BT 6Speed Gear Issue.

LuXun

Dec 16, 2004
Ipoh, JB
Hi all sifu,
I've my ae101 convert to bt 6spd for 5 years. Recently i've having issue to shift from 5 gear to 4 gear.
A "grrrrrk " sound heard, it is like clutch not fully pressed. I've chg new clutch, but problem still there.
Any idea?

kennix

Jan 29, 2004
Have you tried with different GB oil?

I have the same problem. GB oil I've tried - Q8, Toyota, Redline.

Q8 - will have this problem cold start. After some running, it is better but still with the "grrrrk" sound.
Toyota - Same as Q8
Redline - No such issue but after 30k KM run, this will happen...

Anyway, just to share... hope it helps...

LuXun

Dec 16, 2004
Ipoh, JB
Have you tried with different GB oil?

I have the same problem. GB oil I've tried - Q8, Toyota, Redline.

Q8 - will have this problem cold start. After some running, it is better but still with the "grrrrk" sound.
Toyota - Same as Q8
Redline - No such issue but after 30k KM run, this will happen...

Anyway, just to share... hope it helps...
thx for the info. Currently i'm using mogul gb oil for lsd for 2years already. Maybe i'll try chg to
Other brand oil.

romen_

Aug 31, 2005
The sound means that your synchros are gone.. just open it up and replace them :)

Wolfrayet

Jun 10, 2011
i too just got a 6speed levin.. any ideas what would be better as a gear box oil ? yr motul is mineral / semi or syn ? how often do change yr gearbox oil ? anyone can advice ??

tappetoes

Aug 13, 2007
Klang,Shah Alam
try redline blue gel...b4 using this g/oil..my gearbox also sound 'grrrkk' when shiftin'..but after using this oil until now (1year)..dont hav any sound grrrkk when shifting n smooth..

i suggest this gear oil if dont have a budget..coz motul,torco and other performance brand is quite expens..

kennix

Jan 29, 2004
Yeah, I'm using what Tappetoes suggested. Used to be on the yellow bottle one...can't remember the model...

If not mistaken, around RM6x or RM7x per bottle. You need 3...

Correct me if I'm wrong...

Wolfrayet

Jun 10, 2011
hi luxun,

yr motul gb oil..is it mineral or semi or syn ? and how often u change the oil ?

as far as i know motul is the best but i understand now its repacked in vietnam ??

torco which one..? i am think of syn. gear oil, any recommendations ?

---------- Post added at 11:46 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:41 AM ----------

redline is it this one

Lightweight ShockProof ??

LuXun

Dec 16, 2004
Ipoh, JB
hi luxun,

yr motul gb oil..is it mineral or semi or syn ? and how often u change the oil ?

as far as i know motul is the best but i understand now its repacked in vietnam ??

torco which one..? i am think of syn. gear oil, any recommendations ?

---------- Post added at 11:46 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:41 AM ----------

redline is it this one

Lightweight ShockProof ??
Hi Wolfrayet,
Motul gb oil i used is syn, i chg only when i hv problem to shift gear.
so far after 2years never chg before.
It still give me smooth gear shifting, i think mty problem lies to only 4 gears.
From 5 to 4 gear, 3 to 4 gear no issue.

i bought a STP Carb Spray, am I using the correct cleanser ?
how to clean the throttle body ? I saw some mechanic just let the car start & spray it to the throttle body then rev the car kao kao.
but i read the instruction on the bottle, it says "DO NOT SPRAY ON HOT ENGINE"

can any professional guys give some advice ?

thanks !!