Come September would you pump RON95 or RON97?

achmedrauff

Sep 4, 2008
www.onlyinmalaysiamah.com
The decision has been made and the motion passed....

Now from September onwards RON97 will cost RM2.00 and RON92 will be phased out in favour of RON95 which will cost RM1.75 per litre.

So the question is...would you fill in your beloved ride with RON95 or Ron 97 when September comes?

Personally I would stick to RON97. I survived the RM2.70 per litre era.... so RM2.00 per litre would not hurt that much.

ExODus

May 14, 2006
whats the difference? i really want to know... Yup... me also will pump 97..

ettm_14

Jul 30, 2006
i will continue V-power, but seriously, most of the local cars can use RON95, the effect would be minimal...

fstr

Apr 19, 2004
Sahara Desert
its still cheaper by 5 cents for ron95...no big deal..

its another ploy by gomen...those old protons will choke to death then will change it for 5k and buy another new proton, 1 good way of marketing strategy or shud i say makan duit rakyat untuk kebahagiaan perut masing masing?? :biggrin:

ken12292703

Drives a shopping cart...
SoMeWhErE
Big differences between RON95 and RON97?

Guess that everybody will start retarding their ignition timings if they want to stick with RON95... :banghead:

Bump: Big differences between RON95 and RON97?

Guess that everybody will start retarding their ignition timings if they want to stick with RON95... :banghead:

achmedrauff

Sep 4, 2008
It's RM1.75 RON95 vs. RM2.00 RON97.... that is about RM25 difference for a full tank of 50L.
Of course your HP will drop a bit with the RON95 but I dont think it will be noticed.

Wira_lover

Jun 6, 2007
Besides HP drop, im sure there is other side effects right? such as life span of injectors? or internal parts? im not sure regarding this, i just want to know like everybody else i think.

I mean after the rm2.70 incident, i guess i can cope with RM2.00,in my case extra RM8.00 per full tank from the current price.But what irritates me is that i will always have to live in fear with our gove.We will never know when they will try another desperate attempt to skim off the hardworking citizens pockets to fill their fat fXXX asses and their XX number of wives.

No point getting all stressed up i guess. Everything happens for a reason. :smokin:

achmedrauff

Sep 4, 2008
If I am not mistaken RON 95 is the standard grade of petrol for many EU countries while all this while we have been using RON97 although I do suspect how refined really our RON97 is. Anyhow, I dont think it should not cause an engine's internals much harm than it already has~ with engines these days with knock sensors it should not pose a problem.

Now on the political side~ that is a totally different thing altogether. The RM2.70 times were pretty scarry. Hopefully it does not come back or at least get any worse than that.:thefinger:

scoupe

Mar 19, 2005
shah alam
hmmm im just wodering if we are using jdm engines can we pump in ron95 fuel? especially those forced induced engines..

daremo

Mar 13, 2009
i hope all of you would go for Ron95 instead of Ron97 because I think this is a stupid gimmick by our garmen to increase petrol price. If you remove the new Ron95 from the picture, what remains is our original Ron97, price increase!!! stupid garmen.

civic EdGe

Jul 27, 2006
i hope all of you would go for Ron95 instead of Ron97 because I think this is a stupid gimmick by our garmen to increase petrol price. If you remove the new Ron95 from the picture, what remains is our original Ron97, price increase!!! stupid garmen.
Ya hor... as we remove Ron95 from the whole equation, things get clearer.....
its all about petrol price increase again afterall....
IIRC, the reason they gave is "to promote Ron95's usage among the people"....
what a joke... always asking us to downgrade while their pockets upgrade..
Me myself is not running an engine with ultra high compression ratio or super advanced ignition timing,
but i am sure that this move will affect many engine performance enthusiasts....

1Petrol, Pockets First, Price Increase Now.... :stupid:

frank118

Feb 7, 2009
How would we know that we are putting in ron97 for 2 bucks ooooorrrr.....its still 95???? Aha...

fct

kluang,jb,spore
personally think they should introduce ron 98 to replace 97 at rm2.00
while ron 95 replace 92 at 1.75.
that would be fair

Hi there. Im planning to get a 2nd hand Honda Civic (96-97,M) need your suggestion on how to get a nice 2nd hand car... Most probably going 2 swap d engine n upgrade the rest of related stuf.....need to deal wif JPJ @ not, izzit very troublesome? Wat level of engine mod is considerated as ilegal?thanks for ur kind advise.