DIY -Retoration of head lamps like new !

if i sand the headlights the headlights will have scratches right? won't it do more damage to the headlights? what kind of polishing compound should I use?

Maxx

Feb 17, 2005
PD-Putrajaya-KL
i think the polishing compound used in this diy is Rubbing Compound.
its like polish cream, but got "microsand" substance. can be feel if u try with ur finger.
its like finest grade sandpaper, but in cream form.
hardware got. just ask for rubbing compound.

it will remove 2500 grade "marks".

if want to make sure, try the steps on other surface 1st.
preferable clear plastic.
the u will get the idea how to polish ur headlamp.. i mean ur car headlamp

ken12292703

Drives a shopping cart...
SoMeWhErE
Very very good tips bro. I will have to try them on my old car's headlamps...

Bump: Very very good tips bro. I will have to try them on my old car's headlamps...

babyken

Mar 13, 2009
quite amazing... will try it out myself....
my getzy have very very blur cover~

traize

Jul 9, 2006
how bout glass?

pencalat

Nov 20, 2006
Anyone tried it yet?

Care to share some before and after pics?

Eager to know from ur guys..

UltimateShine

Dec 1, 2008
www.ultimateshine.com.my
if i sand the headlights the headlights will have scratches right? won't it do more damage to the headlights? what kind of polishing compound should I use?

The purpose of sanding headlights is to even out the layer (remove scratches) for a mirror, crystal clear finished after compound and polish. :itsme:

we are using Optimum compound in this video clip !

Optimum Compound detail : http://www.ultimateshine.com.my/webshaper/store/viewProd.asp?pkProductItem=23

After compounding, the result is shine like wax, we suggest another layer of sealant to protect from UV ray damages. :biggrin:

gothculture

Apr 18, 2008
hey guys i cant find 2500 or 3000 grit sandpaper wei!!!!!!
ive visited nearly 10 diy shops in taipan,ss15, balakong n cheras but they all dun sell!!whr to find leh?! btw must use polishing compound or rubbing compound? can use soft99 blue color ah?:confused:

Bump: hey guys i cant find 2500 or 3000 grit sandpaper wei!!!!!!
ive visited nearly 10 diy shops in taipan,ss15, balakong n cheras but they all dun sell!!whr to find leh?! btw must use polishing compound or rubbing compound? can use soft99 blue color ah?:confused:

michiyama

Apr 19, 2009
If you wish to DIY restore your scratched, dull and yellowish polycarbonate(plastic ) head lamps (not that lamps :biggrin:) like new, see this movie clip, its save your hundreds of hard earn money. :beer:
I will try it!

Thanx for sharing!

Cheers!

Bump: hey guys i cant find 2500 or 3000 grit sandpaper wei!!!!!!
normal DIY shops will not stock #1500 and above sandpaper (waterproof abrasive)

try hardware shops which sell automobile paints.... or try hardware shops which located near workshops/spray painting shops....

gothculture

Apr 18, 2008
eh bro 2500/3000 grit really kenot find la...i ask so many paint shops at sunway also dun hav...they only use 2000....3000 can order la but must buy in one big bulk....:banghead:

anyway i try do on my car wit 1500 n 2000...n turtle wax rubbing compound...no diff!:banghead::banghead:

aih i think i just send to shop n kao tim la...sien dy,.,,

Bump: eh bro 2500/3000 grit really kenot find la...i ask so many paint shops at sunway also dun hav...they only use 2000....3000 can order la but must buy in one big bulk....:banghead:

anyway i try do on my car wit 1500 n 2000...n turtle wax rubbing compound...no diff!:banghead::banghead:

aih i think i just send to shop n kao tim la...sien dy,.,,

okok so i had chg my airflow sensor to gsr 449 as my stock one is giving me problem
chged cz my old afs cz the check engine light doesnt go away
but probi release and press the throttle again..the car jerks...nw the check engi is after i chged...during idle the car jerks...when im crusing at 5th gear...when ne light lights up once in a while...
y is this so?ecu has been rechip frm na mapping to turbo mapping...my engine is 4g93p bot