BMW SR20DET\Convert JAP FORUM HERE!!

thepornstar

May 9, 2005
Miri
cant sell? thats not too bad. so if i were to it myself, that means do i still need to pay kopi?i know its very straightforward.im not one to go beating around the bushes

jon3171

Aug 3, 2005
my car has been fully legalised after engine change...and neither the jpj nor puspakom has mentioned anything to me regarding not being able to sell the car later...so i don't really think this is true...maybe if some hanky panky was involved in legalising the car then when u do the inspection for ownership transfer u might have a problem...however if everything was done legally thru the proper channels then i doubt there is a problem...it is not within their power to tell you whether u can sell the car or not if they have already declared it roadworthy and legal.

rex79gt

Jan 9, 2008
Ngiao City
juz a change in engine number in registration once approved :P

CDautoparts

Oct 12, 2005
Guys! i am back again.... wah! didnt know this forum lasted so long. Well i have many i mean really many friends already buy and sell their bmw convert nissan or toyota ....no worries. The last time i heard about cannot change name is because the car is declared unsafe due to too many joints from the car. Stay cool guys! and come and Support MY RIDE AUTOGROOMING @ Taman Melawati and Wangsa Melawati. Lots of Converts polish and wash their cars there also.!

Bump: Guys! i am back again.... wah! didnt know this forum lasted so long. Well i have many i mean really many friends already buy and sell their bmw convert nissan or toyota ....no worries. The last time i heard about cannot change name is because the car is declared unsafe due to too many joints from the car. Stay cool guys! and come and Support MY RIDE AUTOGROOMING @ Taman Melawati and Wangsa Melawati. Lots of Converts polish and wash their cars there also.!

thepornstar

May 9, 2005
Miri
Ok thats good to know. How about the engine mounting for the E30+1JZ swap? Complicated? Safe?

jo-e34

Apr 18, 2005
seremban
Guys! i am back again.... wah! didnt know this forum lasted so long. Well i have many i mean really many friends already buy and sell their bmw convert nissan or toyota ....no worries. The last time i heard about cannot change name is because the car is declared unsafe due to too many joints from the car. Stay cool guys! and come and Support MY RIDE AUTOGROOMING @ Taman Melawati and Wangsa Melawati. Lots of Converts polish and wash their cars there also.!
bro...long time.....this is getting to more like a 1jz convert forum not to sr20 lol.....

Ok thats good to know. How about the engine mounting for the E30+1JZ swap? Complicated? Safe?
reputable workshops have the necessary mountings.......ready....

thepornstar

May 9, 2005
Miri
wow.that makes it even more interesting. Well initially i wanted to do a SR20 swap, but i found out that it is also possible to plunk in a 1JZ. My main concern is the engine weight and overall weight distribution of the car. I wont have a car that handles like crap. So im now torn in between the SR and the 1Z. Also i MUST have manual which the 1Z is a bitch to source. Straight line muscle vs Superb Agility. Also the 1Z is a 6-banger which adds to the fun.Im psyching myself out.

jo-e34

Apr 18, 2005
seremban
well sad to say bro if its a 1jz into an e30 body it might mess up the handling though,cos the rear is gonna be lighter than the front end not to mention how much of wheel spin you're gonna face when u full throttle it.

however if its a sr20 your nose might be lighter therefore creating a more balanced e30.

but on and all you've got to adapt yourself to the car once u have it,and eventually u'll know how to bring out its merits over time.......:burnout:

wow.that makes it even more interesting. Well initially i wanted to do a SR20 swap, but i found out that it is also possible to plunk in a 1JZ. My main concern is the engine weight and overall weight distribution of the car. I wont have a car that handles like crap. So im now torn in between the SR and the 1Z. Also i MUST have manual which the 1Z is a bitch to source. Straight line muscle vs Superb Agility. Also the 1Z is a 6-banger which adds to the fun.Im psyching myself out.

thepornstar

May 9, 2005
Miri
Found out that the 1JZ is twice heavier than the M20B20.Damnit. Handling is gonna suck big time. Good for drag sessions though =D

rex79gt

Jan 9, 2008
Ngiao City
like my e30 here is non-lsd, what can i find LSD for this car? o mod from japan LSD axle?

thepornstar

May 9, 2005
Miri
cheaper to use japanese axle? but dont know how the fit is though. your e30 bmw engine or jap engine?

rex79gt

Jan 9, 2008
Ngiao City
i'm sticking wif original m20b20 engine
if u search youtube, bmw e30 still got lots wif turbo charged on original engine

looking for japan LSD axle, n to convert the pcd to 114.3/5holes, easier to find japan rims :P
using 4pot brake from nissan, n after market japan adjustable suspensions

but stil keep the engine original but modified -.-

thepornstar

May 9, 2005
Miri
So you are planning on forced intuction? actually that is another option for me. the M20B20 is quite an underrated engine i might say. then maybe the RB20 is an option? hehe

rex79gt

Jan 9, 2008
Ngiao City
yea, if not i stil hav a m20b25 stroke up to 2.7 or 2.8
juz i will stick to BMW engine at the moment
tho i did hav plan for RB26dett wif Rb25 gear box for rear wheel drive but kinda costly tho -.-

im wanna ask some opinion

im using wira 1.6 (soch) have modify gearbox from auto to manual
using manual 1.5 with 1.6 flywheel and clucth..

right now my car have great pickup but dont have top.. the engine will cut 170km/h
if im not mistaking standard 1.6 can reach to 190 - 200 km/h..

so my question is :

how i wanna improve my top??
want i need to do ???

please help me.....

tq..

qimme