Questions on speaker cable

wfc31

Aug 11, 2004
wfc31.fotopic.net
Hi all,
I have some quentions regarding speaker cable to use for my ICE wiring.

I'm planning for my setup with a decent comp set and a 12" 2ohm DVC sub with a 4 channel amp to start my entry level setup into 'low class' SQ .

I have called up an popular ICE shop, they quoted me that the speaker cable to be used for the wiring may cost from their cheapest range of rm18/meter to their highier range of rm58/meter...i have a doubt that, do we really need such expensive speaker cable for the wiring? really a rm18 compare to rm58 quality cause a lots of different? what the differences? actually what is the spec of a good cable stand for?

And, about the cable size, can highlight me the size use for :
1. HU to amp (i'm using HU speaker signal to amp's speaker level input)
2. Amp to passive xo
3. Passive xo to tweeter and midrange
4. Amp to sub
5. Power and ground cable

Thanks for all .

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
if high power system get 12awg, if not so powerful can save bit more money get 14 or 16 awg. ask them to strip off a bit of rubber insulation from the edge so u can really see what cables are inside, how thick are the strands, how many strands, etc...im not a believer in expensive cables, just something decent would be good, get something branded, not cap ayam, but dont need to get the highest range, lower or middle level enuff, whichever u can afford lah.. and lastly cable for sub best to get as thick as u can, 12awg usually.

nicholaslkh

Feb 14, 2006
Myself being a noobie for cables and RCAs want to ask whether AURA is cap ayam or something decent. Not really cheap also. How about Stinger?

Doink

Aug 1, 2004
House
if u newbie go for normal cables...when u starting to get ur ears trained only u changed to better cable with less noise...this way u can learn to differentiate the difference of cheap and excellent cables...

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
nicholaslkh said:
Myself being a noobie for cables and RCAs want to ask whether AURA is cap ayam or something decent. Not really cheap also. How about Stinger?
aura is from taiwan i think, just slightly better than cap ayam, i also use it sometimes but only when SQ is not affected (power cables, distributor block, fuses, etc)

stinger is better but dont get the cheapest models RCAs, would be almost cap ayam also. their speaker cables are quite decent. good value for money.

hi1983

May 7, 2006
i use monster 201 rca cable. and a sifu self made aircraft grade (acually take out from airplane) diy rca cable. the 201 can feel diffrence compare normal rca cable. but the diy rca cable will definately feel alot diffrence compare normal cable. hehe,
but the rca not for sell hahahaha,

i want to sell the monster 201 5m cable lastime man.... but no body want, now trow at storeroom, sell cheap i rugi, sell ok price people feel expansive... becos normal people will not buy a few bug rca cable...

Gti

Sep 5, 2004
im not a believer in expensive cables, just something decent would be good, get something branded, not cap ayam, but dont need to get the highest range, lower or middle level enuff, whichever u can afford lah.. and lastly cable for sub best to get as thick as u can, 12awg usually.[/quote]

ehh sifu....can you elaborate further on this arr??
cos i plan to rewire my car soon...but mine only cap ayam ice la...but looking forward to at least gain some improvement from the rewiring
can u briefly recommend the brand that i should look forward to and the rough figure of the price...so i know what i am asking in the shop?
or can u recommend any place that i can get the cable myself for a cheaper price compared to getting it from the accesory shop?

my cap ayam ice setting is simple----4 ch amp for mid
and 2 ch amp for sub
and one 3 way elec crossover
2 mid speaker at the back seats and 2 at the front door
4 tweeters----2 at the back and two at the front

and i am afraid that my 4 ch amp is not powerful enuff to push the four mid speaker...
so i think of putting another 2 ch cap ayam amp to power my tweeter alone
sifu sifu out there think this is a good idea?

ps:sorry ar...newbie and noob in ice.... =<

howiechoo

8,000 RPM
Jul 25, 2004
Bukit Jalil
zenn, i saw some branded rca cable which are really thin and easy to oxidise + no shielding/normal shielding only....so i dun think taking low end series of branded rca will be good idea...example like rockford fosgate twisted pair rca, and lightning audio rca...my fren own teh rf and La cable..but seem like my diy cable is better than them, bring more detail sound compare with them...

btw, usually those ice equipment manufacture also ask other company to make the cable for them....unless they got specialise department in ice cable...

wfc31, personally i think the cable the shop charged u are overpriced...even a branded cable will not cost RM58 for 1 meter...at most i heard is about RM30..of cos they need to mark up..but not until 58 gua.....

sorry if my info is wrong..as i seldom got chance to watch those really damn highend cable...btw, is 12awg for comp set overkilled? it's not using something like 200rms rite? but for sure thicker is better...make sure the quality of the copper is good then can edy...

hi1983

May 7, 2006
the most important is the quality, as i know the dealer price of some branded rca cable , acually you can't imaging how much cheapper than market price. however ..... like ... don want say lah.. somebody just sell 1brand rca aready very rich aready...can not say. he is supplyer rca only.

however the most important is the quality inside, but antil you cut it and see inside you will not know anything. and as i say i compare moster cable(the almost most expansive rca brand) mine is lowest range lah however it is very good aready , better than xxxx and xxxx with rm2xx more alot. but in compare with my sifu made use the he say:" aircraft wire" very thin and hard and shinning blended pair cable to make rca ,,,,huuuuu, i can say you rm1000amp + imported brand HU details can not comes near to my sifu malaysia HU + super chap ayam amp. + super chap ayam speaker.. i mean on details clearity lah. but however he use very super expansive(rm100 or more) cds lah. and he is a good turner, with self made crossover

so if say diy cable , it is good choose if you know how to diy...

appleyard

Dec 20, 2004
Kota Kinabalu
i'm wondering why is this topic keep popping up. Branded RCA vs non branded RCA. I have a question for you cable believer...

1. Why would you spend 10 times the cost of cable just because its printed there monster, stretwires, hisago etc..
2. Do you really think that changing to expensive top of the line cables wouyld make an audible difference?
3. is it really worth it to spend to much on cables but not on speakers?
4. Does changing RCA makes bigger difference in SQ compared to changing speakers?
5. If you really think monster are the most isuperior cables and the anwser to all, why do competitors still twist and do their own cables?

howiechoo

8,000 RPM
Jul 25, 2004
Bukit Jalil
appleyard said:
i'm wondering why is this topic keep popping up. Branded RCA vs non branded RCA. I have a question for you cable believer...

1. Why would you spend 10 times the cost of cable just because its printed there monster, stretwires, hisago etc..
2. Do you really think that changing to expensive top of the line cables wouyld make an audible difference?
3. is it really worth it to spend to much on cables but not on speakers?
4. Does changing RCA makes bigger difference in SQ compared to changing speakers?
5. If you really think monster are the most isuperior cables and the anwser to all, why do competitors still twist and do their own cables?

ya, fully support..i do not believe brand and anything claim by other installer...i only believe my ears...and i also wonder y ppl wanna spend so much on cable but not spend more to get better equipments..

most of the competition cable i saw are self made by the installer...there's quite few i had saw...maybe the installer i saw no money to buy branded cable..wahaha...but they system are really great...

btw, can elaborate more about aircraft cable a? how it different with normal cable? hehe....i think maybe there's soemthing wrong there.....

xbalance2002

Mar 15, 2006
brother is u looking for good speaker cable try look for "IXOS cable" this cable from UK if not mistake....

most ICE SHOP their cable is just so so...performance ...dont really feel it....yes it looks good ....as look like copper cable ..but just a look ...

most important is get a good interconnect from HU to your AMP....make sure a balance interconect ....

i have tested few interconect....cheap and also good is NOBLE cable...this 1 is great for value....make sure is balance interconnect....

then IXSO Cable....better but abit more expensive compare to NOBLE cable...

THE BEST is Kimber Cable ...very expensive....i like the silver cable ..but a bit too fast...

Noble cable u can get from electrical shop...or hypermarket ...price from $35 and up....

IXSO cable u can get "ONLY" from midvalley or KLCC HiFi shop mediaplex...price ...i forget..

Kimber cable u can get from BOSE KLCC, 1 Utama....price 300 plus...for normal kimber but the kimber silver cable 500 plus....

as kimber they really give u pure silver...this is why it expensive....

xbalance2002

Mar 15, 2006
for the wiring cost RM18 to RM58 for branded is cheap...the kimber cable "8TC" cost RM200 per meter....

even more compare to other brand...hehe...

as kimber 8TC is using 99.999% pure copper...

here are some kimber info... http://www.kimber.com/

Any recommended tow service in Nilai area? Please provide the number of the tow company or operator. Cheers