MIRI CITY DRAG RACE & NATIONAL DAY DRAG RACE!!

coolman_wrx

Oct 10, 2004
Miri/Sarawak
Re: MIRI CITY DRAG RACE & NATIONAL DAY DRAG RACE!!

really like that meh..............i dont think so lor.

where is ur kancil turbo last time make a good history in miri huh ??

V-Pilot

Nov 29, 2003

any ECU can do the same thing:
Link also has the anti-lag setup
Haltech has the feature also as well as microtech.

Vpro is a very good ecu jus like motec. motec is for the white, Vpro is for the Japanese.

In brunei, Vpro is control by SHH Proshop.
In singapore, is by Garage_R.
In thailand got HKS main dealer.
while there is a Guy called Mr DEE that can bypass Vpro code and tuned his skyline to 9sec car.

for my advice in brunei here, better not go for Vpro unless u are damn rich. if u go for other westerner ECU, u can choose which good tuner to go for. The reason is any whites can tune the ecu provide u give them the software. as for me i have oledi stick my ass to microtech cos C&S got a specialist tuner in Microtech ECU and also EXPERT in NOS setup. and C&S Team president and manager, both are expert in wiring the ecu also. cos they do plug in from microtech to original socket. that mean in future if u tiring of modification, u can take off everything and plug back ur original ecu anytime u wan.

thanks for sharing. i like a forum to be used this way. :proud: my personally feeling also tells ecu like microtech, haltech etc are all good. so, vpro is wisely use by the japanese into extreme mod machine. it is true vpro is way expensive due to our geographical location that requires remote support from far expertise. If an engine which has already run on Vpro, would it be easy to swap to microtech?

LS1113

Nov 1, 2006

thanks for sharing. i like a forum to be used this way. :proud: my personally feeling also tells ecu like microtech, haltech etc are all good. so, vpro is wisely use by the japanese into extreme mod machine. it is true vpro is way expensive due to our geographical location that requires remote support from far expertise. If an engine which has already run on Vpro, would it be easy to swap to microtech?
Yes, Cars thats running on Vpro can be remove anytime as Vpro comes with plug-in harness. Like what STi2626 mention the cars with Microtech which are done by C&S Team are fitted with plug-in harness as well. So you can revert back to stock ecu anytime you like.

LS1113

Nov 1, 2006

How come an after market ecu like Vpro still needs to be hacked(bypassed) in order to allow the car fuel/ignition maps to be recalibrated for higher performance?? In the case of skyline, it was for a 9 sec 1/4mile tune. What if the owner wanted to aim for 8 sec later?

If it was because he needed to hack the Vpro to allow him to use a larger MAP/Load sensing map, like from 3 bar to 5 bar map, I can understand that. However, most aftermarket ecu makers have already come out with the options for most of the high end users nowadays.

By the way, I am seeing the "antilag" system is being or has been phased out by racers these days. Antilag system in WRC/rally cars was popular back in the 90's. Nowadays, they don't use it anymore for good reasons. I think antilag system is also not necessary for drag racing too. Launch control is a much better scheme these days.
Those Vpro which are tuned by the Japanese tuner are all password(CODE) protected. This is a protection feature in Vpro to prevent other tuners from tampering the tuning or copy the maps and the purpose to hacked as what it's mention is to get into ecu and remap it.

e.g. Car tuned by Koyama cannot be tuned by Ohura. So in order to re-tune the car, Ohura needs to initialize the whole ecu, only then he can tune it.

RocK

Oct 22, 2004
Brunei

any ECU can do the same thing:
Link also has the anti-lag setup
Haltech has the feature also as well as microtech.

Vpro is a very good ecu jus like motec. motec is for the white, Vpro is for the Japanese.

while there is a Guy called Mr DEE that can bypass Vpro code and tuned his skyline to 9sec car.
Vpro anti-lag is the best i seen so far. Motec is 2nd best for this feature.
You are right to say Vpro is Japanese Motec. I know from a fren who knows Koyama, vpro have tons of features. Buy the tuner a beer so he turn some if it on. :proud:

btw, the said Mr. DEE gtr with vpro+NOS is 8.2sec (thai record)

How come an after market ecu like Vpro still needs to be hacked(bypassed) in order to allow the car fuel/ignition maps to be recalibrated for higher performance?? In the case of skyline, it was for a 9 sec 1/4mile tune. What if the owner wanted to aim for 8 sec later?

By the way, I am seeing the "antilag" system is being or has been phased out by racers these days. Antilag system in WRC/rally cars was popular back in the 90's. Nowadays, they don't use it anymore for good reasons. I think antilag system is also not necessary for drag racing too. Launch control is a much better scheme these days.
If the tuner feel its safe for your car to run higher performance then I'm sure he will give. If not safe then for sure he will not give. who wants your engine to blow and later say the tuner not good.

again better read my post about anti-lag and Launch control. all pro drag car i know still using antilag.

btw, how come this 9sec car never race in miri :hmmmm:

RocK

Oct 22, 2004
Brunei

This is a protection feature in Vpro to prevent other tuners from tampering the tuning or copy the maps and the purpose to hacked as what it's mention is to get into ecu and remap it.

e.g. Car tuned by Koyama cannot be tuned by Ohura. So in order to re-tune the car, Ohura needs to initialize the whole ecu, only then he can tune it.
spot on LS1113.. :burnout:

V-Pilot

Nov 29, 2003

Yes, Cars thats running on Vpro can be remove anytime as Vpro comes with plug-in harness. Like what STi2626 mention the cars with Microtech which are done by C&S Team are fitted with plug-in harness as well. So you can revert back to stock ecu anytime you like.
how much is the price comparison between both ECUs package?

nova

Apr 28, 2005

Those Vpro which are tuned by the Japanese tuner are all password(CODE) protected. This is a protection feature in Vpro to prevent other tuners from tampering the tuning or copy the maps and the purpose to hacked as what it's mention is to get into ecu and remap it.

The issue about "password protection" to "protect" the tuner's work is often debated by owners of their aftermart ecus. There is the legal question of whether the tuner has the right to lock up the ecu to prevent the owner from accessing the maps.

On one hand, the tuner wants to protect his "work" from being copied and from being tampered(and then falsely blamed for wrong tuning). On the other hand, the ecu owner argues that since the tuner has been paid for his service and his work, the "intellectual property" is rightly passed to the ecu owner who is therefore entitled to the password and unlimited access to the maps including allowing anyone to view them and make changes for recalibration(surely it only makes more sense to recalibrate the previous maps than to redo the maps from fresh because of time and cost justification to the owner).

In the real world, tuners are always strongly protective of their works and the "tuning" market is still being dictated by the tuners and especially some aftermarket ecu makers/suppliers who could only help by asking the ecu owners to send in their ecus for password removal(kept confidential obviously to protect the rightful ecu owners).

If there is way to reflash the ecu by the tuner/owner and then to tune from fresh, sending in the ecu to the factory is actually not necessary. Any pro-tuner should always be able to tune from fresh/scratch without looking at anyone's work. Afterall, the tuner is supposed to be ethical and professional enough not to ride on others' back.:burnout:

Thumbup

Aug 30, 2007
any ecu... is good if there is a good tuner utilize all the application on the software.

V pro might be good if it is susumo... but OHURA... he is playing on the safe side

microtech might be good if it is on anthony... but if wan to compare with rigoli... still... i guess anthony has brought better result than rigoli

reflash ECU might be good if its from ralliart but if SINGAPOREAN... SO-so

i guess everything depend much on tuner...
thats why save ur $ for good tuner rather than going cheap cheap

there is a subaru case bocor engine after switching many type of tuner (cheap tuner)then in the end... he sold his car for s15 lookalike

Thumbup

Aug 30, 2007

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

wow. this thread is getting hot..
more active than before..
knowledge sharing is good but pls dun flame here and there.. hehe..
peace guy..

where got flame o... true mah workshop here they all bin o o with one another

hayashi korek shh mechanic hahah

nova

Apr 28, 2005

If the tuner feel its safe for your car to run higher performance then I'm sure he will give. If not safe then for sure he will not give. who wants your engine to blow and later say the tuner not good.

again better read my post about anti-lag and Launch control. all pro drag car i know still using antilag.
The integrity of any tuner is always under possible attacks by their customers. It is an occupational hazard. Not all customers are nice and sensible.

I read your previous post but I must say that Launch Control can also develop boost on a turbo car during launching with it, depending on the setting and the turbo.

LS1113

Nov 1, 2006

how much is the price comparison between both ECUs package?
For HKS Vpro, I think it's abt BND5000 complete with ecu, harness and tuning by Ohura and as for Microtech ecu with X4 module, is abt BND2000 (or maybe less) harness is done locally and as for tuning, it's BND1K (By Anthony Rodrigues of Maztech).

sti2626: Please fill in if I've left out anything.

LS1113

Nov 1, 2006

if the mechanic is useless wat for hayashi korek him ler??? u mean ah chai + ah fung at hayashi kah??? only during race met them !! find free time go hv a visit or beer beer!!! kekekekekeke
HAHAHA...so Ah Chai + Ah Fung = Tin Har Mou Dik.

LS1113

Nov 1, 2006

The integrity of any tuner is always under possible attacks by their customers. It is an occupational hazard. Not all customers are nice and sensible.

I read your previous post but I must say that Launch Control can also develop boost on a turbo car during launching with it, depending on the setting and the turbo.
Correct...with launch control switch on, there will be a slight boost built up say maybe about 0.6bar or so may even up to 1.0bar. All depends on the size of your turbine housing.