Diesel drift cars.

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
Since I've became a petrolhead, I always prefer drifting more than any other racing.
The sound of blow off valve is the most orgasmic plus the RB, SR and 1J/2J sound.
V8 just doesn't sound right for me.
The only problem is, I can't figure it out
why isn't diesel engines more widely used since it got more torque, naturally.
I know it has a lower rev cut. But what are the other major reasons behind it?
Engine braking? Less prettier smokes?
This guys have done a fantastic job.
I wonder why not more of these are on the drifting scene.
:hmmmm: :hmmmm: :hmmmm: :hmmmm: :hmmmm:

Black Smoke Racing - YouTube

LittleWhiteWagon

Oct 12, 2009
P.J
Since I've became a petrolhead, I always prefer drifting more than any other racing.
The sound of blow off valve is the most orgasmic plus the RB, SR and 1J/2J sound.
V8 just doesn't sound right for me.
The only problem is, I can't figure it out
I know it has a lower rev cut. But what are the other major reasons behind it?
Engine braking? Less prettier smokes?
This guys have done a fantastic job.
I wonder why not more of these are on the drifting scene.
:hmmmm: :hmmmm: :hmmmm: :hmmmm: :hmmmm:

Black Smoke Racing - YouTube
Good question, where specifically? In Malaysia? Diesel engines aren't exactly high performance pieces of engineering from the factory, especially older ones.

An example la, lets go back to the 80's during the 4AGE era. Diesels then weren't all turbocharged, ECUs weren't that complicated, basically if you had a diesel engine in your car people often look down on your car like as if it was a POS. Probably was too. Old diesels just served the purpose of being extra torquey for absolutely no horsepower.

However these days with variable geometry turbos, direct injection and of course a lot more of technology these diesel engines are getting better and better la. Human beings are slow to adapt to new things, especially when something has been tried and true for so long. Gas engines are always easier to tune because the higher the octane a petrol the harder it is to knock, however diesels the higher the cetane the easier it is to knock. Thats how they make power, heat and knocking. You imagine la the engine is already heavily knocking and you keep adding bigger and bigger turbochargers, surely they wont last too long right? :biggrin: And you imagine if someone were to give you an option for a fully built 4AGE vs a turbo diesel engine in an AE86 which would you go for?... Diesels will never sound like petrol engines no matter how powerful they are. :biggrin:

Anyways technology has really brought the diesels on par with petrols these days. Malaysia it'll be 10 million years till we adapt to diesel race engines. We can barely even get the basics right for petrol engines (i'm speaking on behalf of the younger generation), what more diesel. :hmmmm: Locally there are too many limitations for a proper diesel car, overseas say USA I doubt they'd bother with diesels. LS V8's there are dime a dozen, affordable, full of aftermarket support, they sound HEAVENLY, diesels sound like shit. If you prefer the sound of a diesel over a carburetted big block V8 something is really wrong with you haha.

I can't believe you don't like V8's though. They've been here ages before puny jap engines came about. :frown:

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
Good question, where specifically? In Malaysia? Diesel engines aren't exactly high performance pieces of engineering from the factory, especially older ones.

An example la, lets go back to the 80's during the 4AGE era. Diesels then weren't all turbocharged, ECUs weren't that complicated, basically if you had a diesel engine in your car people often look down on your car like as if it was a POS. Probably was too. Old diesels just served the purpose of being extra torquey for absolutely no horsepower.

However these days with variable geometry turbos, direct injection and of course a lot more of technology these diesel engines are getting better and better la. Human beings are slow to adapt to new things, especially when something has been tried and true for so long. Gas engines are always easier to tune because the higher the octane a petrol the harder it is to knock, however diesels the higher the cetane the easier it is to knock. Thats how they make power, heat and knocking. You imagine la the engine is already heavily knocking and you keep adding bigger and bigger turbochargers, surely they wont last too long right? :biggrin: And you imagine if someone were to give you an option for a fully built 4AGE vs a turbo diesel engine in an AE86 which would you go for?... Diesels will never sound like petrol engines no matter how powerful they are. :biggrin:

Anyways technology has really brought the diesels on par with petrols these days. Malaysia it'll be 10 million years till we adapt to diesel race engines. We can barely even get the basics right for petrol engines (i'm speaking on behalf of the younger generation), what more diesel. :hmmmm: Locally there are too many limitations for a proper diesel car, overseas say USA I doubt they'd bother with diesels. LS V8's there are dime a dozen, affordable, full of aftermarket support, they sound HEAVENLY, diesels sound like shit. If you prefer the sound of a diesel over a carburetted big block V8 something is really wrong with you haha.

I can't believe you don't like V8's though. They've been here ages before puny jap engines came about. :frown:
I just like the fact that diesel engine has more torque.
Never thought it will knock so easily. Hmmm...
And also probably I like to be different most of the time. haha
Petrol engine produce carbon monoxide while diesel engine produce carbon dioxide,
which is less harmful to the environment la.
I guess you are right. Our knowledge is really low. Hahaha.
Not to say I don't like V8. I don't even like V10 and V12.
LS is old tech but damn, they are powerful.
Kinda excited for the new Corvette stingray though. Ferrari alike.
I'm just more of a JDM Straight 4 & 6 bangers guy. Haha.
I like it when RB and 2J in high RPM, very orgasmic.

One thing I dont understand is why road tax for diesel engines is higher?
Wah... still a lot to learn about diesel.

u name one high performance or atleast 250hp turbodiesel engine that can be transplant into our local mix of drift car please?

but i saw* quite a lot diesel drifter in europe....especially with older generation merc wagon :p

*in youtube :driver:

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
u name one high performance or atleast 250hp turbodiesel engine that can be transplant into our local mix of drift car please?

but i saw* quite a lot diesel drifter in europe....especially with older generation merc wagon :p

*in youtube :driver:
That is why I asked, WHY. Not saying using dieself is better than petrol.

why...maybe because most drifter in malaysia was only following the culture but not really understand the core of it...

se lotsa ke70 transplanted with 4age...

ppl tends to follow the tren....

i would say if djan or those drift top guy switch to diesel....then the rest would follow immediately... haha....sad but true :biggrin:

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
why...maybe because most drifter in malaysia was only following the culture but not really understand the core of it...

se lotsa ke70 transplanted with 4age...

ppl tends to follow the tren....

i would say if djan or those drift top guy switch to diesel....then the rest would follow immediately... haha....sad but true :biggrin:
Just like everyone uses Samsung.
Stupid trend, stupid mainstream people.
Damn.

cRazYee

Oct 7, 2005
i believe it's the part availability to make the car quick
japs wont develop part for diesel engine

audi and bimmer diesel engine is great but not quite racing i suppose

audi is yet release commercial diesel racing engine

LittleWhiteWagon

Oct 12, 2009
P.J
I just like the fact that diesel engine has more torque.
Never thought it will knock so easily. Hmmm...
And also probably I like to be different most of the time. haha
Petrol engine produce carbon monoxide while diesel engine produce carbon dioxide,
which is less harmful to the environment la.
I guess you are right. Our knowledge is really low. Hahaha.
Not to say I don't like V8. I don't even like V10 and V12.
LS is old tech but damn, they are powerful.
Kinda excited for the new Corvette stingray though. Ferrari alike.
I'm just more of a JDM Straight 4 & 6 bangers guy. Haha.
I like it when RB and 2J in high RPM, very orgasmic.

One thing I dont understand is why road tax for diesel engines is higher?
Wah... still a lot to learn about diesel.

It is designed to knock. Hence why they sound odd at idling. Who told you petrol engines produce monoxide and diesel dioxide?

LS's are really mixed tech engines, old & new tech mixed.

---------- Post added at 02:50 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:42 PM ----------

i believe it's the part availability to make the car quick
japs wont develop part for diesel engine

audi and bimmer diesel engine is great but not quite racing i suppose

audi is yet release commercial diesel racing engine
Audi has been racing their R10 diesels for ages. :driver:

cRazYee

Oct 7, 2005
It is designed to knock. Hence why they sound odd at idling. Who told you petrol engines produce monoxide and diesel dioxide?

---------- Post added at 02:50 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:42 PM ----------

Audi has been racing their R10 diesels for ages. :driver:
there is no need to say something everyone know

ya, R10 has been glory. but they have yet make it for everyone, not commercialised

---------- Post added at 05:00 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:57 PM ----------

speaking of torque, electric motor has upper hand

drove bosch develop electric car before, freaking awesome

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
Not gonna argue with that because I'm just not a fan. Haha

there is no need to say something everyone know

ya, R10 has been glory. but they have yet make it for everyone, not commercialised

---------- Post added at 05:00 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:57 PM ----------

speaking of torque, electric motor has upper hand

drove bosch develop electric car before, freaking awesome
Wow, where u get to test drive?
Yeah, Tesla beat a supercar on a drag race as I saw on YouTube.
The torque is just insane.
Hopefully they found a way to charge faster like filling up petrol.
And also using electric car in Malaysia is quite illogical.
As I know, Malaysia still uses coal to produce electricity.
>80%. Correct me if I'm wrong.
Hydro and solar are just a small %.
We need nuclear energy!
Even our sub is just using coal. :slug:

cRazYee

Oct 7, 2005
Not gonna argue with that because I'm just not a fan. Haha

Wow, where u get to test drive?
Yeah, Tesla beat a supercar on a drag race as I saw on YouTube.
The torque is just insane.
Hopefully they found a way to charge faster like filling up petrol.
And also using electric car in Malaysia is quite illogical.
As I know, Malaysia still uses coal to produce electricity.
>80%. Correct me if I'm wrong.
Hydro and solar are just a small %.
We need nuclear energy!
Even our sub is just using coal. :slug:
in Germany
EV could change the car we know all over again, because, each wheel run by individual motor, it can control more precisely than any 4wd system in the world. With the same A5, it can change the driving style to either, short wheel base sport car or long wheelbase saloon, with just a switch. It replicated the characteristic accurately

---------- Post added at 09:44 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:42 AM ----------

EV main criticism has been where you get electricity from. The argument is always the amount of electricity that produced to charge the car up used more coal. This is always the problem in western side, we used to argue about it

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
simple, our diesel fuel quality wasnt up to par, our diesel isnt suitable for high performance diesel engines. our new euro 2M diesel quality is not bad ler, compared to the old quality, but isnt nearly as good as euro 4 diesel fuel quality. new diesel engines are awesome i tell you

LesleyAprotto

Banned
Jun 16, 2012
ask lesley approto haha :proud:
Danny,

I have phobias with diesel already...

Nearly got gunned down (banned) by Tom's team in the Petrol vs Diesel thread...

I think those whom debated pro for diesel should know more about diesel and its 10 sen savings advantage.

I am pro for petrol, was am and will be always....using petrol...

But the hilarious side of it was....

Some whom pro diesel, debated cheatingly and was sore losers and started obscenity against me when I cornered them with facts....

Also are using petrol cars, but argued that diesel was the most economical....

Cakap tak seupa bikin!

Those were the days....

Battle well fought!

hahaha....

hey guys,

just wanna ask if i want to transplant engine which engine should i put?...i'm kinda newbie here....so just wanna ask for some help. i used to own 1.5 wira...did a lot of mods to it, just not satisfied with all the extractor, fuel regulator, pnp, cams and all lah. the price of the mods where equal to a new engine. I plan to have an engine where can give me proper HP and not too much to handle. it also must be a turbo charged wan. the car also planning for everyday use so if...