Should I Trade My Current Civic EG9 for a BMW E30

mADmAN

if im not wrong, the k20a is even lighter than the b16a. 20k to transplant a k20 into a eg? sure or not bro? the halfcut itself (engine,gb,wiring,ecu only) by itself, cheapest i've seen is 19k, that also required alot of negotiation.
yup...sure.. coz i asked the mech how much he'll charge for it.

another guy i know has a K20 in his EK... he said the halfcut he bought was RM12k... but no bodyparts, dash, meters, brakes etc etc... basically just the things in the engine bay

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
12k? thats even cheaper than a dc2r halfcut. is it a k20z (the one from the FD 2.0) or a k20a?

i really dont think its that cheap, else it'll already be in my engine bay lol !

mADmAN

DC5 K20A-R. price is for halfcut only...again..not inclusive of alot of other things like brakes.

some dood even mentioned he managed to get a K20AR halfcut for RM9k on the avantech FB page

feezdya

Aug 3, 2006
Pee Jay
www.takaful-ikhlas.com.my
from my experiance, e30 items/maintenance are more expensive if compared to your eg la bro..even e36 is more cheaper than e30 parts etc..why dont you go for e36? you can get it around that price also what..unless if want to keep the car as 2nd car or collection item than go for e30 la..always remember on the tear and wear, engine condition, rust etc as well as the car already reached more than 20years. End up you will spent another 5-10k for repair etc..hehe just my opinion la..last time my e30, i got gbx problem and cost me 3500 to repair..end up i sell it to my and he converted to sr20....hmm..

nope... unless you really like the E30 for some personal reasons, or its an authentic E30 M3 example. otherwise from objective point of view its not a good move.

Aug 8, 2008
If its for a weekend car, I will ... that Beemer seems like its in good condition
If its for daily use ... I'll stick to the EG9 :biggrin:

ferio94eg9

Jul 12, 2007
nope... unless you really like the E30 for some personal reasons, or its an authentic E30 M3 example. otherwise from objective point of view its not a good move.
thx for ur opinion bro...

---------- Post added at 06:30 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:26 PM ----------

If its for a weekend car, I will ... that Beemer seems like its in good condition
If its for daily use ... I'll stick to the EG9 :biggrin:
it is more for weekend ride.... condition is very good. still used the original engine (6cyn 12v 2.0cc) + 5speed manual GB... (but noticed that the fuel pedal a little bit hard + need to depressed brake a bit deeper - do know it is common for an E30 - pls advise)

---------- Post added at 06:34 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:30 PM ----------

from my experiance, e30 items/maintenance are more expensive if compared to your eg la bro..even e36 is more cheaper than e30 parts etc..why dont you go for e36? you can get it around that price also what..unless if want to keep the car as 2nd car or collection item than go for e30 la..always remember on the tear and wear, engine condition, rust etc as well as the car already reached more than 20years. End up you will spent another 5-10k for repair etc..hehe just my opinion la..last time my e30, i got gbx problem and cost me 3500 to repair..end up i sell it to my and he converted to sr20....hmm..
FYI, the engine + GB has already been rebuilt by the owner plus the rust issue also has been tackle by the owner... if I can sell my EG9 around 35-40, then i shall manage to standy around 15-20K for repairs and maintenance..

leachuan

Jan 6, 2007
Klang
Eh~~, side track abit, how's the ride of using Eibach?? Plan to use stock abs with Eibach pro kit.

JFD9777

Feb 12, 2013
Johor
Juz stick wif eg9.spareparts is easily available n affordable.juz bring somethin new at the car eg. new engine or bodypart n u gotta luv it.

kUmUcHaI 11/1

Feb 28, 2010
JB - KL
Only need one time and only one time, searching and buying e30 spare parts then you will seek back for Honda.
Like previous said...unless you are BMW fans.
Even that, go for e36

LesleyAprotto

Banned
Jun 16, 2012
E30 engine was a hell of sensitive one...

Had a 1984 E30 for few years.... (BCB single digit)

Because of that single digit plate, kena slaughter like a cow by the those days BMW specialist workshop!

Cannot tahan, sold out and bought a W124 E260

If I were you, I wouldnt go for it!

Hi Sifus,

My car bonnet was slightly dented from fallen object while parked under a tree :banghead:

I would like to know if there is any shop in KL or Ampang that can repair it without having to re-paint?

Thanks a lot