Kc extreme wet sanded & acidised restoration detail

kc2

Dec 2, 2009
thedetailers.blogspot.com
SOS....
I got a distress called from my neighbour that his colleague car has splashes of acid causing the white spot on the paint surface

WATCH out for these guys..(M'sia A/C usually fitted on top )

..picure for illustration used only

I should not have meet up with him at night & as many thing wouldnlt shown up under street lamp & bad finding. Deatiling appoinment set for !st Jan makr a begining of a new day for a new year

I got a shock to find out what actually happen under day light when i saw the car, the acid splatted actually corroded the car paint.. will elllaborate more

here are some of the pics of the Spotted leopard -

some paint defect pic discovered along the way (pics Before)

paint chiped

some stains

left side rear bumper ...evidence of chewing gum stick till the rear

rear bumper scratches

some scratches before corrections

More evidence of the spots

if you see carefully u actually these spots actually look like crater on the moon

closer pics

My Rescue mission is to lose the spot on this leopard

Aim to get it corrected & restored
Menu for this ride
TBW - with an 1oz of APC to get rid of whatever that is on the surface
APC dilution 1:10 on all wheels, I am not a brightener person, dont feel comfortable to stronger acid...i am pleased with all the
Clay with Mild - Meguairs Last Touch

Dealing with OEM soft Clear coat

initial test Meguiar's #80 - Speed Glaze polish with Cutting Foam Pad on Rotary & upgraded to a more aggresive DOuble sided wool pad still not achieving the results i want, Then I call to discus the severity with the owner & advising him the details & damaged - resorting to wet sanding -

if i continue to compound, i may damaged this soft clear coat & the intense heats actually melts everything else.... he says go ahead to do the rest & i Wetsanded the whole bonnet - 200 unigrit sand paper

Meguiar's #105- Ultimate polish with double sided wool pad
and follow with Meguiar's #105 Cutting Foam Pad

Meguiar's #80 - Speed Glaze polish with Cutting Foam Pad on roof areas

Meguiar's #80 - Speed Glaze polish with Polishing Foam Pad

finishing off with Meguair's NXT2.0- Synthetic Sealant 2.0

& seal with Meguiar's Ultimate quik detailer

The glass is polish with single side wool & a special formulated glass Polish

some engine pics before

stainted water marks on the plastic well

Bonnet pics before

engine after

close up after engine detail

wheel before

APC agotating at work

wheel brush

now a clean wheel

the detail of a clean wheel

wheel arch ...before

kc2

Dec 2, 2009
door jam before

after & the residue is buff away with AIO Meguairs PRC D 151

pics before inside door area

during agitating

after pics

before pics

after

interior before vaccum

interior carpet is removed & clean by APC

The body shop actually advise him to get his car repainted.....and the wife came home scrubing the paint as though getting rid of BBQs grill racks
severly swirled up

the amount of swirls is unbelieveble even a silver under noon day sun is

more

TBW & wash mitt

APC aggitating

the spots resurface

Clay before

clay after

more after clay

did some extras work for him
hardest to restored ......severely stained glass

tat tatatata

after

next the actual prob area
front right side panel

kc2

Dec 2, 2009
closer look at these crater

Thinking of planting the national flag - the 1st arrival on Mars

initial after 1 passes of Megs # 80

after another passes of Megs # 105 - look better

another close up of another actual crater

now we are at ground zero....

as the paint was corroded by these chemical & I stop & called the ownder to discuss further corrections...I suggested wetsanding, although is not the best solution on OEM paint & he gave me the blessing to go ahead

initial testing on wet sanded area

after Meguiars M #105 passes with double sided wool

wet sanding begins

carefully sanded

after sanding

50/50 area set

and the gloss regain & stepping down to Cutting foam pad with Megs 105

stepping down to Megs M 80
the correction leveled up

Thanks to Barry Meguairs for this wonderful invention other wise my life evry very dull

gloss restored

look at the clarity & defination restored

but some sever area is too risky to go further as may chase further in to the damage

the over looking now

some day light pics

mamamia

before door handle area scrathces
now

remember before

i dun why the way up always down, u need to scratchs more to get it smooth

inorder to be built u need to be broken

kc2

Dec 2, 2009
before

now

close up inspection by the owner

i actually ran after the car to shoot more after pics as he is in a hurry to drive off for his dinner

some how like seeing your own children grown up & leaving home for the very 1st time

close up pics

seech

Jan 21, 2007
The Master at work....

LittleWhiteWagon

Oct 12, 2009
P.J
Wah kc, you really do a thorough detailing. The civic looks so new! Haha

kc2

Dec 2, 2009
kc, with ur standard i think almost all detailing shop in sunway can close shop...:)
im still waitin for ur reply if u r willing to detail a 3 yrs old Triton...:P
dear mr ong
thanks for yrkind words
we are just ordinary people but only attempting extra ordinary things

would love to catch up with up over a teh tarik session

would u be free to meet over today in glen maries subang area? call me 016 2209227

Wah kc, you really do a thorough detailing. The civic looks so new! Haha
Bro a long time since we chat liow

how is our little wagon doing....still havent put yr hand into her....hope to catch up with u & meet u

Cheers

LittleWhiteWagon

Oct 12, 2009
P.J
dear mr ong
thanks for yrkind words
we are just ordinary people but only attempting extra ordinary things

would love to catch up with up over a teh tarik session

would u be free to meet over today in glen maries subang area? call me 016 2209227

Bro a long time since we chat liow

how is our little wagon doing....still havent put yr hand into her....hope to catch up with u & meet u

Cheers
Yeah kc, I barely log on these days... getting busy haha. The wagons doing good :rolleyes:, got a quick release recently nothing much else. Yeah I hope to meet up one day also, maybe get a detailing session done by you haha :biggrin:

renxun

Jul 4, 2006
in one of your thread, u mentioned that some scratch are too bad that it cant be removed but the best is to only improve the severe scratched look. does that mean that on direct light facing it the scratch is not visible but only when it was looked from the side angle its still visible?

like in this honda you actually perfectly removed all the spot on the hood?

Recently, I had to drive down to Batu Pahat to collect the Nissan Fairlady from the seller in Batu Pahat. I have taken lots of photos during my journey there. Batu Pahat is a large town that sits near the coast. Batu Pahat is accessible from the Yong Peng exit on the North South Highway. It takes about 3 hours to drive down to Batu Pahat from Kuala Lumpur (If you follow the...