Procedure to reset an A32/33 ECU

defcon1

May 26, 2006
Somebody please sticky this.... :)

The following URL describes how to fully reset an A32/33 ECU.

http://www.brianv.net/mods/ecu/

Something you will have to remember...

The procedure in the URL refers to a LEFT HAND DRIVE vehicle. Hence, the ECU is described as being next to the accelerator pedal and is approached by removing the panel on the driver's side.

WE all drive RIGHT HAND DRIVE vehicles. The ECU is in exactly the same place, but should be approached from the passenger side.

Be careful not to "over-screw". Just us a test pen and turn gently until it stops. Do not force. This screw is not load bearing...hence, there should be no resistance. It simply acts to connect 2 points on the ECU main board...much like jumpers on a PC motherboard.

A329878

Sep 24, 2005
JOHOR BAHRU
Just check on my ECU, but it without the screw :shocked:
Are you sure the Asia Cefiro same with US Maxima ? i mean the ECU........
:confused_smile:

defcon1

May 26, 2006
A329878 said:
Just check on my ECU, but it without the screw :shocked:
Are you sure the Asia Cefiro same with US Maxima ? i mean the ECU........
:confused_smile:
Really? Did you check both sides?

If our ECU's really come without the screw...then let me do some research. There is another way to reset it... :smile:

A329878

Sep 24, 2005
JOHOR BAHRU
Yes both side i check .
ECU are same but only have a hole on that place and cover by transparent tape .
:Not_Impressed:

A329878

Sep 24, 2005
JOHOR BAHRU
This procedure i saw in maxima.org long time before , but my ECU are without that screw so i been search other procedure and i found when you disconnect the battery for few hours result are the same . :shades_smile:

defcon1

May 26, 2006
I found that method too. And I also found that there were 2 versions of ECU. With reset screw and without. Procedure to reset is as follows :

1) disconnect the battery for 30mins+ or pump the brakes a few times to drain the system of residual charge.

2) reconnect the battery and let the car idle for 5-10mins (make sure all the acessories are OFF)

3) turn the car off and disconnect the battery for ~30sec.

4) re-connect battery and drive.

However, I hear that this method tends to reset the ECU to factory settings but does not clear error codes. I might have to test it. Going down to Sg this weekend, so will hook up with my friend who has a diagnostics tool. Maybe force an error code, and see if the disconnect method works.

I'll post when I get back.

May 22, 2006
guys, i came across this w/site about reseting the ECU manually without other devices' help. yet, dunno works not & dare not try coz i''m mech-idiot. just my 2cents though.

http://www.greghome.com/Greg's%20Garage/1999%20Nissan%20Maxima%20SE/Clear%20DTC.htm

defcon1

May 26, 2006
This is the procedure for the ECU version with a reset screw...

Lawcc

Jul 15, 2005
Damansara
defcon1 said:
This is the procedure for the ECU version with a reset screw...
For A32 year 1999 or earlier (forgot how many pin already), I have the diagnostic scanner to check fault code and reset the ecu.

Skyfiro A32

Jun 12, 2007
hi to all bro,any1 noe if send to tc for reset ecu will cost a boom?or any place else can reset it?
my car seem leak of power and damn makan minyak than last time.i'm using 97 a32 3.0.

doraemon98

Feb 3, 2010
why do we need to reset the ECU? Does the tune settings also being reset and has to send the car for tuning after resetting ECU?

hello guys need your help.....
1) Apexi AVC-R Limited Edition=RM1950
2)Blitz Type1=RM1400
3)HKS EVC-4=RM2200
4)GREDDY PROFEC B SPEC2=RM1450
5)GREDDY TYPE S=RM1460
6)SARD TRIGGER=RM1520

these are the price of boost controllers offer by one of my mechanic....
just want to check with u all guys roughly the market price compare to these.
are these pice ok??which one better??anyone knows the second hand price??
i dont want to become 'water fish' anymore.....used to chop by them X times already