4AFE Turbo vs 4AGE Blacktop

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Guys... I have plans for future upgrade for my AE111... But I always fight between these 2 options... Hmm... And I guess many couldn't give a definite answer till now. Soem argue that 4AFTE is beter and some say the rev hungry Blacktop. Let this be a place where we can discuss and share experiences. If you do not have experience in playing these 2 beautiful engines, please feel free to share opinions too!

How does these 2 compare in:

1. Reliability
2. Maintenance Cost
3. Streetability & Fuel Consumption
4. "Max-out" tuned power
5. Cost of Modifying
6. etc etc...

---------- Post added at 12:50 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:44 AM ----------

Can anyone share experience? My aim is to get good moderate power and good FC. Like the blacktop, 165 bhp and still can manage 400kms per full tank in my area. I love it a lot. But I am just wondering if turboing the 4AFE can yield me 160 - 170 bhp like the BT. I plan to use just light boost. Max 0.4 bar for good fuel economy and low-mid range torque. I don't really aim for high end power.

So my question is,
1. So if I stick to 0.4 bar boost, can I get 160 - 170 bhp?
2. If we talk about max-out tune (i.e 4AFTE vs BT turbo), which engine can give more?

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
my 4efte outperforms a 4age 20v, in terms of performance and fc. a 4afte wud be better, since it has the same capacity as the 4a. charge that 4afe up sir, let me be the first to welcome u to the dark side..

once u feel boost (evil substance, lol), u will never look back to na.. hihi

wilm3

Aug 4, 2005
y not go for 16v 4agte? still a good figure in FC...

n0th1n

Feb 7, 2005
japan
junk-dealer.blogspot.com
How does these 2 compare in:

1. Reliability
2. Maintenance Cost
3. Streetability & Fuel Consumption
4. "Max-out" tuned power
5. Cost of Modifying
6. etc etc...

Can anyone share experience? My aim is to get good moderate power and good FC. Like the blacktop, 165 bhp and still can manage 400kms per full tank in my area. I love it a lot. But I am just wondering if turboing the 4AFE can yield me 160 - 170 bhp like the BT. I plan to use just light boost. Max 0.4 bar for good fuel economy and low-mid range torque. I don't really aim for high end power.

So my question is,
1. So if I stick to 0.4 bar boost, can I get 160 - 170 bhp?
2. If we talk about max-out tune (i.e 4AFTE vs BT turbo), which engine can give more?
20v factory dyno'ed at 165. and i believe in controlled environment, ron more than ron97 that we have here and at flywheel, not at wheel. we did couple of dyno session, with engine stage 1 modification, the result should be 110-ish to 130-ish. with dyno dynamics machine.

20v user here. 0.57 bar gave me 200++whp. with leak at manifold.
FC wise, same with NA if you don't full boost all the time. 1 liter = 10km. 10liters = 100km, 100liters estimate 1000km if mix driving. if long distance (no frequent throttle changes) should be more i.e 30liters = 400km.

once u feel boost (evil substance, lol), u will never look back to na.. hihi
disagree. i still miss my NA engine, because below than full boost rpm's range, my turbo equipped engine sucks!!!

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
disagree. i still miss my NA engine, because below than full boost rpm's range, my turbo equipped engine sucks!!!
mine are all set up for response, off boost also sedap, on boost lagi sedap woo.. many of my frens returned to the dark side, turbo > na, mostly VTECs > turbo, missing NA isnt in my book sir. i guess iam a boost junkie den, lol

n0th1n

Feb 7, 2005
japan
junk-dealer.blogspot.com
thread discussing BOT weh!!!! balance of high comp system with turbo and characteristic is also different.

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
charging a vtec? its cheaper to change car sir, hehe.. BOT and original turbo, similar ler tu.. they are both in the dark realm imo, lol

n0th1n

Feb 7, 2005
japan
junk-dealer.blogspot.com
rasa dulu, baru cakap boss

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
rasa what? vtec turbo? na power? i do my cars myself sir, supercharge, turbocharge, na.. seme ade kat rumah nuu.. motor pun penah turbo kan, err.. so?

err, where are headed wit all dis anyway? did any of my input bothered u in any way ke?

cuscostrutbrace

Jul 10, 2004
Wait until u see my car off boost,its the slowest car in the world,even myvi can potong,and full boost also not that fast...:bawling:

But in this case,i vote for 4AFE Turbo...

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
Wait until u see my car off boost,its the slowest car in the world,even myvi can potong,and full boost also not that fast...:bawling:
alamak, naper teroks sangat? what engine are u using sir? how long has dis problem been troubling u? pm for more detail, tq sir

wilm3

Aug 4, 2005
haha...both got pros n cons....of course turbo got more feel but if u talking bout high capacity NA then diff story liao.... better u try 1st then oli decide lor....ask for a ride for both...

This simple circuit makes it posible to monitor the charging process to a higher level.
Final adjustsments are simple and the only thing needed is a digital voltmeter for the necessary accuracy.
Connect an input voltage of 12.65 volt between the positive and negative poles and adjust the 10K trimmer potentiometer until Led 10 lights up. Lower the voltage and in sequence all other Led's will light up. Check that Led 1...