4x4 18inch rim good tire?

Oct 2, 2011
Hello all!

I am kind of new to 4x4 world but somehow just bought it. I thought of putting in new 18inch sport rim. The truck is meant for 80% city use and 20% mild off road.

I hope anybody can recommend reasonable quality and price for the tire. If there is professional review link would be better :biggrin:

In 18", most will use passenger car tyres even for 4 x 4....or at least made for 4 x 4, but for highway use. What is the original size of the tyres?

Tajnaz

Oct 2, 2011
Yea..SUV meant tyres is good for normal road condition i guess. 4x4 tyre will be more expensive. In terms of brands, there seems to be a lot of new brands from korea and even Australia. Dont know how they perform. Any brands that is reasonably price in town?

Stock tyre is 245/70R16

Not sure whether you will be able to get that tyre size as your original already very huge size.
I could find 265/60/R18 size only and that is slightly over 3% over your original.
Federal Tyres from Taiwan costing RM760 each...

265/55/R18 will be the right size.

Reviews mostly are on passenger car tyres. As for Federal tyres, it depends. Even for some passenger car tyres, some are good and some are not, example noisy, bumpy etc.

Hi , i wanna buy a manual sport car for weekend use . I am confuse to choose whether Rx8 or Toyota Celica.
i prefer rx8 much , but compare to maintanance . i always heard that rx8 got plenty of problem .
and celica is very easy to maintain . OF course if i buy rx8 i will buy the cheapest 2002 years car .10 years rotary engine . i always go long distance place . IS it many problem ? Hopefully some Sifu here get give me a clear comment .