BMW's F30 320d and 328i now locally assembled!

Won

Sep 2, 2010

Great news for the folks who have been waiting for BMW to CKD the F30; we've literally just received word that the 320d and 328i will now be locally assembled at their plant in Kulim, Kedah. It is said that all units of the locally assembled BMW 3 Series will be identical in all respects to the imported counterparts, thus maximizing total cost of ownership value, waiting time for complete units, as well as meeting demand for spare parts for BMW customers in Malaysia.

A new option for the locally assembled BMW 3 Series are the BMW Lines that feature specific interior and exterior designs, along with equipment elements. The F30 328i will now be offered in the choice of Sport Line or Luxury Line whilst the F30 320d will now be available, for the first time, in Sport Line and Modern Line trims. The 328i is further fitted with BMW Group's innovative new BMW ConnectedDrive Apps, providing drivers with a suite of functions that serve to ensure maximum convenience, infotainment, and safety.

Below are some new features of the new 328i and 320d:

The New BMW F30 328i
The new premium compact sedan features the new 4-cylinder 2.0 litre capacity BMW TwinPower Turbo petrol engine which is fitted with direct injection, Valvetronic and a TwinScroll turbocharger for an output of 180 kW/245 hp and a very respectable 350 Nm torque reading, allowing the car to reach the 0-100km/h sprint in 6.1 seconds. The new BMW 328i has a fuel consumption rate of 6.3l/100 km giving it an average EU fuel consumption rate which is 26 per cent lower than its predecessor with an emissions rating of only 149 g/km.

Sport Line
In exterior offering, the new BMW 328i Sport features an added athletic appeal to the new BMW 3 Series with its kidney grille design, front and rear bumper and air intakes trim elements exclusively designed in High Gloss Black. This sporty feel is also further accentuated with the car’s end tail pipe appearing in Chrome Black. The BMW 328i Sport offers 18 inch light alloy wheels with Star-spoke styling 397, 8J

In its interior, the new BMW 328i Sport exudes fiery appeal with Coral Red highlights. The colour Red adorns the car’s instrument cluster as well as appears subtly in its stitching and piping at the Sport leather steering and Sports seats. The keys to the car are also highlighted in Red to give the car a specialised character.

Luxury Line
The exterior offering of the new BMW 328i Luxury, meanwhile, offers exclusivity with the car’s kidney grille design, front and rear bumper, air intake as well as end tail pipe trim elements appearing in Chrome to further highlight the luxurious feel of the car. The BMW 328i Luxury offers 18 inch light alloy wheels with Multi-spoke styling 416, 8J

Interior-wise, the new BMW 328i Luxury offers ‘Fineline’ Fine-wood trim with finishers in Pearl Gloss and exclusive Luxury stitching as well as a centre stack fringe in chrome. The keys to the car also feature Chrome highlights to give it a definitive luxurious appeal.

The New BMW 320d
The all new BMW 320d is set to re-excite drivers in the segment who seek best-in-class power and efficiency in a package that delivers exceptional driving dynamics and excitement. Showcasing a turbocharged 2.0 litre capacity engine that is fitted with variable turbine geometry (VTG) which ensures that the engine’s turbo aspect ratio is maintained at optimum levels, the new diesel variant of the BMW 3 Series also features Common Rail direct injection capable of delivering an output of 135 kW/184 hp with an exceptional 380 Nm torque reading. This enables the new BMW 320d to reach the 0-100 km/h mark in a mere 7.6 seconds. The new BMW 320d demonstrates an exceptional new benchmark in efficiency with a fuel consumption rate of a mere 4.5 litres/100km, a 21% improvement over its segment leading predecessor for a CO2 emissions rating of a mere 118 g/km.

Sport Line
In exterior offering, the new BMW 320d Sport features an added dynamic appeal to the new BMW 3 Series with its kidney grille design, front and rear bumper and air intakes trim elements exclusively designed in High Gloss Black. This sporty feel is also further accentuated with the car’s end tail pipe appearing in Chrome Black. In terms of wheels, the BMW 320d Sport offers 17 inch light alloy wheels, double spoke styling 392, 71/2 J.

In its interior, the new BMW 320d Sport also exudes fiery appeal with Red highlights. The colour Red adorns the car’s instrument cluster as well as appears subtly in contrast in its stitching and piping at the Sport leather steering and Sports seats. The keys to the car are also highlighted in Red to give the car specialised character.

Modern Line
The new BMW 320d Modern, meanwhile, features contemporary design trimmings in Chrome Matt on the trim elements of the car, especially on the car’s kidney grille, front and rear bumper, air intakes and end tail pipe. Wheel specifications see the car with 17 inch light alloy wheels with V-spoke styling 413 71/2 J.

Inside the new BMW 320d Modern features a unique mix of colours and materials with a light coloured instrument cluster in Oyster and Chrono scaling, contrasting exclusive leather upholstery with Dark Oyster stitching and piping. The keys to the car are also highlighted in Oyster with Chrome highlights.

Retail prices (OTR, without insurance, with BMW Service Inclusive + Repair) are set at RM248,800 for the BMW 320d and RM289,800 for the BMW 328i; a RM20k saving from the CBU units.

BLaCkHoWLiNG

'(^^)|Most Awesome Member
www.autojunctions.com
Like i've mentioned in facebook - hopefully there wont be a compromise in quality of build or drop in quality control... else it serves no purpose to the term ' solid german engineering '....

Won

Sep 2, 2010
Definitely agree with you. I've read about some shady build quality on the locally assembled E90s, so hopefully this does not plague the F30.

Slide!

Apr 1, 2008
i for one would rather pay the 20k and have a cbu car instead.

paohyean

Jul 28, 2010
I wouldn't mind paying an extra 20k for the CBU unit as long as 320d comes in Sports Line rather than the current el cheapo look..

BLaCkHoWLiNG

'(^^)|Most Awesome Member
www.autojunctions.com
Just an update... a colleague of mine bought a locally assembled F30 328i... just as i expected it to be - dropped in QC. Windscreen leaking water into the compartment, steering rack needs to be replaced and few other issues. The car is just 2 weeks old

Anyone done this?:)
Can this be done?
if cant what is the main problem ?
thx all sifus in advance :D