Corolla Turbocharged.. Help?

Strat

May 28, 2007
Hey guys,

I'm really new to this forum thus not knowing if this is the right place to post. However, due to desperation for answers and a thirst for more knowledge, I've decided to post my queries here. Moderators, my apologies if this posting is out of topic. Members, my apologies if some of my questions may seem shallow and repetitious..

First of all, an introduction.. I'm a 30 year old male, from Old Klang Road KL..

Current rides
- BMW e46 318i (Full ACS modded in and out)
- Nissan Frontier 2.5TD (Stock standard)
- Toyota AE100 (4A-GE with bolt on TD-04 Twin Scroll Turbo) - Newly acquired

My problem started when I took over the Toyota. It was in quite a bad shape so I decided to turn it into a project car. I'm relatively new to force induction and therefore, have A MILLION questions in my head that needs answers :confused_smile: Please do bear with a newbie like me.. To make matters worst, the car recently had an accident and hence, I've decided to go all out in restoring it. Please help..

Here's an account of what the car has undergone so far..

Toyota 16 valve twin cam 1.6 4A-GE engine transplant
TD-04L Twin Scroll Turbo Kit
Fuel regulator
Manual Boost Controller
HKS BOV
HKS Air Filter
HKS Piping Exhaust System
HKS Boost Meter
2 pot brake system
Tein Adjustables
DTM Light Alloy 16" rims
LSD gearbox
Hotwires

Dyno on wheels at RSImpresive
Max Power - 265BHP
Max Torque - 303Nm
*This car was running on 3 pistons as 1 wasn't firing.

Here's what I'm doing after the accident which destroyed the front of the car. Luckily the engine and turbo was unharmed.

Bonnet cover
Front headlights
Signal lights
Front grille
Radiator and fan
Air cond fan
Whole lower arm / drive shaft

Welding of Intercooler
Whole set of valve seal and other seals
Perfomance spark plugs
Semi forged oversized pistons
Metal head gasket
A new cyclinder head
Boring of cylinder head
Top overhaul kit
King bearings (Full set)
King trust washer
New custom intake manifold with throttle body
Apexi RSM
Volt Meter

Now for the questions
a) Am I lacking in any parts? Would there be enough fuel? Fuel pump? Injectors? Price? How would I know?
If not, do I need something like an E-Manage or AFC? Price?
c) I'm currently boosting at 1.1bar. Is that too high? Too low?
d) With the new oversized pistons, my engine capacity would have increased right? To what? 1.8? 2.0?
e) Is it true that I would have to run in the engine for 5000km before I can actually step on it? Keep RPM at what range?
f) How much increase in HP and Torque would the above mods give me? Estimation?
g) Did I miss out anything?
h) Any set backs and disadvantages? Any chance of me being in danger?

PLEASE ADVISE! And thanking all in advance.. Car will be ready in 10 days. Will keep all posted.

Turbo Dummy,
StRat :regular_smile:

Strat

May 28, 2007
A picture of the engine bay before the latest mods..

Another thing.. can AFC Neo or Emanage be bought 2nd hand? Reliable? Anyone selling? Thanks..

corolla92levin

Feb 28, 2005
bro want to ask u

how much u do all together?n wat is ur boost??...

Strat

May 28, 2007
bro want to ask u

how much u do all together?n wat is ur boost??...
Inclusive of interior mods.. above 20k..
If I did it all one shot, I would have saved a couple of thousands..

1.1bar.. planning to go 1.4 when the car is out and ready..

corolla92levin

Feb 28, 2005
Inclusive of interior mods.. above 20k..
If I did it all one shot, I would have saved a couple of thousands..

1.1bar.. planning to go 1.4 when the car is out and ready..
nono.i mean how much u bolt on ur engine?total up?

nafiiio

Aug 22, 2006
Nice ride u have there mate .. 265bhp for 1.6 engine .. Impressive ! That's the life that i want .. BMW for family car , and super seg as a pleasure .

KHWONG

Jun 29, 2006
Nice ride u have there mate .. 265bhp for 1.6 engine .. Impressive ! That's the life that i want .. BMW for family car , and super seg as a pleasure .
haha.. then johan , y u dun take SC instead of BT now u having now...power crazy ga.. haaha

normality78

i bought the car already with turbo or you add it on later?

Strat

May 28, 2007
nono.i mean how much u bolt on ur engine?total up?
Bro, still don't know what you mean la! Hehe.. sorry ah.. I'm a real turbo dummy..

Yeah, just kinda worried whether or not everything will fall apart. Which is why I opted to go for semi forged pistons this time. I'm hoping it'll climb above the 300 HP mark. Then I start to worry about all the questions that I posted up there.

Wait till you have my kinda installments to worry about each month. Then you tell me whether or not that's life :P

i bought the car already with turbo or you add it on later?
Bro, are you referring to me? If its me, then car came without Turbo.. but my brother in law backside itchy threw the supercharger away and fitted in the twin scroll turbo..

BROS, I STILL NEED ANSWERS TO MY QUESTIONS! ANYONE? :confused_smile:

Strat

May 28, 2007
strat: remember me? dude... give me a call la...we go for a drink ;) ... all yer queries are all small concerns
Dei.. sure you got the right Strat or not? :P

PM me? Cheers.. and help la answer my questions.. your tea on me :)

normality78

oh ok. no wonder seeing u do so extensively mod but still ask such newbie question. puzzled me alot

sbirdz

Mar 27, 2005
S.Kembangan
sbirdz_jackals.blogs.friendster.com
1 BIG turbo go drink with small bibi turbo!!

NA balik rumah buat kerja rumah!! ^_^ hahaha!!!

btw Strat, notice a D.A.W.S thread... got one stupid fella name Danrigid rjuns this place, he is owning a Starlet EP82 there... and all AE111-AE101/100 - AE92 or EP/KP... were gathered at his place most of the time... maybe he can help u out on the parts... :) and maybe u should GET the yakuza Wagon bumper to hide the intercooler la... it fits nicely for an aftermarket PU bumper.. ^_^ hahahah!!!

Dear guys,

Need some of your feedback although i've read similar threads discussion the same issue.

The issue is my water temp currently shows temp running abit high during cruising, speeding and boosting.

On traffic jams, temp will remain at 90-95c

Cruising on highway, temp will raise up till 100c

Boosting at 0.8 bar will raise up to 110c

Here are the some tech specs of my car

-4EFTE engine

-D&D (4 core aluminium) civic eg radiator

-Removed thermostat

-Toyota...