engine oil for mivec

gspot

Jan 5, 2004
Jackal,
Well.. the top range fully synth 5W30 already gave me a uncomfortable impression. Heavyweight!!! Nevermind the makan minyak element coz' it's a permanent trait in high revvin variable valve timing cars. No offence ya? :)

Mugen,
Halvoline semi synth 10W40 cost around RM70++ at the stations. The mineral one is 15W40.

Yup.. heard good feedbacks on the Chemlubes. Just product availability a slight headache.

Anyone tried Cepsa?

mugen9

kynizam04...gspot...

just went to caltex..got 10w/40 semi-synth..rm79...
any sparepart shop got caltex oil cheaper??....

amir1218

Nov 25, 2004
so far i've used these oils:

Q8 (gold bottle) - good oil, especially at high revs.. smooth.
mobil 1 - well good oil.. long lasting can probably strecth to 10k
motul (300v - 15-50) - best oil i've tried so far.. excellent response, smooth all the way to 8k rpm. think its because of the double esther base thing.

mugen9

jackal...

i bought for rm125 for 4 liter ( 1 can = 2 liter )....currently satisfied with the
performance ( my car laa )....10w/40 semi-synth...

u should consider this oil...no harm trying...once use cannot stop... :lol:

biceps

From Facebook
Nov 19, 2009
Re: Visitor Agreement

hi,would like to hv castrol edge 0-40 users'comments.hv been using the product for the last 4 services n very impress with product interm of fuel ecomony n performance but need tappets adjustment three times in four months.as of the last adjustment the service manager in eon pointed the fault to the engine oil im using.apparently too dilute.my car is mitsubishi lancer limited edition 2006.any comment is appreciated.

zac

Feb 7, 2007
I use speedmaster 5w50, good respond till 8krpm too...

modesto007

hello guys,

those who use mivec machine, can you guys tell me what engine oil most suitable to be used?

thanks.
this is my input.. .. @ 4G92 Mivec Dohc 1.6

1. HKS 10w 40 RM210 [ tend to makan minyak very fast - no white smoke,tappet sound bit harsh ]
2. Q8 Formula Advance RM90 10w 40 [ the best so far...,tappet sound very light]
3. Motul Turbolight 10w 40 RM99 [ tried this, tappet sound a bit harsh, then i switch back to Q8]

hope this helps.. cheers :driver:

Hi Everyone,

I have a very big question. I am planning to do a D.I.Y on an engine conversion (just as a hobby), so any help from experienced mechanics or anyone who has done this conversion before would be at great help! I am very serious here.

Okay. Lets just say, i have got:

1) Evo2/3 full harness wiring,
2) Evo2/3 complete engine with mounts,
3) Evo2/3 Air flow meter (MAF) and ECU,
4) But using my 4G93 Gearbox.

Is this all i need? I dont have a complete half cut. I am just worried...