BMW 3 series owners

clawhammer

Mar 8, 2004
Hey guys,

I often heard from people that maintainence for the BMW's would cost a bomb since we always need to get back to Auto Bavaria. How true is this ?

How much does it cost to maintain a BMW 3 series ? Is it costly since the car is fully computerized ?

Thanks guys :)

HidSeller

Sep 30, 2004
No worry mate .....
Just remember Bring More Woman and forget about Banyak Masuk Workshop & Banyak Makan Wang :P .....

clawhammer

Mar 8, 2004
Heh, thanks :D
Hmm, are the cost of maintaining this car way higher than Honda ?

HidSeller

Sep 30, 2004
Depand how u treat ur car lor .....
and the year make also .....
One two year car should be ok, but not too old .....
esp those E36 ......

xtracooljustin

Sep 28, 2004
KL, PG & JB
xtracooljustin.multiply.com
not really much if u r careful wif the choice of car...so be picky when u buy a car...as long the car is treated wif tender loving care... maintenance wont b much

age does not matter.... look at my E28.... 20 years old n it doesnt cost much... in fact the only maintainace for me is topping up oils... b it engine oil, ATF etc...

however as wif all cars, as car ages the fuel consumption will suffer... but im happy wif the consumption of my 528i... its even better than my E34 520i, i would say it gives better economy than a Kelisa that travelled the same amount of distance...

k3nny

Oct 10, 2004
I can tell u this.

It cost less in fact for me.

The BMW DME will tell u when to service your car, normally around 20k.

U service your car every 20k, which means normal Honda or Toyota, its every 5K or 10K depending on oil.

So BMW service 1 time, Honda or Toyota 2 times or maybe even 4 times.

Really, the cost of spare parts can be mad, but hey, its a pretty tough car and nothings broken down so far... you have warranty from AB too remember?

Computerized? Depends on how u look at it i supposed. Not everything is computerized.. :)

Anyhow, my 2004 E46 has cost me less to maintain than my 1996 R33 Nissan Skyline..

Skyline

-Redline gearbox oil -RM300..

just beacuse the gears were crunching while dragging..

-Blown head gasket

all these things also cost in a japanese car u know..

a car is a car.. BMW or jap, its the parts and what they cost..
Bmw's tend to cost abit more when it comes to parts but hey, they last and are strong...

HidSeller

Sep 30, 2004
Originally posted by k3nny@Oct 16 2004, 02:23
I can tell u this.

It cost less in fact for me.

The BMW DME will tell u when to service your car, normally around 20k.

U service your car every 20k, which means normal Honda or Toyota, its every 5K or 10K depending on oil.

So BMW service 1 time, Honda or Toyota 2 times or maybe even 4 times.

Really, the cost of spare parts can be mad, but hey, its a pretty tough car and nothings broken down so far... you have warranty from AB too remember?

Computerized? Depends on how u look at it i supposed. Not everything is computerized.. :)

Anyhow, my 2004 E46 has cost me less to maintain than my 1996 R33 Nissan Skyline..

Skyline

-Blown head gasket

Bmw's tend to cost abit more when it comes to parts but hey, they last and are strong...
Hey bro ur Bimmer gear oil cost more then skyline ....
I don't have bad exp with Bimmer but just remember u drive that car gentle it give u an gentle feedback ....
If go back Bavaria for service, they will change those thing that near expiry date (that cost) .....
Brake pad u need to change with the sensor ...
Just don't go for too old bimmer ......

tsk

Oct 14, 2004
k3nny
What engine oil are you using - I am using Mobil 1 fully synthetic and the final green light goes off at 11k ?
I'm using E36 but it should not be so much difference.
Cheers

SiGNAL

Nov 16, 2003
Ya Mum's House
Originally posted by k3nny@Oct 16 2004, 02:23

Skyline

-Blown head gasket

Not against BMW or what, i'm also an M3 fan. But the way u put it, it's not very fair for the R33.

By year, u should already know the R33 is older than ur 2004 E46. Common sense it's cheaper since it's THAT new. And i'm sure any car wouldn't break if u dont trash it... no? dragging any car will break something and tend for more $$. If u drive ur R33 like normal, I think u wouldn't have to change head gasket or gearbox oil.

Just a food for thought. :)

clawhammer

Mar 8, 2004
So the conclusion is ? BMW parts aren't that expensive after all ? It's merely more costly than Honda/Toyota/Nissan parts only ?

ramsink

Apr 12, 2004
Originally posted by clawhammer@Oct 22 2004, 09:09
So the conclusion is ? BMW parts aren't that expensive after all ? It's merely more costly than Honda/Toyota/Nissan parts only ?
Yup, just 10-15% more than Honda but still cheaper than Merc's parts

mr_freak

Apr 11, 2004
Originally posted by zaki@Oct 22 2004, 10:15
BMW = brings me women...
BMW = brings me women change to BMW = Be My Woman
:lol:

anyway Alvin,good luck in finding a good one.I'm sure with your driving style,the car would serve u great :) :P

Dear guys,

Anyone knows any accessories shop that can customize EL meter cluster backlight? Am looking for yellow or white backface light. Else anyone knows where to buy the EL element to DIY? Preferably located in PJ area.

Thanks.