How to choose engine oil?

pangyau

Oct 17, 2009
elviraz89,
Stick with Motul or Royal Purple will never be go wrong.
It will last longer then u could expected, save your time n money in long run.
Let say, if you try to budget your expenses on lubricant.
Just stick with Petron or Shell (only source in Petrol station), it will do OK...

hex999

Oct 27, 2011
Been a motul fan for a long time, Htec 5w30 and also used 300V 5W40 before,
but since my mechanic recommended shenzo JAPAN oil

Buy Shenzo Racing Oil Japan Premium Engine Oil - Malaysia Online Store

never used motul after that :)

personally feels that it last way way longer and smoother compared to motul,
used shell helix too, smooth but engine feels heavy.

Shenzo 5W30 all the way :)
cool thing about it, the engine oil is blue :D
possibly a way to tell if its genuine or recycled

Been a motul fan for a long time, Htec 5w30 and also used 300V 5W40 before,
but since my mechanic recommended shenzo JAPAN oil

Buy Shenzo Racing Oil Japan Premium Engine Oil - Malaysia Online Store

never used motul after that :)

personally feels that it last way way longer and smoother compared to motul,
used shell helix too, smooth but engine feels heavy.

Shenzo 5W30 all the way :)
cool thing about it, the engine oil is blue :D
possibly a way to tell if its genuine or recycled
Wah! all 100% synthetic? No semi or mineral?

---------- Post added at 08:24 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:24 AM ----------

found penzoil 7L 15w/40 for rm85 but don't have time 2 check the spec
7L usually is diesel oil packing.....:driver:

sarutobi84

Aug 12, 2009
swift-turbo-malaysia.blogspot.sg
Personally I use Motul 300V for Turbocharged car, Castrol Magnatec Semi for Mivec Car. Always overshoot the mileage by few hundread km's before change out.
Quite worried buying cheap oil as Malaysia are known for recycle oil@fake recycle oil.
Owh one more thing, when i'm testing different2 oil I can feel difference in acceleration and tappet/lifter sound. (this could be the indicator on how you choose your oil type or rating 10/40 15/50 etc)

If somebody have place to send metal element/compound analysis before and after would be good too.Would be a good indicator on how the oil/additive inside the oil perform over long cycle

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
This one is mineral oil, right?
stated rm99 before promo @ the bottom left of the price card, so usually that price is semi price & the api sm is usually semi oso
Well if not mistaken Castrol GTX is mineral oil. I had been using it in my old wira..

Im not sure about other countries but in malaysia i think it goes like this:

Castrol Edge - Fully Syn
Castrol Magnetec - Semi Syn
Castrol GTX - Mineral

However, it is not stated in castrol GTX bottle whether it is mineral or semi. I could be wrong too.

Well if not mistaken Castrol GTX is mineral oil. I had been using it in my old wira..

Im not sure about other countries but in malaysia i think it goes like this:

Castrol Edge - Fully Syn
Castrol Magnetec - Semi Syn
Castrol GTX - Mineral

However, it is not stated in castrol GTX bottle whether it is mineral or semi. I could be wrong too.
That is the thing. Have been following it those days, and GTX was mineral....

---------- Post added at 11:30 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:22 AM ----------

stated rm99 before promo @ the bottom left of the price card, so usually that price is semi price & the api sm is usually semi oso
Nope, you don't read SM rated as semi. SM is the rating they get when oil is sent for testing, so mineral also can have SM. Mobil Super 1000 is mineral and already SM rated

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
read edi @ back botle stated premium quality base oil so that means mineral edi, so which u guys prefer,semi api sl @ mineral api sm?
No preference because both can be used. API SM and API SL are just the standards being referred / tested. No big difference between these 2..even API SN

hai, my 4g93 start to miss fire y!!! is sound like that!!! so i think is mis firing!!!!

when i fev and also when idle time!!!!

mod to the engine p&P, walbro fuel pump, fuel regulator, ecu rechip by previous owner!, head skim for higher com! tb port, block standard plus check engine light on and alladin lamp keep going off and on!!!!

pls pls pls help!!!