert...he said roughly 20k complete everything.

another guy i know has one in his EK Hatch...bought the halfcut for 12k...but no bodyparts, brakes, dashboard etc etc.
there u go bro. nicely explained by mr madman here.
a friend who ready to convert just brought in a mounting from hasport for EG to K20 around Rm1.6k.

---------- Post added at 03:36 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:34 PM ----------

k20a in EG must be 'rare' and powerfull....hehe... anyway, back to topic.

E30 is RWD... stock engine is straight 6, 12v, 2.0liter.... (new driving experience)
different world. imho is not fair to compare unless ur already made up ur mind of crossing over.

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
if im not wrong, the k20a is even lighter than the b16a. 20k to transplant a k20 into a eg? sure or not bro? the halfcut itself (engine,gb,wiring,ecu only) by itself, cheapest i've seen is 19k, that also required alot of negotiation.

my tuner just did a transplant into an EK, but the owner had massive mods done, total bill was almost within the 40k region.

back to topic: u may want to consider spare parts availability. no use to get ur "dream" car but with all the problems its gonna bring, and no solution as to spare parts, it'll be ur nightmare in no time.

mADmAN

if im not wrong, the k20a is even lighter than the b16a. 20k to transplant a k20 into a eg? sure or not bro? the halfcut itself (engine,gb,wiring,ecu only) by itself, cheapest i've seen is 19k, that also required alot of negotiation.
yup...sure.. coz i asked the mech how much he'll charge for it.

another guy i know has a K20 in his EK... he said the halfcut he bought was RM12k... but no bodyparts, dash, meters, brakes etc etc... basically just the things in the engine bay

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
12k? thats even cheaper than a dc2r halfcut. is it a k20z (the one from the FD 2.0) or a k20a?

i really dont think its that cheap, else it'll already be in my engine bay lol !

mADmAN

DC5 K20A-R. price is for halfcut only...again..not inclusive of alot of other things like brakes.

some dood even mentioned he managed to get a K20AR halfcut for RM9k on the avantech FB page

feezdya

Aug 3, 2006
Pee Jay
www.takaful-ikhlas.com.my
from my experiance, e30 items/maintenance are more expensive if compared to your eg la bro..even e36 is more cheaper than e30 parts etc..why dont you go for e36? you can get it around that price also what..unless if want to keep the car as 2nd car or collection item than go for e30 la..always remember on the tear and wear, engine condition, rust etc as well as the car already reached more than 20years. End up you will spent another 5-10k for repair etc..hehe just my opinion la..last time my e30, i got gbx problem and cost me 3500 to repair..end up i sell it to my and he converted to sr20....hmm..

Good day,

My Wira meter posses so many problem as it reaches 2xx,xxxkm liao. I bought Lancer meter from a friend for RM100 and DIY fitting it. The cluster removal is quite straight forward but the socket pin rearrangement is really complicated.

Thus, I would like to share the pin rearrangement diagram drawn by myself. Hope its help for who have the same intention.

http://www.dokaugot.fotopic.net/