brake pad brands?

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Give your brake system a brake fluid flush first, or at least bleed the system. Spongy feel at the pedals should be be brake pads problems.
EBC pads have black, green, red, yellow and blue.
Black are normal pads. The better ones are green with better brake feel. Red for higher temperature use, yellow even higher and blue for endurance (if not mistaken)
But the pads are not cheap. Green ones around RM350 for my Mitsu twin pot, yellow ones RM550, these are the two I asked before....
Yes, I already did brake fluid change but still no improvement. Front pads are still quite thick but rear ones only about 30% left. But I did notice before I bought my Mark X, the others that I test driven also got even worse brakes than mine except for one which was 1 year newer than mine. Thinking to upgrade my brake system later on with better pads or even bigger discs & calipers and better brake lines.

How about EBC pads?
Sorry to piggyback on the tread though, cuz my car's break is also sucky, feels very soft & mushy on the pedals.
EBC Black Ultimax is very good for street driving, but so much more dusty than stock brake pads. They claim its low dust, low dust my ass. Gold rims 2 weeks will become bronze rims. 2 months it will become black.

I am using Sumitomo now. Wanted to use Akebono..but I bought wrong size.. LOL.. so now I got spare 1 set Akebono for non-B16 ek/eg.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
EBC Black Ultimax is very good for street driving, but so much more dusty than stock brake pads. They claim its low dust, low dust my ass. Gold rims 2 weeks will become bronze rims. 2 months it will become black.

I am using Sumitomo now. Wanted to use Akebono..but I bought wrong size.. LOL.. so now I got spare 1 set Akebono for non-B16 ek/eg.
Hahaha, then could be good for those who want to darkened their rims without repainting it!

Yes, I already did brake fluid change but still no improvement. Front pads are still quite thick but rear ones only about 30% left. But I did notice before I bought my Mark X, the others that I test driven also got even worse brakes than mine except for one which was 1 year newer than mine. Thinking to upgrade my brake system later on with better pads or even bigger discs & calipers and better brake lines.
Then you may need steel braided hose.....:driver:

---------- Post added at 03:39 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:36 PM ----------

Be careful, heard Akebono got imitation.....:banghead:

The Trestor Blue advantage that I am using is worse. In one week, silver rims are black, but damn good bite.....ha! ha! so wash weekly loh....cannot be helped.....:rofl:

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
Pro-RS dun hv for Mark X?..

LesleyAprotto

Banned
Jun 16, 2012
Used them before, same brake dust & performance as the previous ones I had on (cant remember what they were). Noting special really.
Can you pls recommend a good brand?

Anything better than JURID ?:listen::biggrin:

Dont mind the brake dust, cos i wash my car everyday...

I just cant stand the squeaky noise when braking....

What do you think of TEXSTAR brand ?

Used them before, same brake dust & performance as the previous ones I had on (cant remember what they were). Noting special really.
But Depends on the model used also, not brand only....

---------- Post added at 01:02 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:00 PM ----------

Can you pls recommend a good brand?

Anything better than JURID ?:listen::biggrin:

Dont mind the brake dust, cos i wash my car everyday...

I just cant stand the squeaky noise when braking....

What do you think of TEXSTAR brand ?
Check whether Trestor Blue Advantage have for your ride. Since you mention don't mind the dust, but mind you this brakes dust like mad, but very good bite.....

amrancharger

Jul 19, 2006
currently i m using the advics brakepad for myvi on my viva.
coz i change the brake caliper n disc to toyota passo.
quite good but still early on it.mybe just cover around 500km on with it.