how to differentiate blacktop 5 speed & 6 speed ECU

zerostar78

May 29, 2006
miri/sarawak
hi guys,

lately i bought a 6 speed M/T BT ECU complete with wiring for my younger brother. As i'm using ST, i cant compare the different of these two ECU. I'm curious to know how to identify and differentiate them.. i only know dat both pin holes for each MT/AT ECU's are the same (correct me if i'm wrong, he3..) btw, if someone has a good picture inside the ECU and can post them here for my reference i should be glad..

thanks all toyotarian...

zerostar78

May 29, 2006
miri/sarawak
i did notice the sticker 86 on the casing, apart from that, is there any difference in term of view from inside the ECU itself.
btw, got another question just pop in my mind, he3.. which ECU is the best in term of power & FC? or are both the same?

thanks in advance.

mh wong

Feb 14, 2012
last time, got 1 seg owner.....he is using BT5 speed engine.....he borrow fr his uncle a 6 speed ecu n put in his car......he told me his car even faster caompare to his uncle car wheres is 6 speed engine.......just share

---------- Post added at 02:46 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:45 PM ----------

yeah......he said 6 speed ecu is faster compare to 5 speed ecu

nappx

Sep 13, 2005
kLaNG-kEy_tEE
rev cut
5sp - 7900 - 8000 rpm
6sp - 8100 - 8200 rpm

5sp bt chipped by blitz - 8500 rpm...he he he
standalone - any rpm u want.. kidding only...he he he

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
[5sp ECU]
89661-1A470
Grey connector
7800rpm

[6sp ECU]
89661-1A860
White Connector
8200rpm

*At cold weather, the ECU allow 5% up in the rev cut
*6sp ECU has more aggressive fuel mapping compare to 5sp
*Both ECU has exactly similar component count and board lay out pattern

And yes both A/T and M/T ECU share the same connector, pin-out and even the board lay out pattern
Attach pix are 5sp ECU

zerostar78

May 29, 2006
miri/sarawak
noted.
thanks all toyota's sifu for your comment especially to bro levin 818 :rock:.
later belanja u all minum coffee: if u guys sudi+free, wait i come to kl dis jun. he2..

zerostar78

May 29, 2006
miri/sarawak
hi..

done comparing both ECU last night and found out that both are same. However i'm still not satisfied because there must be slightly different for both ECU or else why toyota produce this kind of ECU for both transmission? hmm, my last thought is perhaps the seller con me? :mad:

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
Check IC601's software masking code.

5sp - D151804-8080
6sp - D151804-9531

This is the chip that deliver the differences.

---------- Post added at 10:37 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:11 PM ----------

It is not all 5sp and 6sp ECU has IC601 with above masking code.
I have seen (only once) 5sp ECU with D151804-5xxx, and also a 6sp ECU with D151804-7xxx.
However, most 5sp and 6sp ECU has 8080 and 9531 masking code.

zerostar78

May 29, 2006
miri/sarawak
hi bro levin818,

referring to your pic and i found out dat its indeed a 6 speed wit code D151805-9531

thanks again bro. really2 appreciate your help.

devilz 78

Jul 25, 2008
kuala lumpur
last time, got 1 seg owner.....he is using BT5 speed engine.....he borrow fr his uncle a 6 speed ecu n put in his car......he told me his car even faster caompare to his uncle car wheres is 6 speed engine.......just share

---------- Post added at 02:46 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:45 PM ----------

yeah......he said 6 speed ecu is faster compare to 5 speed ecu
Wow u mean 5 speed gearbox can use 6 speed ECU ??

The reason I start this thread is I've notice for a while now since 2007. Most car that are stolen or break in are either those car that took part in Autoshow , appears in car magazine before or are well known around a certain area due to it's specialty like it's fast or got some goodies inside the car. I'm saying this by seeing the real things that happen and not guessing.

Autoshow can be a chance for the thieves to see what's in your car much more better and know every bit of things you...