B16 Piping Size

hellboyz

Dec 6, 2005
Helo Otai2..just want to know,for light Mod B16A (ECU Rechip,Fuel Regulator,HkS Air Filter,PnP),For Better performance wat da suitable piping size?.. 2.2".,2.3".,or 2.5" ....how bout center bullet?.better install 2gether or not.?.. TQ

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
IMO, 2.25".. as to why.. see how big type B18CR one is. I think even the EK9 is 2.25.

According to a friend, 2.3 is the pipe standard in the US, so that's why it's slightly bigger, and more common there.. truth or myth.. I oso dunno.

hellboyz

Dec 6, 2005
tq mr.shirointenshi..anybody got other opinion?..

budin99

Mar 19, 2006
deyyy machaa..how many times want to change piping daa?? ekekekke.. 1st with 4-2-1. After dat with border + no bullet. after dats border with bullet. after dats "buluh runcing".

Not with new 4-1 extractor...ekekekkekeke....
I never know u did PnP already..ekekek sure fast one..:D

HanafyEG

Mar 14, 2005
i think follow the collector size from the extractor u r using, if 2.3 then piping all the way 2.3, same goes if collector 2.5..just my 2 cents..hehe

Enthusiast

Oct 10, 2005
Agree with Hanafyeg.......

this is a very useful topic with tried and tested info........they actually tested a b18cR with diff diameter piping......and they found out 2.5" gives the most power on it........another reason being if ur collector is 2.5" and ur piping is 2.3......bottleneck already.......they strongly beliff in a car being able to go from small dia. front to big piping back.....but never go from big to small piping......

the one and only exhaust thread here - Team Integra

altho the site is about b18cR....i think they same theory can be applied to b16's too....

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
Hmm.. it does look like the site promotes 2.5 inch, rather than 2.25 for the B18, but I think the B16 using a 2.5" pipe is just a little on the 'too big' side.

Well, if you think it works... go for it..

Enthusiast

Oct 10, 2005
i think 2.25 shud be good for you....also get extractors with a smaller collector so it doesn't bottleneck lor....that's about it....simple :regular_smile:

hellboyz

Dec 6, 2005
heheh..very2 usefull info..tq otai2...

p/s:budin99,i talk bout myfrens car la..but tis info very useful laa..now i prefer 2.25" pipe wif bullet.. heheheh

Enthusiast

Oct 10, 2005
btw, anybody tried this?

place a bullet just after the extractor collector.....and then straight 2.5' pipe till end muffler

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
Enthusiast,
nope..won work..try locating d centre bullet a lil further back........

Enthusiast

Oct 10, 2005
ahahahahah you tried before issit akuma......damnit after i changed my gearbox to normal 4.4fd non lsd.....man.......how i regret weh..............SO DAMN MUCH DIFF! :baring_teeth: will be swapping the lsd back in soon...

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
Enthusiast,
nope..not me....a fren is using dis set up..MARVELLOUS he sed...n he's even selling his 304 Border n vow 2 go muffler-less frm now on..kekekeke

budin99

Mar 19, 2006
heheh..very2 usefull info..tq otai2...

p/s:budin99,i talk bout myfrens car la..but tis info very useful laa..now i prefer 2.25" pipe wif bullet.. heheheh
must be 2 in 1 question ekekkekeke...2 cars setup with one question if u haven't do PnP(I know which car did PnP).

most popular here 2.25". 2.5 can..like BER but dats with all "toyol & jin sudah buat sarang" inside the engine :X-:

What turbo you use ?? AT what xxxx RPM the boots come in or start to spin??