Fuse and relay questions

velodyne82

Apr 26, 2006
hi sifus,

wat is the fuse value to use if my amp can pump out 60w(rms)/ch (120w/ch max)??

and wat value to use for my hu. it comes with a 15A fuse at the rear.

do i hav to use relay for my entire ICE???

pls advise....cheers

howiechoo

8,000 RPM
Jul 25, 2004
Bukit Jalil
but u never state wat's in ur ice..then how we know?

appleyard

Dec 20, 2004
Kota Kinabalu
with a power like that you dont need to spend on fuses.

What do you mean relay the entire ICE?????

Kippo

Mar 5, 2005
velodyne82 said:
hi sifus,

wat is the fuse value to use if my amp can pump out 60w(rms)/ch (120w/ch max)??

and wat value to use for my hu. it comes with a 15A fuse at the rear.

do i hav to use relay for my entire ICE???

pls advise....cheers
how many channels u have in ur amp? 2? 4?

just do rough estime i.e P = IV i.e P=power, I=current & V=voltage.

say its a 4-channel amp i.e 60w x 4 = 240W

so I = P/V = 240 / 12 = 20A.

so any 20amps fuse or higher will do. It is not meant to protect the amp but to prevent a short circuit from burning ur car eg. if the power cable suffer insulation damage and touch the car body which is -ve terminal.

you only use relay if you are going to use more than 2 amps. It is mainly due to current supply from the HU remote turn ON may not be sufficient to switch ON more than 2 amps.

since ur HU has a fuse already, no need to add another fuse. It will be overkill.

dont get too exited with fuses. and read more about it since i think u have a wrong understanding about its ACTUAL purpose.

cheers.

I've read from another forum that the wurth battery connectors will help increase performance, ice sounds better and many more. Have any of the sifu here used it and is it worth the money spent ??

Drex also mention something about it but there was no conclusion. Any comments appreciated.

Tks.