A32 - Coil Dying? How to Know Which One?

ctk22

Jan 30, 2006
Hi all,

My A32 30GV recently gave some weird behavior. Before this, during idling, the engine will jerk slightly (do u call this misfiring?), just like the coil failing symptoms that some of our fellows posted here before.

Recently, the jerking become more serious which it can be felt when cruising. The car felt like some force is holding it back slightly, just feeling like you step on the brake slightly while stepping on the fuel pedal. So, I guess the coil will die off very soon.

1. Will this symptom brings long term effect to the engine, if I continue to drive on?
2. How to find out which of the coil is failing?
3. Will plugging in the diagnostic tools help to figure out which exact coil is failing?
4. How much do i have to budget for the coil replacement?

Thanx in advance!

ongteckweng

Jul 15, 2004
usually if u go to TC, they will advice u to change all 6 coils. easier for them. u can try getting them from chopshop n test them one by one if u r not keen on changing the whole lot. if not mistaken, brand new is ard rm400+..chop shop rm60+

hanslin

Dec 23, 2008
:itsme:you can try ::nurse:
1: start the engine with the coil cover off and coil unscrew!
2: start with the 1st coil, :slug:slowly leave up the coil and u can see the spark jumping to the plug!
3: if there is coil problem or dying u should not see spark or weakest one out of 6 coil!
4: just find out the weakest one!

:biggrin: hope this help!

:listen:dont try on high rpm if not u will start cursing me!!!:rofl::rofl::rofl:

By the way..... HAPPY NEW YEAR:biggrin:

ctk22

Jan 30, 2006
hi hanslin,

pls enlighten me, I have no idea where the location of coil is... :confused:

hanslin

Dec 23, 2008
:nurse: the coil will be under the nissan logo cover!!!
:biggrin: or where the plug is, the coil just on top it!!!!
example: on 6inline!
sorry that i dont have the v6 pic with me!

sb3

Apr 22, 2005
What hanslin suggest is a good idea but dont leave up the coil too long (very brief) or you will confuse the ecu, O2 sensor and shorten the life of the electrics. Its like the dog chasing its own tail.

Good Luck.

BTW 1 coil at Spare parts shop around rm160-00 to rm200-00. Brand ? Hanshin or MMC. Thats rights, Mitsubishi made coils for our fatties.

ctk22

Jan 30, 2006
any recommended shops for brand new ones or 2nd one chop shop?

hanslin

Dec 23, 2008
:itsme: tq to make it more detail!:biggrin:
A32 - Coil Dying? How to Know Which One?

ctk22

Jan 30, 2006
Is ignition coil for VQ20 and VQ30 the same?

sb3

Apr 22, 2005
Please check and confirm whether it is the coil/s b4 committing as the coils are not cheap (for me at least) . Sometimes the problem lies elsewhere. The "Nissan specialist" will recommend you to replace all six of them, whilst if you are at under the tree workshop , they would only ask you to change the faulty unit. Its best to have a power balance test for all the coils during diagnostics scans in confirming the power variance between the firing coils. At times it might be more than 2 coils at fault. Its sounds silly but at times the misfiring can jump around between a few cylinders (ie; cycl 1, 5 ,2,etc).So the rule of thumb , check properly 1st.

Btw , if you are staying in PJ there one authorised Nissan dealer @ Sea Park (opposite Affin Bank). It seems they are supplying parts to Section 13 workshop/service centre.

SB3.:biggrin:

sb3

Apr 22, 2005
hi sb3,
thanx for your detailed advice
Hey no prob bro ! Where do you live ? I might have some used coils for sale if you want. We can test it together if its not the coil problem. No need to buy lah.. How is it going? Have you found the bug already? Let us know if you have nailed problem.

Cheers .

SB3:biggrin:

seizai

Jul 27, 2005
Hey no prob bro ! Where do you live ? I might have some used coils for sale if you want. We can test it together if its not the coil problem. No need to buy lah.. How is it going? Have you found the bug already? Let us know if you have nailed problem.

Cheers .

SB3:biggrin:
u keep spare parts also :biggrin:

Dear bros...

Yesterday I've swapped my rims to waja first edition rims.....after balancing and alignment and also adding a spacer for the rear wheel because it seem the offset is to inside kena absober.....so after that when i drive....nice but once i apply brake...i can feel vibration from the brake......why ar?? is it the rear spacer make it like that ar...previously....using 8holes rims also no problem like that and with spacer at the front summore....sigh....anyone installed waja rims...