F1 drives decry technology overload in the cars

Dinesh

Oct 13, 2006

Technology is part and parcel of the evolutionary package so it’s no surprise that it makes its way into almost any and everything regarding our everyday lives. The automotive sector is one of those sectors that have made leaps and bounds in technology and we, the consumers, have benefitted from it tremendously.

Naturally, some of that tech trickled down from motorsports. It shouldn’t be a surprise that motorsports is a hotbed for new tech applications. Formula One cars probably have some of the most complex systems in place and some drivers are beginning to think that the cars are getting a little too sophisticated for their driving pleasure.

The drivers are starting to voice their displeasure against the technology that is creeping into the cars. Mark Webber of Red Bull Racing feels that the driver should be totally focused on the track and not be fiddling with buttons to adjust the rear wing or suspension height.

Furthermore, Rubens Barichello of Williams and Nico Rosberg of Mercedes have come out to back up that notion. Rubens feels the same as Webber, that there’s just too much to focus on, “The real negative was that we couldn’t just concentrate on driving. It’s just not enjoyable, pressing buttons, changing gears, pressing and holding.”

Nico’s bug with it was more of a trust issue, “You push the button and the thing goes down at the back, so you feel the car get lighter and then you release the button again before the braking and you think ‘Jeez, what if this thing hasn’t actually gone back to its old position?’ Then you’re off in a big way. It takes a bit of trusting.”

Sure we get that driving a Formula One car is not something for us mere mortals as the level of concentration required is hundreds of times more than what the average male can muster up at a strip club and adding all those buttons surely wouldn’t make things easier but quite honestly, aren’t the millions they pocket kind of balance things up a little?

Source: Crunch Gear

yeehau86

Feb 10, 2007
It is true of what Rubens and Nico said, it is too much of focus with this year's rear adjustable wings. You have to monitor at your mirrors to see the gap to the next car less than 1 second then only you can use this function. Not to forget also the additional KERS button returns to the steering wheel this year.

Where got do ar? those stuff that they spray under ur car when ur car is brand new 1?
my car...too low...bang too much humps liao...scared rusting
=)