Carbon Fiber Hood

loudstereo

Aug 22, 2006
1 stupid question. Just curious to know.

Beside beauty, what is the purpose of having a carbon fiber hood?

gsrTurbo9166

Apr 23, 2005
the heaviest thing of ur car is ur engine
by using a CF hood, u can balance back ur car weight

gsrTurbo9166

Apr 23, 2005
toilet,skywalker,gohkokeng u al r rite
for those got $ to install a CF hood mean rich
their cars sure got alot og gadgets
so thieves like it, JPJ n police can makan duit like it oso, and finally since u got $ to install CF hood mean u rich and u wan others to know u rich

Joeker

Walking Dead
Nov 19, 2003
Jinjang
Carbon fiber is used for light weight.

Depending on the type and point of load, CF is stronger than steel.

There 2 types of CF. Dry and Wet.

Dry carbons are the lightess and also more expensive than wet.

But both shatter / crack on impact.

Carbon fiber is not a good heat conductor. Is has poor heat disipating and absorbing properties.

Real genuine CF products are very very expensive.

For example, a dry carbon Varis hood price is about RM5K++ whereas imitation CF hoods are priced around RM1K++

b00n

Aug 16, 2005
now that's the master of race craft speaking to you about CF....
kekekeke.....

but seriously, if you're not thinking of really mod 9 your car....than no need lar CF.
Just an opinion.......

t0il3t_duck: u 1 of the race craft "model" still criticise on CF.....not scared ahh?!.....haha

gohkokeng

Feb 21, 2006
Fluffy said:
in one issue of hypertune the dude's EG was CF-ed.he sat on his bonnet to show how durable it was.
maybe a thin dude 45kg?

same like those car show girl.....they sit on normal steel bonet also nothing happen.....lol

*CABUT*

Hey -

The following video is a concept active spoiler that we designed and manufactured as a part of a University Project. Please look at the video and let us know what you think of it. The looks (we understand its a 'wood spoiler' but we are interested in the lift mechanism and what you think of how that looks), speed, would you buy it and anything else you feel is applicable! We are looking for general opinions and feed back.

YouTube...