can i still use 185/60/15 tire to 15x7.0 rim ?

gudboi182

Feb 21, 2012
tokyo
or should i stick for 15x5.5 ?
or should i buy a set of tires again that will perfectly fit ?
or should 185/60/15 be fine for
15x5.0 to
15x 6.0
15x6.5
15x7.0

since im going to buy is still 15inches rim im just wondering coz 185mm = 7.28 inches (width) so i think it will be fine ? :confused:

cos someone told me that if i do buy new rim then new set of tires ?

im sorry and im kinda new to things like these , coz im just a student and trying to save money for other mods :( but thanks for who are going to answer my question .

urban trends

Jul 17, 2005
Subang Jaya
no problem...... i'ved run a 165/50/15 on 7jj rims.... it would stretch the tyres.... so people like it and some dont....personal preferrences.....

gudboi182

Feb 21, 2012
tokyo
no problem...... i'ved run a 165/50/15 on 7jj rims.... it would stretch the tyres.... so people like it and some dont....personal preferrences.....
i see i think the tire would be skinny ?

also what is the advantage of having 15x7.0 than having a 15x5.0, 15x5.5 , 15x6.0 or 15x6.5 ?

thanks for friendly answers sir

ken yeang

Technically, its unsuitable and would not be recommended. But if you ask tyre shop guys, they will sure say ok, becoz they want to provide you service (and want your money).

My 2 cents worth..

i see i think the tire would be skinny ?

also what is the advantage of having 15x7.0 than having a 15x5.0, 15x5.5 , 15x6.0 or 15x6.5 ?

thanks for friendly answers sir
Can you find 185/60R15 size tyres? If yes, best rim width is 6", maximum 6.5".
7" will stretch it a little.
Why not 195/55R15 size? Best fit is 6.5", Max 7"

To answer your question on rim width. The rims width are design for you to fit the right tyres size application, as mentioned above. The right size tyres for right size rims will give full contact surface between tyre and road surface.
If rims wider then tyres, the sidewall are stretched, therefore the shoulder pattern are force outer, so more contact at that area. Shoulder may wear faster too.
If rims are smaller, then the tyre sidewall are squeeze inwards, therefore less shoulder contact, overall less surface contact.

gudboi182

Feb 21, 2012
tokyo
Can you find 185/60R15 size tyres? If yes, best rim width is 6", maximum 6.5".
7" will stretch it a little.
Why not 195/55R15 size? Best fit is 6.5", Max 7"

To answer your question on rim width. The rims width are design for you to fit the right tyres size application, as mentioned above. The right size tyres for right size rims will give full contact surface between tyre and road surface.
If rims wider then tyres, the sidewall are stretched, therefore the shoulder pattern are force outer, so more contact at that area. Shoulder may wear faster too.
If rims are smaller, then the tyre sidewall are squeeze inwards, therefore less shoulder contact, overall less surface contact.
thanks bro, but what you think is the best to buy a width with 5.0 which is light weight or 6.5 that is a little heavy than 5.0 ?

I just mentioned tyre size application, so if you are going to use 5" rims, what size tyres are you using? 175, 165? Buy the rim width according to tyres used....

gudboi182

Feb 21, 2012
tokyo
I just mentioned tyre size application, so if you are going to use 5" rims, what size tyres are you using? 175, 165? Buy the rim width according to tyres used....
sir i'm planning to buy 15x5.0 rim so 185/60/15 tire.

is that ok ? or a 15x5.0 doesnt look good ? cause its not that wide?

---------- Post added at 08:47 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:13 PM ----------

which is better 15x5.0 or 15x7.0 ? to a 185/60/15 tire? :)

having a wider rim means better looking?

sir i'm planning to buy 15x5.0 rim so 185/60/15 tire.

is that ok ? or a 15x5.0 doesnt look good ? cause its not that wide?

---------- Post added at 08:47 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:13 PM ----------

which is better 15x5.0 or 15x7.0 ? to a 185/60/15 tire? :)

having a wider rim means better looking?
You did not digest my post above? 185/60R15 I mentioned best is 6".
5" is too small and 7" is too big.
Still can be used but 5" tyres get squeeze and 7" tyres sidewall gets bent outwards.........

gudboi182

Feb 21, 2012
tokyo
You did not digest my post above? 185/60R15 I mentioned best is 6".
5" is too small and 7" is too big.
Still can be used but 5" tyres get squeeze and 7" tyres sidewall gets bent outwards.........
thanks sir. sorry for that ! lol :biggrin:

!!!need help about custom car approval

all sifu out there or any 1 experiance
do i need JPJ approval after i fix some custom made body kits(car look different then original e.g. kenari mod to accord) to use it on the road???:Not_Impressed: