Modifying cars raises safety risk

evo3

Jul 2, 2004
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2006/2/27/focus/13503281&sec=focus

REFER to the letter, “Look at the positive side of modifying engines” (The Star, Feb 24).
I think it is rather silly of K. Dhillon to come up with an unfounded hypothesis that “spending more money modifying cars will cut down drug usage.”
First of all, if a typical Ah Beng can afford to spend RM10,000 modifying a humble Kancil into a Batmobile look-alike, what makes you think he can't afford to spend a few ringgit more on cigarettes?
Car modification is not a hobby. In fact, being an engineer myself, I find it would be an insult to my profession to call it a hobby.
The reason car manufacturers like Toyota and Honda spend millions investing in R&D is to develop vehicles that are reliable, safe and roadworthy.
What makes you think that some backyard mechanics in Balakong have that sort of capability in modifying a car while ensuring it is still roadworthy?
From an engineering point of view, modifying certain parts of a vehicle will always carry certain effects to other parts.
For example, changing the whole engine may alter the natural frequency of the car, which in turn may cause serious vibrations and lead to metal fatigues.
Installing a rear spoiler to a Kancil not only makes the driver look like a complete idiot, it will create additional downward force, which in turn will wear out the tires much faster, and also adds unnecessary stress to the absorbers.
Bottom line is, without proper engineering consideration, these motorists are simply compromising on the safety of the vehicle, not to mention the risk they are putting on other road users as well.
In a nutshell, those who modify their cars for the fun of it are selfish people. They have no respect for other road users and laws.

W.Y. NG,
Seremban.

Can ne one tell this guy that modifying cars is a hobby... if it is not hobby that what it is.... idiot.... why car modifiers is selfish?

W.Y NG is surely an idiot....

szekeiemme

Feb 14, 2004
hahahaa kancil wif spoiler will make tyre botak fasteR? ekkekethe kancil travelling on wut speed wo? F1 or faster?

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
haha... kancil top speed also cannot generate enough downforce to wear out his tyre that fast la... even with stock car i also can make the tyre go botak fast... ebrake-dori dori.... hahaha....

si|verfish

Apr 28, 2004
Another bitter, misinformed, misguided fucker. Engineer no need to die ah.

DimDimer

Jan 10, 2005
what engineer is he anyway? computer engineer? road engineer? building engineer? i bet he's no car engineer.

DimDimer

Jan 10, 2005
he phailed in enginerring by what he said. kancil where can travel so fast till the rear spoiler would have enuff power to push down the car and wears out the tyres. elf pwned.

si|verfish

Apr 28, 2004
I'm really starting to get annoyed by these narrow minded motherfuckers who cannot accept other people doing things which they don't do.

My car is totally stock, but I can appreciate the car modification scene. It is a global phenomenon. I'm also a lover of automobiles. Apart from my dislike for distastefully modded cars (read "Beng") I have no problems with people making their cars better (good mods make your car better, bad mods make your car worse).

evo3

Jul 2, 2004
mayb he should go and tell HKS, Signal, Top Secret, Blitz and so on that they are idiots.... hahaha cos they are not Toyota, Mitsu or Honda ma... hehehe

Zeroed

" Engineer no need to die ah. "

That, I vote the Quote of the Month. :biggrin:

I wrote a letter in response to this to TheStar. I wonder if they will publish it...

Most modern engines are now electronically fuel injected and have plastic engine covers, this makes engine cleaning much easier compared to older engines with carburetors. I will show you how you can easily clean and shine a modern car's engine bay using only 2 Over-the-Counter (OTC) products.

This is a quick guide showing you how to quickly get your engine bay looking like new again. This guide is more suited towards modern cars' engine bays.

So here have have an engine bay that has never...