Modifying cars raises safety risk

evo3

1,500 RPM
Jul 2, 2004
Visit site
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2006/2/27/focus/13503281&sec=focus

REFER to the letter, “Look at the positive side of modifying engines” (The Star, Feb 24).
I think it is rather silly of K. Dhillon to come up with an unfounded hypothesis that “spending more money modifying cars will cut down drug usage.”
First of all, if a typical Ah Beng can afford to spend RM10,000 modifying a humble Kancil into a Batmobile look-alike, what makes you think he can't afford to spend a few ringgit more on cigarettes?
Car modification is not a hobby. In fact, being an engineer myself, I find it would be an insult to my profession to call it a hobby.
The reason car manufacturers like Toyota and Honda spend millions investing in R&D is to develop vehicles that are reliable, safe and roadworthy.
What makes you think that some backyard mechanics in Balakong have that sort of capability in modifying a car while ensuring it is still roadworthy?
From an engineering point of view, modifying certain parts of a vehicle will always carry certain effects to other parts.
For example, changing the whole engine may alter the natural frequency of the car, which in turn may cause serious vibrations and lead to metal fatigues.
Installing a rear spoiler to a Kancil not only makes the driver look like a complete idiot, it will create additional downward force, which in turn will wear out the tires much faster, and also adds unnecessary stress to the absorbers.
Bottom line is, without proper engineering consideration, these motorists are simply compromising on the safety of the vehicle, not to mention the risk they are putting on other road users as well.
In a nutshell, those who modify their cars for the fun of it are selfish people. They have no respect for other road users and laws.

W.Y. NG,
Seremban.