everything about EG6

audiolizard

Aug 19, 2009
Im still new and fresh bout honda civic eg6 and thats the car i am aiming to buy before the next new year.i browse through forum and i already love this car very much.as so far i know, eg6 is a 92-95 yrs 2 door hatch,with jdm comes with b16 series engine and its different with local 2 door hatch. thats all. im a dumb sorry.
but before im buying this car, i need to do some research and studies first.

1:what is the perfect engine to fit in to the eg6?

2:b16a? b16b?i heard alot of ppl transplat this engine into it. is that the same engine or different? but they had the same code on it?

3:some mentioning bout Type R engine?is it a engine? and if its it, how do we justify it?
so its it b18cr stands for Type R engine?

4:how to we justify Big V-tec? i heard they said bout the engine cover colour?
and how much different is it with the original 1?

5:as i said im going to buy a eg6, so what u guys recommended me to do?
buying a modded 1,get a jdm spec? (i know its hard to find a good looking 1 nowdays) or i need to get a local spec and modded myself?

6:so what is the market price for this car now?i browse on motor trader but my friend said the price is higher 5-6k compare to outside isit true?

7:how much big different between b16 and b18 series based on performance?
and the price of these 2 ?

8:im willing to spent 40k for the car(buy or modded)
is it enough or its too much for it? heard we can get a jdm spec with 30k only

9:and 1 more stupid question, how to justify a jointed car because this is the important question
to me and i dont want to end up buying a halfcut xD.

i appreciate the answer of all sifu and i will made my last decision once i gather all the info,thx
:adore::adore::adore:

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
Im still new and fresh bout honda civic eg6 and thats the car i am aiming to buy before the next new year.i browse through forum and i already love this car very much.as so far i know, eg6 is a 92-95 yrs 2 door hatch,with jdm comes with b16 series engine and its different with local 2 door hatch. thats all. im a dumb sorry.
but before im buying this car, i need to do some research and studies first.

1:what is the perfect engine to fit in to the eg6?
-B16A

2:b16a? b16b?i heard alot of ppl transplat this engine into it. is that the same engine or different? but they had the same code on it?
-difren, difren code

3:some mentioning bout Type R engine?is it a engine? and if its it, how do we justify it?
so its it b18cr stands for Type R engine?
-read the code, not really 16B & 30A/32B & 20A oso TYPE-R

4:how to we justify Big V-tec? i heard they said bout the engine cover colour?
and how much different is it with the original 1?
-the VTEC word more bigger

5:as i said im going to buy a eg6, so what u guys recommended me to do?
buying a modded 1,get a jdm spec? (i know its hard to find a good looking 1 nowdays) or i need to get a local spec and modded myself?
-how deep is ur pocket??

6:so what is the market price for this car now?i browse on motor trader but my friend said the price is higher 5-6k compare to outside isit true?
-eg6=rm35k-60k

7:how much big different between b16 and b18 series based on performance?
and the price of these 2 ?
-10ps-15ps-25ps-30ps-40ps, rm3k-6k

8:im willing to spent 40k for the car(buy or modded)
is it enough or its too much for it? heard we can get a jdm spec with 30k only
-yes

9:and 1 more stupid question, how to justify a jointed car because this is the important question
to me and i dont want to end up buying a halfcut xD.
-send to JPJ & Puspakom

i appreciate the answer of all sifu and i will made my last decision once i gather all the info,thx
:adore::adore::adore:
this 1 free 1... EG6 is JDM only...:smokin:

audiolizard

Aug 19, 2009
thx for the details jin,
but can u explain more details please?
question 3:so theres a code for those TYPE R engine? or its just a engine thats powerful enough so that u guys just name it type R sorry for those silly question.

okay, so u mean those local hatch are not exactly eg6 but other series?
but if i get a normal spec and modded it, how much do i need it?

and if u said, eg6 is JDM only, then wad is the code for those local hatch?

---------- Post added at 02:35 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:25 AM ----------

sorry that mayb i didnt express clearly that wad am im going to ask,what i mean is how do u determined that the engine is a TYPE R engine? i taught the code its just engine code?

Kobra

Feb 6, 2008
thx for the details jin,
but can u explain more details please?
question 3:so theres a code for those TYPE R engine? or its just a engine thats powerful enough so that u guys just name it type R sorry for those silly question.
u can get b series Type R engine ONLY from Civic Type R OR Intergra Type R! Of course u have to get it from half cut! Very obious identification is RED coverhead,also u can diffrential the intake,block height, distributor,the gearbox cover,xtrctor, that the quick way to know it compare to comman b16a or b18c gsr (reverse/dual intake). For 1.6cc,for normal one it will stap b16a, but for type R b16b, but for 1.8, u will get the same stamping, b18c, unless u get usdm halfcut with b18c5!!

okay, so u mean those local hatch are not exactly eg6 but other series?
hard to find original EG6 outhere, not too mention the condition,most of them is not original EG6

but if i get a normal spec and modded it, how much do i need it?
Depend how close u with half cut "tokey", in some cases FOC,get something loose something:biggrin:

and if u said, eg6 is JDM only, then wad is the code for those local hatch?
EH3/EH4/EH5/EH7/EH8 bla..bla..bla..

sorry that mayb i didnt express clearly that wad am im going to ask,what i mean is how do u determined that the engine is a TYPE R engine? i taught the code its just engine code?
for easy external part please refer ealier answer.But if u really2 want to confirm, than u ask the tokey to "open" the engine for u!! u can check the piston, cam,valve spring, valve,oil pump,gear set, bla..bla..bla.. or the easier way, bring someone that u believe either a frend or pomen and know very well bout honda,ask him to check it for u, satisfy, pay to tokey and fix it to ur EG6!!
Type R also go very2 diffrent "voice" once Vtec open,that also can tell u the diffrent between normal and Type R engine!! PRANNGGGGGG
..........!!!!!!!!!!!!!:driver:

aalto

Dec 31, 2004
good luck finding an ori EG6......about 2 weeks ago there was 1 for sale....in a couple of days it was sold already......better be quick on your toes....

pencalat

Nov 20, 2006
in jb got 2 eg6 for sale... come pm me... tq

cat77

May 5, 2006
bro, try to visit MHR Garage in Pandan Indah..... An EG 2 door specialist......You should see the garage demo car......

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
Another easy way to finding out what half cut engine you are looking at is by checking the stamp number.

B18CR = P73
B18C = P72

Some B16As will have P30 stamped on them or P28. Not totally sure about B16As though.

Ways of distinguishing between a Type R 96 spec and Type R 98 spec is by looking at extractor configuration. 96 uses 4-2-1 and a 98 uses a 4-1.

Good luck with finding an EG6 i think they are probably more rare than EK9s and DC2s - but great cars too. :)

If you want a kick ass engine swap go for a H22A with a gearbox converter kit so you can use it with your B series gearbox.

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
I hope you're not referring to me 'cos i know squat about cars hahaha let alone my own honda.

audiolizard

Aug 19, 2009
thx for all,
since every 1 said that the original eg6 is so hard to find.
so im going to get a local 1 and mod myself ya.. so that very cossy to me?

thx to kobra explaination,so u mean those civic hatch 92-95 yrs we seen in malaysia are all codded EH but no EG la?

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
I suppose if you are gonna mod everything from the ground up be prepared to set aside a fair bit of money.

On top of the cost of the car for a half cut i'd say a good 10k would be a good idea.

Don't get a type r that will just run up the costs. You could however search for a H22A halfcut or a B18C GSR engine.

B18C GSR should run about RM8K maybe less.

H22A halfcut depends from which model.

From Accord Type R should be around the same price a little more. The regular Prelude ones are that powerful unless you get the Type S versions.

Don't forget B18C mounts slightly different in an EG chassis if i'm not mistaken. So getting after market mounts will probably add anywhere from RM2k to RM5k. Same deal with the H22A.

If you get your mounts from Hasport or from any other US part supplier, you're looking at nearly RM10K for the mounts alone. I might just be guessing though, but plan for the worst and hope for the best :D.

audiolizard

Aug 19, 2009
eventhough its not a original eg6 but if we modded it can come out with good performance simillar to the original 1 right?

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
Depending on your swap and what you do - probably better than a stock EG6. But then again you can do anything with money dude.

Kobra

Feb 6, 2008
thx for all,
since every 1 said that the original eg6 is so hard to find.
so im going to get a local 1 and mod myself ya.. so that very cossy to me?

thx to kobra explaination,so u mean those civic hatch 92-95 yrs we seen in malaysia are all codded EH but no EG la?
not all, but majority is EH, there are some are original EG,same goes to EK model, most of it are EJ, and some are EK:smokin:

---------- Post added at 10:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:13 PM ----------

eventhough its not a original eg6 but if we modded it can come out with good performance simillar to the original 1 right?
when u start to MODDED, performance can be better than EG6, u can "tapau" b18c R also!! (+ 4Gxx also, hehehehe)
consider u are doing a right modded!! that the beautiful of VTEC!!!:thrasher:

Mr. Solarturbine....is there anything wrong with you, your hand or your head?

WTF!!, are you doing keep simply disliking other people's post even disliking the forum R&R. You just do for fun or what? Yup, you've got my attention and You're not gonna like it. I've seen your way of replying to other people's posting and its really childish and F**king stupid to me....If you are having erectile problem then I advice you better don't come in here, if you are a wannabe super negative...