Evo3 (CE9A) Self Diagnostic code

Karapok11

Jun 26, 2006
Hi all,

Anyone here has the Self-Diagnostic Code for the Engine Checklight for Evo3 (CE9A) ???

Thanks, Cheers :)

EVO3gsr

Jul 22, 2005
where is the socket u conected? mind to share....hehe

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
11 Oxygen sensor
12 Intake air flow sensor
13 Intake air temperature sensor
14 Throttle position sensor
15 ISC motor position sensor
21 Engine coolant temperature sensor
22 Engine speed sensor
23 TDC sensor
24 Vehicle speed sensor
25 Barometric pressure sensor
31 Knock sensor
41 Injector circuit
42 Fuel pump relay
43 EGR
44 Ignition coil
36 Ignition circuit

ecupro

Nov 30, 2005
EVO3gsr,

The stock ecu have 3 plugs. There are 26P, 16P and 22P.

Those don't have dignostic tool, follow this:
You need one led and resistor ( 1K ohm )

Connect one end resistor on 16P.12 ( wire face to you )
(16P.12, lower row at four column )

then connect the other end with led.( one leg on resistor, one led on led )
then connect the other end led on ground.

Turn on the ign switch. The led should blink. ( if not blink, please reverse the led legs )

If the led blink constantly, you are safe.
Otherswise, it will blink on "CODE"

Sorry for my language, hope you understand.

Good Luck

ecupro

Nov 30, 2005
To all,
Arrrr.....poor men diagnostic tool....but...it work....he...he....he

Good Luck.

Karapok11

Jun 26, 2006
Thank You guys.

Great info you guys have and willing to share.

Cheers
:)

So thats actually no diagnostic tool for it in market right?

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
There is... but super expensive. My mech has one which cost him RM 15k but can do a DTC for almost all Jap / Korean / Conti cars.

Karapok11

Jun 26, 2006
acbc said:
There is... but super expensive. My mech has one which cost him RM 15k but can do a DTC for almost all Jap / Korean / Conti cars.
WOW! Thats super fast reply!!!

Ooopss, so expensive? Okie, thanks abcd for the the sharing...
Guess I'll try to use the method ecupro has advised and thanks for the coding reference.

Cheers man!

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
Or alternatively, build one from a PalmOS PDA... all u need is the PDA, serial cable and software (freeware).

140dB

Mar 27, 2005
johor
will it work for my 4g13? hehe...its mitsu too wif the same ecu pin out...

tia

melvin
"me too poor to get the hanes manual"

ecupro

Nov 30, 2005
140db,
It should work on all mitsu.

For 4G13, Wira, if not mistaken, on driver side.
There is a socket on the console on the right-side, that is, diagnostic socket.
Connect the pink color wire to the ground and switch on the ign ( not start the engine )
The ECL ( engine check light ) should on and blink constantly( if no error )
If there is a error, ECL will blink the code.

Good Luck

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
ecupro said:
EVO3gsr,

The stock ecu have 3 plugs. There are 26P, 16P and 22P.

Those don't have dignostic tool, follow this:
You need one led and resistor ( 1K ohm )

Connect one end resistor on 16P.12 ( wire face to you )
(16P.12, lower row at four column )

then connect the other end with led.( one leg on resistor, one led on led )
then connect the other end led on ground.

Turn on the ign switch. The led should blink. ( if not blink, please reverse the led legs )

If the led blink constantly, you are safe.
Otherswise, it will blink on "CODE"
the 3plugs u mean is the ECU connectors?

if CHECK ENGINE light didnt ON, tat mean dun need diagnose izzit?

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
If no CEL, still have to check. Sometimes, CEL kaput but DTC already stored in ECU memory waiting for data extraction.