Mitsubishi Air Flow Sensor

oyw

Feb 12, 2007
Good day guys,

My engine: VR-4 RS 4G63T, ECU 5808.
My current AFM is having problem and decided to change it. But as you guys know that now adays it is very hard to get a VR-4 AFM in the marketplace (VR4 AFM almost pupus ady).

I would to ask whether can I plug and play Evo 609 AFM into my VR-4 RS without changing ECU?

or run the engine with 4G93 AFM? (I heard some people saying that need to modify the AFM wiring + socket)

Which AFM is better for VR-4 RS?
Evo 609 AFM or 4G93 AFM? (where can i get it? roughly how much for 2nd hand?)

I totally :confused:confused about it. Can anyone/sifu/expert explain?

Thank you,
Warmest regards.

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
plug n play definitely cannot. must change socket (15mins kacuk wire job) n also the airflow hose. no need to change ecu but best if tuned to compensate the difference in airflow value (if i'm not mistaken voltage kot) with safc minimum.

4g93 afm no use. use 609 n u will feel the difference...

oyw

Feb 12, 2007
plug n play definitely cannot. must change socket (15mins kacuk wire job) n also the airflow hose. no need to change ecu but best if tuned to compensate the difference in airflow value (if i'm not mistaken voltage kot) with safc minimum.

4g93 afm no use. use 609 n u will feel the difference...
Thanks alot bro! wah... 15mins kacuk wire+hose... so easy only arrr?
bro, do u have any idea marketplace selling 2nd hand 609 AFM how much? and where can I get it? cause I need it asap. Thanks for sharing... tq tq...

chrissyong

Aug 14, 2007
here got one rm200
nett 0172670526 yong

Bump: here got picture:smokin:

Bump: with samco hose

oyw

Feb 12, 2007
here got one rm200
nett 0172670526 yong

Hi bro, where is ur location? RM200 AFM + wiring as well? Got problem kah the AFM? Actually I really scare of online purchasing.
This is because my current VR4 AFM also bought through online forum. But the sohai seller con me, the AFM got problem. When i get back to him, he ignore my call and pm. I have financial problem ady, yet kena con. Really disappointed with the seller la. So now I decided to get another one.

Bro Criss Yong, pls don't take my words so seriously, I'm not doubting on ur item. But just expressing my bad experienced. I sudah pokai, so need to spend my $$$ wisely. Hope u understand. CHEERS.

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
just go to kedai potong, buy complete with socket (ask for socket that has around 2-3cm of wires) and also the airflow hose if ur not using stainless steel pipe. if got problem sure can ask for exchange...

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
just go to kedai potong, buy complete with socket (ask for socket that has around 2-3cm of wires) and also the airflow hose if ur not using stainless steel pipe. if got problem sure can ask for exchange...
Yes bro... U are right.

oyw

Feb 12, 2007
Well millions of thanks to u guys...
I just talk to my mechanic and he will get a 609 AFM for me. But he is unsure about modify the wiring (kacuk/kahwin wire) because he never did this before.

So how to kacuk/kahwin the wire? can anyone here explain into more detail? Tq Tq:adore::adore::adore::adore:
1. Do I need to kacuk/kahwin certain wire at ECU?
2. or only kacuk/kahwin certain wire at engine bay AFM there?

Really need advise and opinions from u guys....:adore:

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
only need to kacuk at the airflow sensor socket only. no need to kacuk at ecu but it would be great to install safc...

check this out
http://www.vfaq.com/mods/2GMAF-1G.html

1g=vr4
2g=evo

good luck bro.

p/s credits to vfaq.com for installation guide.

oyw

Feb 12, 2007
only need to kacuk at the airflow sensor socket only. no need to kacuk at ecu but it would be great to install safc...:beer::beer:

check this out

1g=vr4
2g=evo

good luck bro.

bro khoyos, thank you banyak2... thanks for your useful information! I'll print it and show it to my mechanic... really owed u a big one bro...
Where are you from? mayb we can go for teh tarikkk... lol... :tee:

Anyway... thanks alot bro... :shakehands:

only need to kacuk at the airflow sensor socket only. no need to kacuk at ecu but it would be great to install safc...:beer::beer:

check this out

1g=vr4
2g=evo

good luck bro.

bro khoyos, thank you banyak2... thanks for your useful information! I'll print it and show it to my mechanic... really owed u a big one bro...
Where are you from? mayb we can go for teh tarikkk... lol... :tee:

Anyway... thanks alot bro... :shakehands:

Bump: another question bro,

which option will be better for 609 AFM?
1. S-AFC? or
2.e-manage+dyno?

my car is still stock VR4 and I don't have much budget for gadget... :smokin:

LyPaN

Nov 22, 2005
let me help u..

mr khoyos from shah alam..
still virgin..and he is my good old fren 2..:adore::biggrin:

Bump: let me help u..

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
if less budget safc enough la, but make sure tuned by proper tuner with wideband sensor. nowadays even kancil tune on dyno but if wanna save, tune on the road also ok. emanage more function, depends on budget.

hampeh ko lypan, jgn la ckp aku virgin, nanti kantoi kat kenggeru:thefinger:

oyw

Feb 12, 2007
hey guys, thanks to you all...

especially special thanks to u bro khoyos... ur guideline is loud and clear.
my VR4 successfully installed 609 AFM :biggrin:

but there is one problem... my "check engine" light is blinking frequently
my mechanic said the 609 AFM cause the "check engine" light blink.
however, my car still can boost smoothly without any problem after installed the 609 AFM.

my very last question, should I bother the "check engine" light? :hmmmm2:
as my mechanic said, alot of 609 AFM will go crazy and cause the "check engine" light.

again, I need ur advise and opinions :adore:

Thank you,
Regards.

matnors

Jul 5, 2004
ermm... my humble opinion.. if possible try another 'healthy' 609 AFM ....
:hmmmm:

The fifth instalment in the Fast and Furious series, dubbed Fast Five, is finally out with more adrenaline-filled and petrol-fuelled action scenes that appears to bring a fine balance for the movie between actual action and car chase scenes.

All the faces are instantly recognisable as they’re all from the earlier four instalments in the series with a new one in the form of Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson, The...