SHould i Fix 205/40/R17???

jeff_ong

Aug 15, 2004
i was wondering should i fix 205/40/17 because currently i am running on 215/35/18 and i felt that it is very bumpy...and i am going oversea at the end of this year and my mum will drive my car...

i am afraid by changing to 205/40/17 it will still be that bumpy and if hit pothole it will still be very damaging like my 18 inches rim....

should i change to 17 inch with 40 series profile??? coz my 18 inch 35 series profile sidewall is very thin only...wat about 40 series profile how thick is it...??

and also i travel a lot and use north south highway to genting and penang...
will 40 series tyres be too bumpy??

juniorkirk

Jan 17, 2006
bumpy? 215 bumpy also? like this from what i know 205 will be more bumpy right? if change to 40 you car should be more better lor... 35 consider low profile tyre already lor...

btw.. wat car u driving ? kekeke

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
use back ur 205/40/17... 18" rims will affect ur performance going uphill to genting... hahaha.... besides, malaysia highway isnt really a highway... there are bumps everywhere.... 215/35/18 will be quite hard compare to 205/40/17...

jeff_ong

Aug 15, 2004
is there a lot of difference in 205/40/17 or 215/40/17 AND 215/35/18???

coz i afraid putting 205/40/17 or 215/40/17 will not make any difference

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
205/40/17 or 215/40/17; u will have better traction with 215/40/17 tyres as it is wider... ur tyres will look fatter as well...

as for 205/40/17 or 215/40/17 AND 215/35/18; not sure ler.... havent really tried lower profile tyres.....

-PuPu^ZaPruD3r-

Mar 23, 2004
PJ, MaLaYSiA
www.geocities.com
I wana ask something..

Are tyres 205/40/17 more expensive than 215/45/17? Which one more expensive? This question has been bugging me for a very long time..

Next thing, one of my tyre went over a hole. Got small bump at sidewall. Do I have to change it? It's only 2-3 months old..

reedoor

Apr 25, 2005
KL & JB
-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- said:
I wana ask something..

Are tyres 205/40/17 more expensive than 215/45/17? Which one more expensive? This question has been bugging me for a very long time..

Next thing, one of my tyre went over a hole. Got small bump at sidewall. Do I have to change it? It's only 2-3 months old..
bro,
the bigger size the tyre is, the more expensive it would be.
if not mistaken, ur mentioned size 215/45 is about RM100 more than 205/45 tyre price.

reedoor

Apr 25, 2005
KL & JB
jeff_ong said:
i was wondering should i fix 205/40/17 because currently i am running on 215/35/18 and i felt that it is very bumpy...and i am going oversea at the end of this year and my mum will drive my car...

i am afraid by changing to 205/40/17 it will still be that bumpy and if hit pothole it will still be very damaging like my 18 inches rim....

should i change to 17 inch with 40 series profile??? coz my 18 inch 35 series profile sidewall is very thin only...wat about 40 series profile how thick is it...??

and also i travel a lot and use north south highway to genting and penang...
will 40 series tyres be too bumpy??
jeff,
u can try out 205/45 tyre, i was using this size on my previous GTi & the feel was better & more comfort. altough sometime de tyre might scratch the fender abit, but tats better than scratching de rim.
the bigger size the tyre is, the more traction it will have, and ofcos u need to have a more powerful engine to pull the bigger size tyre. so, meaning, a smaller size tyre wud help ur performance abit, if talking about goin up genting.

Focal Point would like to wish all its Chinese customers a Happy and Prosperous New Year. On this auspicious occasion we would also like to thank all our customers, supporters and car enthusiasts who have in one way or another given us hope and inspiration in bringing quality products to these shores.

Hi-Gear products from USA have since been added and we also thank you for your patronage.

Have a safe journey. Happy Holidays. Cheers!