Proton WIra Aircond Not Cold

jaydee123

Oct 13, 2005
Any ppl can help me identify a problem with my car aircond. It's not cold but check wif SC got enough gas. Then wat the hell is the problem???:Not_Impressed:

magixk

Oct 6, 2006
Did you check your radiator? Is the coolant still ok? Sometimes a broken or leaking radiator can cause the air-con to lose coolness.

Doink

Aug 1, 2004
House
change the fan on the air cond radiator...
maybe the fan isnt blowing enough air
or maybe it is blowing air the wrong way...
it should be drawing air from outside towards inside the engine area.

siangmh

Jul 29, 2006
a lot of possibilities. Need to check with a/cond specialist if SC cant help.

1) check if the a/cond fan is running / functional. Although its not all time running but if its still not running after a long time, then its something wrong. Check whether it produce enough airflow or not.

2) check if ur a/cond gas dirty or contaminated. Can see thru the small window on top of the receiver/dryer bottle. Normal is whitish bubbling gas, dirty gas is grey/black color, or worst, no bubbling effect there. Some car's receiver/dryer do not have the small window.

3) maybe cooling coil (for wira: under & behind glove box) clogged, too dirty

4) maybe compressor not function well, started to make noise already..

5) maybe valve (attached to cooling coil) clogged already...

6) maybe the gas (R134) inside is not 100% pure, has mixed up a significant portion of other gas when it service by lousy mech...

7) maybe sensor "sort-sort" already, hence ur compressor or other part didn't workout right with the wrong input given by the faulty sensors..

8) maybe ur condensor (in front of car) clogged internally...perhaps, externally also....

too many maybe liao.....

JGE_4G15

Aug 26, 2006
Hi hi bro jaydee123....juz to share share my previous experience with my air con.....

previously me facing the same problem wiht my air con...tot not enough gas then i go top up gas at air con shop. ok for abt 1 to 2 weeks then not cold again....went to a few air con shop and all say some thing wrong with my compressor, need to replace.....re-con de cost abt 400-500 rm...:sad_smile:

i didnt change cost tooo expensive...then later my friend intro me to an acc shop...the boss checked my compressor and told me the same thing also, might have to change compressor becoz he supsect it i leaking....then later he suggested that dun change the compressor 1st, he will try 'servicing' the compressor by adding oil into the compressor and ask me to monitor the situation, if air con can run cold for more then 3 months then it is a very minor leak.....

after 'servicing' the compressor, he told me that my thermostat(the 1 inside the car, adjusting coldness de) needs to be replace also.

after those repair, my air con is running perfectly till now(almost half yr le), no problems at all...day time drive not hot at all (except for the sunlight coming in from windscreen and windows coz never put window film..)....and some times drive at night, air con so cold, even the fan on to low and the thermostat almost to 'off' position...:regular_smile:

and the best part is, all the repair cost is less then 100rm !!

Maybe you can try asking the air con shop to 'service' your compressor 1st before doing any major repair...

juz my 2cents.....

magixk

Oct 6, 2006
Where is this acc shop you mentioned? Seems like honest guy...

g88

Jan 28, 2004
Sometime its the compressor itself since new batch now alot using Patco which is much more smaller compressor compare to older days Denso and Sanden compressor...

zamiex

Nov 1, 2005
i also have the same problem weeks ago.. a/cond gas still got plenty but not cold..
Then went to check and found the filter/dryer already dirty, valve also need to replaced.. also service cooling coil.. then found also got leak at compressor.. change the oil seal summore..

JGE_4G15

Aug 26, 2006
magixk said:
Where is this acc shop you mentioned? Seems like honest guy...
Its in Skudai, behind the 'Skudai Plaza'. Cant really remember the name of the shop. Its not an acc shop, its a shop juz repairing car aircon de...The background of the signboard is yellow de....

But think its very far for you to come over from KL.......if you are really interested, me go and search for the name card of the shop.....

magixk

Oct 6, 2006
Thx bro JGE_4G15, ya Johor too far liao...Purposely go there to service aircon...heheh

JGE_4G15

Aug 26, 2006
No prob.....:_:

LanEvo8

Jul 19, 2005
sELANGOR
I want to ask,i saw thru the mirror at the air con.Can see the gas pass thru.My gas color is white color.Not transparent is it normal?

hi guys,
i converted my satria neo to gsr ck.
im thinking of upgrading it and i need some guide.

any way to gain more hp?

if i wanna change ca18 piston and rod , do i need to overhaul engine?
or just plug and play?

straight away change td05 , waste , intercooler , exhaust manifold and piping ?

there's too many things and i dont know wat to do.
haha..

all the pro please guide me.

thank you^^