evo 3 & 4 clutch & Flywheel question

keen6883

Jun 25, 2012
Manila
Ive been searching the net but it just confuses me more...
Anybody care to share pics of evo 3 and 4 flywheel for comparison?? Id also like to know the OE size of their clutches (ive heard evo3 is 225mm and evo 4 is 230mm, is it true??).

Im just a newbie to 4g63T engine tho I got my lancer since 2008 but it runs just on stock 1.6 engine... Anyway thanks in advance for inputs. :wavey:

Oh and for those driving evo 4s, would like to know what is your tachometer rpm reading when running 100kph??Thanks

calvin9683

Jul 5, 2004
not too sure abt evo4... but evo3 is using 9" clutch...
n i dun think evo3 n evo4 clutch is the same... one uses push, another uses pull for clutch release...

keen6883

Jun 25, 2012
Manila
@calvin: yes evo 3 and 4 definitely different clutches but do you have photos of their flywheels?? I need to have a reference when I go out and search for it at the surplus shops to avoid mistakes or getting mislead. Thanks for the reply.

calvin9683

Jul 5, 2004
I believe the pics of stock flywheel won't b hard to search from Google la...

keen6883

Jun 25, 2012
Manila
how bout the tachometer rpm reading while running 100kph for evo4?? Any inputs?? thanks

calvin9683

Jul 5, 2004
not sure if evo4 ratio is the same as evo3... my previous ride was slightly above 3000rpm at 100km/h...

keen6883

Jun 25, 2012
Manila
I see... Thanks for the info. Im actually choosing between a galant 8gen FWD tranny (F5M42 R6N4) and evo4 tranny (W5M51 1X7A) locked to 2wd to be mated with an RVR 3rd gen 4g63t engine.

calvin9683

Jul 5, 2004
If u can live wif "noisier" gearbox, then u can opt to lock the evo4 4wd gb to 2wd... Having said dat, the "noise" oso not to say very loud la....

keen6883

Jun 25, 2012
Manila
Is that so?? I didnt heard that locked 4wd trannies sounds louder. thanks again for that info. =)

calvin9683

Jul 5, 2004
It'll hav rougher sound la... Most ppl can live wif it... But some ppl r very particular... Try n ask around those wira evo owner... Mayb try sit in their car n listen...

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
It'll hav rougher sound la... Most ppl can live wif it... But some ppl r very particular... Try n ask around those wira evo owner... Mayb try sit in their car n listen...

Yeah bro, the noise is very irritating..I wouldn't have locked the gearbox if i know this kinda sound will appear.

According to some ppl, unlock 4wd gb will cause some loss of hp but my ex ride, satria gti gsr using unlock gearbox producing 190-200whp(stock boost) on dynojet..The ride is so much more quieter compare to my wira evo now.:banghead:

keen6883

Jun 25, 2012
Manila
Yeah bro, the noise is very irritating..I wouldn't have locked the gearbox if i know this kinda sound will appear.

According to some ppl, unlock 4wd gb will cause some loss of hp but my ex ride, satria gti gsr using unlock gearbox producing 190-200whp(stock boost) on dynojet..The ride is so much more quieter compare to my wira evo now.:banghead:
so you mean gb used as 4wd?? theres no way to 4wd gb to 2wd application without locking it, is'nt it??
may I also ask how is it done, I mean locking the gb?? thanks :wavey:

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
if i'm not mistaken, it was not lock bcos there was a small shaft at the gearbox..drove 2.5 years, nothing happened..i dunno how to lock the gearbox, i just send it to the mech and tell them only.

MirageAsti

Jan 8, 2012
Kota Kinabalu
Need to weld the transfer gear, stop it from spinning. Be warned tho this will permanently rend your transfer gear unusable unless you swap it with an open one..

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
evo 1-3 9 " , e4-e6 9.25" , e7-9 9.5" ......do correct me if i wrong

e4 last time i drive, 100kmh rpm 3.....

i just had my battery relocated to the trunk and i could not be sure whether this had caused me electrical unstablity because im noticing small bouncing rpm when signal light is on during idle, the vacuum meter dims when headlight and signal is switched on

my car is not super audio equipped, only brighter PIAA headlamp, and the meter. i have 2 stabilizers and problem still persists

i just talked to a friend who told me i need to get a grounding wire from alternator all the way to...