Proton Gen-2 VS 1.6 KIA Spectra VS Toyota VIOS

azuan_man81

May 3, 2005
Klang
Hi Guys...

Come on guys, Which one is better in terms of performance, fuel consumption, etc between them? Any suggestion?

Thankss bro..

yuh_woei

Sep 5, 2004
Hello Friend, can give you some suggestionGen 2 - Performance = ok
Fuel Consumption = ok 1.6
Price = ok
Quality = not so good

Vios - Performance = ok
Fuel Consumption = ok 1.5
Price = expensive
Quality = good

well its up to your choice/financial anyway.

Cheers

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
I will go for vios :D

azuan_man81

May 3, 2005
Klang
But what i know gen-2 fc is more saver than kia spectra.

what abt Vios?
Is it Vios less pickup in low rev just like gen-2?

any expertise, guys?

azuan_man81

May 3, 2005
Klang
n did u all notice that KIA Spectra Headlight cover become blurr n yellow just like they use the low quality plastics that cant stand to heat although just 1 year time.

ada perasan kaa??

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
yea...i know what u mean for the headlight..i tot the car with that headlight has been years!

I can say Vios got more power that the rest of two but in term of fc, really not sure. For fuel consumption, i vote for Honda City IDS-i hahaha :D

azuan_man81

May 3, 2005
Klang
but honda city ids have gear problem right?
that why they stop the selling n change to honda city Vtec? is it true?

for vios and gen-2, in terms of stability, which one is better?

yuh_woei

Sep 5, 2004
Vios & Gen2 stability
Never drive a Vios but Gen2 you will have a good handling on a sharp corner
(50-80 km/ph) Exp =Genting up/down hill Still good (Manual lah)

Maybe should ask a Vios driver around here.

Cheers

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
azuan_man81 said:
but honda city ids have gear problem right?
that why they stop the selling n change to honda city Vtec? is it true?

for vios and gen-2, in terms of stability, which one is better?
Nola..disagree with the statement. VTEC and IDS-i is targetted to different audience, one aims for fuel econ one for performence. Some more, VTEC seems like limited to 150 units only. Even if it's true, it doesn't have anything to do with the engine also. VTEC also using the same gear box as IDS-i model, if not mistaken, it's the stageless CVT or i'm mistaken?

Gen-2 is lotus tuned while Toyota is famous for reliable, this one u might need some other ppl to answer you already.

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
I drive Vios for a few months before, err...what i can say is, it's definitely comfortable but in term of stability, i feel like i was being above the center of gravity, because the seating is quite tall. In the corner, i daren't to do sharp bend on speed like i do on my saga because i feel like quite a body roll on Vios. Or because i get used to drop to 2nd or 3rd gear during sharp corner on manual transmission .

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
wahhh respect, i bet u holding the spec with price list

badbadguy

Apr 28, 2005
wat i vote is Gen-2
Fuel Consumption = better than vios and spectra
Price = ok very good compare to vios and spectra
Quality = not so good this is the only bad bad thing

Vios - Performance = ok
Fuel Consumption = higher than gen-2 RM 50 for about 400++ only at RM 1.42 /L
Price = expensive
Quality = good

Spectra - Performance = ok
Fuel Consumption = higher than gen-2 and higher than VIOS (wat i can say Korean car are suck in FC all suck and one 4wd had been voted as most higher FC in the world)
Price = expensive
Quality = ok a bit better than Gen-2 abit only (abang adik lah)

don't shoot me just my 2 cent
:P

Zeroed

Not sure about this but the Gen2 gives better fuel economy only if its a manual, is it?

The Vios has very good pickup at low rpms. Good for city drive. Above 100kmh you'll find it abit disappointing... but overall very good for a 1.5. Handling is quite a joke, lots of body roll despite somewhat sporty suspension.
Quality wise I would say not so good for a Toyota. Common faults are unclear reception of radio, noisy air-con compressor and my family's unit has interior rattling...

I would still pick the Vios though.

Hi all,

Just want to ask if anybody got experience with double sided tape on car panels.

The reason is that I would like to stick some rubber or pads to my front passenger door. There has been an accident and even though fixed, wind and road noise can be heard. When I inspect, there is one part that doesn't seal well (got slight gap).

I have tried to stick before, but those stupid cheap tape deteriorated and not only the rubber fall off, but cleaning it up is a PITA. Full of sticky...