Project Kancil Moderno with EJ1000 TD04L

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
I'm notice it too. But it came from Daihatsu Xenia Halfcut. Code : EJ-VE 1000 (VVTI). You can see down at the left side it wrote EJ.
Oh...
Myvi 1.0 oso using this block right?
Could be why there is Perodua logo on the block. Anyway, so far i only see wording or small logo on engine block...this is first time see big logo on block.

Oh...
Could be why there is Perodua logo on the block. Anyway, so far i only see wording or small logo on engine block...this is first time see big logo on block.
Could be that, share and use....

FzL2sHybrid

Oct 16, 2018
Oh...
My mechanic said to me for first generation EJ-VE use Daihatsu Block but no VVT, start from Second Generation, Daihatsu used Perodua made block and put VVT Technology into it. Theres nothing different in terms of power ( hp & torque ) but fuel is much more efficient and comply europe standard for less carbon.

Well back to engine progress, today i received my custom made Banana or Manifold. They weld it perfectly, but for the flange i asked them not to fixed weld just in case i need some change on piping layout when installed. I certainly want to avoid cutting my engine front bar or bumper to install the turbo. The banana was powder coated to reduce rust.
IMG-20181025-WA0045.jpg
IMG-20181025-WA0044.jpg

The cost for the custom Manifold + Powder coat is RM1100.

FzL2sHybrid

Oct 16, 2018
IMG-20181025-WA0085.jpg
New engine mounting.
IMG-20181025-WA0086.jpg
All nuts and bolt change new. For Cylinder Head Nuts i use alenki type ( dont know if i spell it correctly ). Those nuts will be sent to a chemical steel shop tomorrow for iodize with a gold colour.
IMG-20181025-WA0091.jpg
Cylinder Head nuts. All will be in gold iodize.

Reactions: YellowFlash

FzL2sHybrid

Oct 16, 2018
IMG-20181025-WA0042.jpg
I dont know what part is this, but i believe this should be below the engine. All been clean and painted.

IMG-20181025-WA0043.jpg
Cylinder and L5 Aircond Compressor.

Reactions: YellowFlash

FzL2sHybrid

Oct 16, 2018
IMG-20181025-WA0060.jpg
IMG-20181025-WA0031.jpg
Managed to bought L5 Black Dashboard + Aircond Blower from JB. It cost me around RM450 for this after negotiation. Quiet satisfy with the condition. For meter, i will not use L5 but will be change to Myvi SE Manual meters. This is mainly because of the lighting of Myvi Meter are quiet vibrant and modern. And also 140km total speed at Mira Meter should not enough for me..hehe. Anyway i will install a Digital Speed meter to get accurate speed. Probably Pivot.
IMG-20181025-WA0024.jpg

YellowFlash

Sep 28, 2009
Jb
Nice, the photos and the documentation is pretty well written. Enjoy reading it! Keep up the good work.

View attachment 572656 Cylinder Head nuts. All will be in gold iodize.
Noooo don't use these allen key type fasteners for the cylinder head cover. These are a bitch to torque down properly and the allen key itself can spoil very easily. I used to use these and I hated it after that.

View attachment 572657 I dont know what part is this, but i believe this should be below the engine. All been clean and painted.
You painted the mounting too? haha! That looks like the water pump or something.

FzL2sHybrid

Oct 16, 2018
Noooo don't use these allen key type fasteners for the cylinder head cover. These are a bitch to torque down properly and the allen key itself can spoil very easily. I used to use these and I hated it after that.

You painted the mounting too? haha! That looks like the water pump or something.
Mounting will change with a new one. Already bought this afternoon. That old one will be thrown away.

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
View attachment 572657 View attachment 572657 I dont know what part is this, but i believe this should be below the engine. All been clean and painted.

View attachment 572658 Cylinder and L5 Aircond Compressor.
The 2 pics above are the gearbox housing i believe.the hole plug with papers is where the driveshaft is attached to and the gaping hole on the right is where the starter will be mounted.

On the engine block pic,your aircond compressor looks more like a starter motor.the smaller cylinder is the solenoid..however i could be wrong as that will be one big starter motor...can start a Scania...hehehe.

Anyway, except for critical screw on the engine i will change all other screw/nuts/bolt to stainless steel type...

Allen key type has the looks but easily spoilt if overtighten or using cheap tool.

FzL2sHybrid

Oct 16, 2018
Thanks bro for your honest comment. Yeah, after discussion yesterday I will not use the Allen Key type of bolt. Will use a normal one.

As for the bolts and Nuts..I will change to Stainless Steel one and send it for anodize to gold color. Thanks for all the ideas.

About the 'compressor' that i mention above, i will confirm it soon after visit workshop today.

Reactions: Izso

FzL2sHybrid

Oct 16, 2018
IMG-20181026-WA0013.jpg

Today, i manage to purchased this used Blow Of Valve from a seller at Kuantan. Blitz Super Sound Dual Drive BOV. Its original from Japan. I rather buy a secondhand item as long as it original rather than new but copy AAA. Will receive this in a couple of days.

FzL2sHybrid

Oct 16, 2018
IMG-20181027-WA0033.jpg

Custom return oil pipe that will connect to turbo has been welding below the oil sump.

FzL2sHybrid

Oct 16, 2018
IMG-20181030-WA0006.jpg
IMG-20181030-WA0005.jpg

Update as of today. My Mechs start doing the fittings. We planned for the piping arrangement for the turbo and intercooler. Might be some cutting from inner part of the bumper to give the banana and turbo a space. Those new nut still not install to the engine as i send it for anodize gold colour. Engine bay will be painting tomorrow. Will be update again sooner.

I m considering to get either a DC5 or silvia s15 NA.In terms of pricing of parts,maintenance,stabilility,durability of the car and the resell value,which
one will be better?and which car gets broken into more or stolen?tx to all the
sifus for adavance advises! Hope i can decide ..