General Hospital Issue

alvinpck

Nov 16, 2003
dear fellow zthian,

i'm not sure how many of you had been to gh for treatments...but here's an important case which happened recently.

my bro injured his elbow during sport. swell. he went for xray and medicine. he ONLY mentioned his elbow and nothing else. the doctor (indian lady)prescribed him with 4 drugs.

after checking through the net for the drug content, TWO out of it, was NOT drug for the swell or inflamation. it WAS for digestive and gastro-related. even i've asked my medical cousin, said it's not for the swelling...

the 2 wrongly-prescribed drug content are, magnesium trisilicate + dry aluminium hydroxide and another is 'prolase', which is for gastro-related and digestive-related disease respectively.

no doubt the treatments in government hospitals are cheap, but the professionalism are not there. a wrongly-prescribed drug may be fatal if consumed. my bro is having some side effects. slight diarrhea and indigestion.

2 out of 4 drugs are wrongly-prescribed! imagine this, what if the doctor gave him some other fatal drugs? he's 'lucky' enough to just had some diarrhea...

people, be extra careful when consuming drugs. do a thorough check about the content.

fucked up lady doctor, where the fuck does she got her cert...:baring_teeth:

nitrus

Nov 14, 2005
have u tried filing a lawsuit against the doctor ? can it be done ?

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
Well... u pay peanuts, u get the monkey...

Medical ain't cheap and many GH docs are overworked! Imagine this... super low pay and have to work 17 hours per day and no weekends.

Life is very precious... get an insurance coverage that allows u to seek medical help at private hospitals. No point saving some bucks for major probs later.

Philip

Dec 4, 2003
alvin..I understand your concern..

Could you list out ALL the 4 types medication that was given to your brother?

Please understand that certain drugs HAS side effects aka Adverse Reactions (AR). The proper medication given to your bro for swelling/inflamation could have AR that could cause indigestion or certain stomach upset, heartburn or gastric hyperacidity which requires the mentioned "unrelated" drugs. Looks common to me but if you are worried, you can always refer to a certified medical officer.

Duke Red

Jul 27, 2005
Earth
acbc said:
Well... u pay peanuts, u get the monkey...

Medical ain't cheap and many GH docs are overworked! Imagine this... super low pay and have to work 17 hours per day and no weekends.

Life is very precious... get an insurance coverage that allows u to seek medical help at private hospitals. No point saving some bucks for major probs later.
Completely agree. Got my own insurance coverage ever since I started work. From a person who's been in the industry before, trust me mates, you won't regret it. Think about it, not having enough money to buy car parts, etc is one thing. It's something you can live with. When you don't even have money to buy your own life, it's really quite another thing.

Zeroed

nitrus said:
have u tried filing a lawsuit against the doctor ? can it be done ?
Yup, can be done. Doctors owe a duty of care to their patients. But the harm done is so small that its not worth the time. (Just done my law exam, still in the mood... :biggrin:)

----

How much does a medical insurance cost for an average person with an average job?

Tohsan

Nov 13, 2004
Char Kuoy Teow
here is my story:

my mother-in-law went for diabetes treatment in GH, they give instruct her to take 15 tablets for 3 times a day,her bag of medicine is like your primary kids school bag. She been getting the GH treatment for more than 15 years than one day she have a heart problems, family members sent her to Ampang Puteri Hospital becos GH have no more place for her to admit, upon doctor in Ampang Puteri Hospital checking, those GH doctors prescribed medicine overdose and she have been taking unneccessary medicine which will kill her eventually.

The best thing is the specialist in Ampang Puteri Hospital told her,she oni need one table of medicine oni, wtf she's been taking so many garbage medicine for so many years,those fucking GH doctors keep on incresing the number of tablets and instruct her to take, all kind of colors like smarties chocolate:angry_smile:

She end up have to do heart surgery and by-pass which cost her about RM70,000 due to the stupid GH doctor wrong prescription and advise.

rollakid

Nov 9, 2004
Kuching Sarawak
yeah i understand all your feelings.. my dad too, had high blood preasure problem and had been taking medicine ever since. due to my bro go sg study, house lack money, so he turn to GH for medicine.

then the GH doctor is like using him to test out new drugs!! they prescribe him with some drug, then if its not good, then they'll get another type for him.

recently they gave him a new kind of drug again, and my dad say they need 2 doctor's signature to prescribe that drug. my dad is like, wtf? need 2 doctor to sign baru can get the drug, so my worried dad ask if there is any side effect, the doctor say no, just go and take it no problem one.

one week later, he felt weak and had having sleep problem, and all his joint kind of hurt. so he ask me to do a search on the net about that drug.

it turn out that there is 4-5 common side effect and over 20 less common side effect, no wonder need 2 doctor's signature!!!

my dad had suffer from sleep disorder, sometime tired sometime can't sleep, have to wake up few times to pee, iregular heart beat, chest pain, dizzy, headache, joint pain and other similar things.

and all of them are listed as the side effect of the drug, coincidence? i think not.

i'm not mad that the doctor prescribe that drug to my dad, since it is the correct drug, but i'm very mad at them telling my dad that there is no side effect whatsoever on taking that drug.

simonchangwaimun

Nov 21, 2003
Cheras
teamshadowrider.multiply.com
well can't say that
i'm not sure wat particular drug it was
but when i cut myself while working, the doctor prescribe me with a gastric pill (which i dnno y)
anywayz,then my mom (30yrs nurse) told me there's a medicine (either the anti biotic or the other medicine) can cause gastric even when u eat those pills after meals...

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
So, what u all waiting for? Go and do some research on local insurance companies that offer 'Medical Card'.

I paid like RM 500 per month (because death coverage exceeding RM 250k) and that inclusive the medical card. If u need to be admitted, just show the card to the hospital admin n u are in. But of course, there is a limit as stated in your policy.

Should you have a serious illness, the insurance will cover it and at least your family will have some peaceful sleep knowing they don't have to fork out a lot of money.

As Duke Red mentioned it... life is very precious. If no money to upgrade car, no issue... because can always upgrade it later but if u die... car also gone la!

alantan

Dec 24, 2003
hmm..my grandma,grandad and dad gets treatment from gov. hospitals.

so far so good lar....although sumtime mishaps happens...like...sum medicine being prescrive by docs are not wrong but not usitable to my grandma body..but my grandma smart enuff to stop taking them la..

my grandad, broken arms...admitted to hospital...(selayang GH)..so far so good...

dad, diabetic...also ok ma..

hmm.......i also dunno what to say..not supporting the gov and at the same time..not trying to offence the gov. just that..the private hospital charges are just too high.....for ocassion check ups...

sonictheory

Dec 10, 2004
Selangor, Malaysia
another story of GH

hear from my fren, said that his neighbour's daughter, has been fever for few days, so send to GH to have a check, den said have to admitted to GH, so after few days of treatment, still didnt' recover, so this daughter's grandpa guess it should be a sickness called "MOH TAN" (dunno what is it call in english/malay, maybe dun even have this term also). So was asking the GH management to allow her out, so that she can seek for eastern medical help. But the GH dun allow to get out, so no idea have to stay. After few day, the girl died. During in the hospital, the nurse/doc just kept on helping her to change the glucose water only nothing they can do, maybe they tot is deman denggi lah.

I was thinking, what the hell the GH not allow the girl to come out, since they cant save her. I feel so MANG ZHANG (fuss) la when something we know it, we want to change cant.. becoz of the hospital not allow to go out, so cant seek for eastern medical to help, then lost a 12years old girl's life. Maybe this kind of sickness,"MO TAN", doesnt exist in the dictionary of western medical, so they know nuts about it...

sorry for simple story telling...coz some term dunno what it call...lol~~

turbonetics

Nov 10, 2004
im alvinpck's bro....

if they really bz/tired for working long hours....let me tell u this...i hv to wait for the doctor for 2 hours for her lunch break...after tht is my turn...2 hours of lunch break and im the 1st patient after tht...wht could be wrong?