4G13 feels heavy when aircond switched on

ravingill

May 29, 2006
Hye guys , i drive a satria 1.3gli , i recently changed my aircond compressor bcoz the old one was jammed up. I was using a patco ac compressor and most shops recommended denso with modified bracket. So i decided to go with denso since its known to be reliable , everything is fine except as im driving and the ac kicks in i feel a lost of power , it is very noticeable and my performance drops.

Now , i am wondering why is this happening , could it be the belting or installation error or my altenator cant support the power.

I also notice that when id rive over huge puddle of water my aircond belt slips. It goes away after like few seconds. Why does this happen

Really could use some input guys.

ravingill

May 29, 2006
well , i dont know how to check , when i bought the shop said its for satria 1.3 only thing its different brand , original was patco now im using denso. It looks the same size

series5401

Aug 14, 2010
Kuching
sorry bro..
experiencing the same..
but coz i used a bigger compressor..
so if u said the size is the same..
so i dont know..

sorry.. haha..

ravingill

May 29, 2006
well anyone wif any info pls enlighten me

tks

USJ
it could have something to do with what type of compressor it is. There are generally two kinds we find in our cars; piston or rotary.

Now...its been years since I've touched A/C's, so IF my memory serves me...piston types are more powerful, however need more power to run, and the rotary is the opposite.

Correct me if I'm wrong.

Does your a/c feel cooler/better? About the belt, you probably just need to re-check the tension and tighten if necessary.

Cheers!

Edit:

Found these links:
Patco
Denso

problem confirmed by compressor type....

patco from rotary type need less power than piston type to work...thus when u use piston type compressor it became obvious the compressor causing more drag to your engine....

plus it was 1.3 model...so the power loss become obvious.... :adore:

btw how much the workshop charge denso compressor over patco brand???coz my friend 1.3 wira oso having AC compressor problem..

-edit-

ravingill

May 29, 2006
well , i guess its the brand then since im using denso it must be piston type, patco is rotary.

pomen_GTR > bro i purchase the compressor at rm350 just 5 months back , if your friend want denso , i will sell to him , i will take back patco then. I dont want the power loss feeling. Lol

My , workshop in pj , installation and servicing my ac cost around 380.

how about patco compressor price????

coz my friend said the shop he ask quote around 1k+- :stupid:

ravingill

May 29, 2006
wow , 1k is damn expensive bro , unless its new , my compressor is recond , has warranty 3 months , usually when compressor spoil it is repairable, it ony gets spoil if neva service the compressor , so a recond one will work fine as long as u take care of its oil and all. Well patco also same price but harder to get as its not popular , always give way. Thats why i took denso.
And denso is much cooler compared to patco.

gilbert5107

May 30, 2007
bigger compressor is the issue. had alot frenz test it out.nowdays halfcut hard to find for 4g13 ac compressor.

tham.wai.keong

From Facebook
Aug 7, 2011
This is an old thread, but just wanted to give
some feedback.

Nippondenso compressors are relatively heavy
and "draggy" on the engine, which is why I never
really liked them. There are also no replacement
parts on the market, and the whole compressor
must be replaced when faulty. Neither are they
cheap when new, costing in the region of $1,000.

During the 80s, I tested this friend's Ford Laser 1.5
(Mazda engine), fitted with a Nippondenso, which looked
relatively small and compact.

Revving the engine to just 2,500 rpm, I switched on the
airconditoner. When the compressor engaged, the tachometer
fell to 1,750 rpm, a power loss of 750 rpm, or no less than 30 per cent !

Even without revving it, you can have an idea of how light or
heavy the compressor is at idle. Disconnect your FICD. At
an idle speed of 900 to 1,000 rpm, if your tacho falls less than
200 rpm when the compressor cuts in, it's considered light.
If more than that, it's heavy.

Nippondensos are swashplate type, similar to Sankyos.

I'm not sure if Patcos are swashplates or rotary vanes, but that
on my brother's Iswara 1.3 is not light either.

tham.wai.keong

From Facebook
Aug 7, 2011
My aircon man says he can't modify it to a Sankyo as the
suction and discharge lines on the Patco in my brother's Iswara 1.3
are routed the other way around, so I am stuck with this
heavy, noisy Patco.

If your aircon man can do it, ask him if he can replace it with
a Sankyo 505.

RPARTS.COM - Sanden Compressor

This is the lightest compressor from the Sankyo (or Sanden)
series. The "5" denotes a capacity of just 5 cubic inches, or 88 cc.

This is some 30 per cent lighter than the more common Sankyo 507
which you see fitted universally in many cars.

The 507 has a capacity of 7 cubit inches, or 108 cc.

The 505 is meant for engines from 600 - 1,000 cc, which means
that the Kanchil can even drive it.

The 507 is typically for engines of 1,000 - 1,600 cc.

I replaced the 507 with a 505 in my previous car, a Corolla KE70,
1,290 cc engine.

When the compressor kicked in, you can barely feel any drag.

If your system is using the newer R134 gas, this is SD-5H09
is the 505's equivalent.

RPARTS.COM - Sanden SD5H09 (505) Compressor

Sanden International - Singapore

Hi all,

i just changed my absorber all 4 for my corolla ae101.
the weird part is that before i change the absorbers, front part got around 1.5 fingers gap
behind around 1 finger gap.

after i change absorber(just to clarify, its new), the front driver side 0.5 finger and passenger side remain 1.5 fingers.

the behind driver side 0.5 finger and passenger side become 1.5 finger.

i was told its possibly the spring, but i wonder, how come before change no problem now problem come...