Driver celebrates V8 Supercar victory by drifting the entire victory lap w/video

Dinesh

Oct 13, 2006

Drifting has always been more about show rather than go, which is precisely why the racing drivers always keep their cars in check around the corners. Keeping all four tyres griping the asphalt is the fastest way around a bend. Keeping the tail out has always been more about fun than function.

That however doesn’t mean that racing drivers couldn’t hold their own against some of Formula Drift’s finest. Although the boys of FD are paid to keep their tails out and tyres smoking around every corner, the video shows that even racing drivers know how to have fun once the chequered flag has dropped.

Shane van Gisbergen celebrated his victory at the Skycity Triple Crown race, part of the Australian V8 Supercar series, that was held at Hidden Valley Raceway in Darwin, by drifting his Ford Falcon V8 Supercar around almost the entire track on his victory lap.

The crowd, understandably, goes berserk at the sight of a V8 Supercar kicking its tail out and lighting up those grippy slick rubbers. Maybe this will lead to a driver and car swap with one of the FD drifters. We’re pretty sure Chris Forsberg or Vaughn Gittin wouldn’t mind getting behind the wheel of a V8 Supercar while Gisbergen gets to practice his victory drifts in a purpose-built drift machine.

YouTube - ‪V8 Supercar Drift.wmv‬‏

achelone

Jun 3, 2009
v8 supercar is my current fav circuit race.....beside japan gt of course.......sluurrrpppp

jy_1990

Feb 24, 2009
here it says it's blocked in your country on copyright grounds...
Can I know how u guys watched it? thx:)

MrNismo

Hahahaha, take pity on them lah DK. You know how little lock those V8 Supercars have.
Not only that, he was on the brakes most of the time so that spinning those race slicks won't take him to warp speed. :biggrin:

Turbo Tuesday guys, if you haven't read my review of the 2015 FK2R Civic Type-R Turbo via the main page recently, please enjoy this instead. All questions or comments be it on the review or the FK2R is highly welcomed

There's also a short video overview for your enjoyment

This is the link to the Full Article: http://www.zerotohundred.com/2015/primo-2015-fk2r-civic-type-r-turbo-first-drive/