Distilled water ?
Mineral water ?
Tap water ?
Diamond filtered water? :P

GRexer

GRexer™ KuzTomZ
Puchong
distilled water doesn't have any minerals, pure 99.9% water, hence, rust won't be that easy to develop.

TiBuN

May 16, 2004
Penang / BM
Originally posted by silentkiller@Sep 21 2004, 01:27
Distilled water + coolant, tambah water wetter lagi sedap!
Coolant & Redline water wetter different???
I thought water wetter considered as a coolant itself?
Correct me if i'm wrong.

silentkiller

Jul 14, 2004
nope, to be more specific, water wetter is like a additive to the coolant, that is why it comes in a small packaging form.

TiBuN

May 16, 2004
Penang / BM
My water wetter comes in quite a large bottle, i think 250ml, not very sure. And according to the instruction, I should pour the whole bottle into it, is there any problem?
That means I need to get coolant before pouring? Luckily I still haven't use the water wetter yet....

On a sidenote, please recommend a coolant? NASA? Hehehe

silentkiller

Jul 14, 2004
Originally posted by TiBuN@Sep 22 2004, 19:30
My water wetter comes in quite a large bottle, i think 250ml, not very sure. And according to the instruction, I should pour the whole bottle into it, is there any problem?
That means I need to get coolant before pouring? Luckily I still haven't use the water wetter yet....

i use redline, what brand did u bought?

K-Kid

Nov 16, 2003
Earth
Water wetter doesn't have anti-rust or anti-frost agent in it. That's why you need a bottle of coolant even if you have water wetter. Written on the bottle, best result is to use water wetter with water only but in asia, we can live without anti-frost but i wouldn't wanna see my radiator rust.
A bottle of Redline water wetter is 355ml.

My cup of 2cent Wwater wetter :D

TiBuN

May 16, 2004
Penang / BM
Originally posted by silentkiller+Sep 23 2004, 00:44 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (silentkiller @ Sep 23 2004, 00:44 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-TiBuN@Sep 22 2004, 19:30

i use redline, what brand did u bought? [/b][/quote]
Mine is also Redline. thinking alot of stuff because scared of wasting the water wetter, ain't cheap that's what I should say.

So it's just coolant + ww, no problem

Another question : Do you bleed(flush) your radiator or do you mix with the original?

Seabiscuit

Sometime JB
Some knowledge shared by my co facility guy. My co is using DI water (Deionized & distilled water) for product process. Since the water been deionized and filtered away all the minerals, it AKA "hungry watar". It's more corrosive than normal water. When DI water gets contact with any metal, it will eat out the metal very fast. Dunno how true is it.

prodigy

Originally posted by GRexer@Sep 21 2004, 17:09
distilled water doesn't have any minerals, pure 99.9% water, hence, rust won't be that easy to develop.
u must understand wat causes rust aka oxidation. OXYGEN itself! therefore, water in any form will cause oxidation/rusting. besides, there's no truth in saying distilled water has better cooling efficiency or prevent rusting coz distilled water(pure H20) has boiling point of 100 celsius where else 'tampered' water with all those minerals and other particles have a slightly higher boiling point. just a simple experiment. if u boil distilled water and test the temp, u will find its close to 100 celsius where else u try boil water with some salt in it, u will find the temp boil at 120 celsius more or less. now we talk about coolant. its essentially the liquid that jacks up the boiling point of water and therefore ur car stays cool. plus it prevents rust from forming but u must bear in mind it minimises, not eliminates. u will find that even with coolant, your radiator and other internal parts will still suffer from rust, moreover if the coolant content is already low inside. a point to note though, coolant does not remove rust, it just minimises the rust and prevents it from rusting further.

silentkiller

Jul 14, 2004
Originally posted by TiBuN+Sep 23 2004, 18:43 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (TiBuN @ Sep 23 2004, 18:43 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'>
Originally posted by silentkiller@Sep 23 2004, 00:44
<!--QuoteBegin-TiBuN
@Sep 22 2004, 19:30

i use redline, what brand did u bought?
Mine is also Redline. thinking alot of stuff because scared of wasting the water wetter, ain't cheap that's what I should say.

So it's just coolant + ww, no problem

Another question : Do you bleed(flush) your radiator or do you mix with the original? [/b][/quote]
off course do full flush b4 masuk ur coolant + ww, since oledy spend so much why no go the last mile :D btw im using benz coolant(blue colour), so even in the hot afternoon when i boost my gsr, temp still ok.

menghua84

Feb 15, 2004
skudai/ perak
how to flush then? last time i got conned by stupid petronas petrol station ppl... bought their expensive coolant which my foreman told me can bought it outside with half of the price... hai~

synail

May 13, 2004
cool down ur engine
open ur radiator cap
unscrew the plastic bolt (right hand lower of ur radiator - proton car)
let it drain
run down fresh water (let it flush the leftover deposit)
screw back the plastic bolt
put ur coolant 1st
then top up with fresh water
start ur engine (without the radiator cap)
top up water if necessary
when the water in the radiator start to heat (U can see the water evaporates)
close the radiator cap
and check for leakage from the plastic bolt
rev/drive ur car, check for leakage again

am i rite sifus?

K-Kid

Nov 16, 2003
Earth
Originally posted by prodigy+Sep 23 2004, 23:19 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (prodigy @ Sep 23 2004, 23:19 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-GRexer@Sep 21 2004, 17:09
u must understand wat causes rust aka oxidation. OXYGEN itself! therefore, water in any form will cause oxidation/rusting. besides, there's no truth in saying distilled water has better cooling efficiency or prevent rusting coz distilled water(pure H20) has boiling point of 100 celsius where else 'tampered' water with all those minerals and other particles have a slightly higher boiling point. just a simple experiment. if u boil distilled water and test the temp, u will find its close to 100 celsius where else u try boil water with some salt in it, u will find the temp boil at 120 celsius more or less. now we talk about coolant. its essentially the liquid that jacks up the boiling point of water and therefore ur car stays cool. plus it prevents rust from forming but u must bear in mind it minimises, not eliminates. u will find that even with coolant, your radiator and other internal parts will still suffer from rust, moreover if the coolant content is already low inside. a point to note though, coolant does not remove rust, it just minimises the rust and prevents it from rusting further. [/b][/quote]
so the bottomline is to use normal tap water? :unsure:

Minima

Apr 22, 2005
is it normal if the water dried out for a day or two, cause my wira is like that as soon as i hit the highway

and one of the mechanic i went to advise me not to use coolant as it will stick permanently in the radiator when it dries out and it is hard to remove it

sabelt

Dec 7, 2003
for racing purpose tap water would be sufficient enough. Thats the best method of all...

for normal daily use car...
75% distilled water, 25% coolant...
or
50/50 method...

AccordRacing

Feb 2, 2005
kepong
www.zhapalang.com.my
i saw from a car magazine about method of maintance ur radiator,just use clean water n good coolant,those good coolant can reduce those burble inside the water which bringing heat,some sport car even got some stuff around the radiator to remove those burble from radiator

cyclonite

Nov 27, 2003
coolant also want to discuss until like this meh? you all driving F1 is it? hahahaah

You can't use plain tap water in cold countries coz in the morning your cooling system will freeze to ice and can't flow and will overheat your engine. So people there add alot of coolant so it acts as an antifreeze.
In our country for normal cars, coolant acts as anti rust and also increases the boiling point of the liquid. Normal water boils at 100C which it's so good in high performance cars

Wolfsburg might not be pumping out anymore Mk4 VW Golf R32’s but that by no means signals the end of aftermarket options for the hatch. German tuning specialists MTE have taken their tuning stick and beaten the Golf R32 Mk4 to the tune of 790hp and 1,200Nm of torque.
Conveniently, the resultant bruises have settled in a wild...