Need help improving SEG converted to blacktop

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
wan to try faster try lor... wanna sell d.

nommiey,

few minor stuffs for u to eliminate the low rpm knocking sound. it's not harmful to knock at that range of RPM but i know it's annoying. sounds like 4G13P/4G15P. Just make sure it doesn't knock above 5k RPM then u are safe. the 4 throttles knockings are quite common.

Try changing to colder plugs. Possible that your combustion chambers are full of carbons; try using carbon cleaner or something like that. Use RON97. Check ignition timing see if it's too advanced. Ask doctor ecu, levin818, to check your ECU. Aged components might be the cause as well.
If neither of the above solves your prob, and u can't live with that knocking sound, get a piggyback or a standalone which would be your best bet to solve it.
Bro... Where got people say knocking not harmful wan oh? Its common for an aged BT to knock, but that doesn't mean it's ok... Have to try to eliminate it also even if it is at 4k rpms... Knock really damages engine. It may knock at 4k rpm and nth happen. But that's just because its a matter of time. For a while, it doesn't really matter. But in the long run takaan just leave the knock alone right? :driver:

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
Knocking... retard your timing to 10deg :biggrin:
If still knock --> check your ECU (for all SVT and for BT BZG)

List of 20V faulty ECU that visited my clinic:
89661-12770 SVT M/T
89661-12771 SVT M/T
89661-12780 SVT A/T
89661-12781 SVT A/T
89661-1A180 SVT A/T
89661-1A190 SVT M/T
89661-1A470 BT M/T 5sp
89661-1A480 BT A/T

Hope this help.

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
i highly recommend these :

1. take out ur original trumpet inside the plenum..
2. TOM's super air intake
3. AE101 levin/trueno original exhaust (twin muffler)

Gudluck :burnout:

SunTru

Oct 11, 2006
Knocking... retard your timing to 10deg :biggrin:
If still knock --> check your ECU (for all SVT and for BT BZG)

List of 20V faulty ECU that visited my clinic:
89661-12770 SVT M/T
89661-12771 SVT M/T
89661-12780 SVT A/T
89661-12781 SVT A/T
89661-1A180 SVT A/T
89661-1A190 SVT M/T
89661-1A470 BT M/T 5sp
89661-1A480 BT A/T

Hope this help.
Bro levin818......i also hv the same problem:banghead: n after checked wiring n sensor all is ok,i suspect ECU too...u got any good condition BT 5sp for sell??:driver:

chinozie

Very Young Member... :D
Jul 5, 2004
Damansara
4age20v.blogsome.com
Ah haa...using velocity stack (VS)...

there's a way for you to drive it...if using stock plenum, the air inertia will be there...
but for open style like VS...you need rev it high...only the you'll "Get The Feeling"...but make sure it's tune up to the engine spec...experience 20V mech will know how...

VS are not recommended for daily usage...as it will inhale all those un-filter air straight to you engine block...once a while it's OK...plus, not everyday you're going to rev it high... :D

bjl2486

Oct 29, 2007
Agree... 2.3 - 2.5" depending on where you want your powerband to be. But since our friend here complain about the lack of low-end torque, I don't think changing to bigger diameter will solve the prob because then she will need to rev even more to get the power.

Why not, try changing it to straight flow muffler first... Leave the pipe intact...
Hi all,
Sorry to interrupt. which exhaust piping type is better for BT 6spd on a SE ltd chasis? Need advise from otai2 here...

1. 2.3" after flexi pipe all the way to the muffler (using standard SE exhaust longkang - many 'L' curves)
2. Or 2.3" straight flow (not using standard SE exhaust longkang) after flexi pipe to the muffler?

judean

Dec 16, 2010
Ah haa...using velocity stack (VS)...

there's a way for you to drive it...if using stock plenum, the air inertia will be there...
but for open style like VS...you need rev it high...only the you'll "Get The Feeling"...but make sure it's tune up to the engine spec...experience 20V mech will know how...

VS are not recommended for daily usage...as it will inhale all those un-filter air straight to you engine block...once a while it's OK...plus, not everyday you're going to rev it high... :D

so...
it's not advisable for a daily driven car to use open trumpet eh...?
:confused::confused:

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Levin 818... You pwn us all :adore:

20V Trumpeteer

Jan 2, 2010
Kedah
so...
it's not advisable for a daily driven car to use open trumpet eh...?
:confused::confused:
Only u urself a mech&are not reluctant to open the ITB more frequently to clean all the dirt..If not, then u hav to drop ur ride in workshop&surely it will cost u...need fun,hav to sacrifice amount of money