Turbo doesn't help my 0-100 Km/h (TD04 L15A)

clanbuster

Jul 2, 2009
if not wrong, stock (NA) Honda City should be 12 sec for 0-100 km/h.

Mine had turbo TD04 with AEM tunned , also 12 sec PLUS.
Time colleced by G-tech pro and RSM.
I had did alot of test on my car, ave timeing is 12 sec and i found one important point:
flooring will made worst.

My spec
L15A Vtec engine
TD04
AEM piggyback

the problem could it be:

1) my boost too low, currently only 0.4 bar
2) CVT is like that. even 1 bar also same
3) AEM not for my car, change it
4) i don't have extra injector

or 5) your advise?

My dream for 0-100 Km/h = 9.9 sec is enough ( below 10 sec)

Pls advise.:confused:

veilsideboyz

Oct 28, 2008
u mean your car vtec n/a and after bolt on turbo also 12sec ??
that's funny...
you try boost more 0.1 bar...
and better change injector !!

clanbuster

Jul 2, 2009
CVT's were'nt made for hard launching?

Got an AFR reading? Maybe running too rich?

0.4bar actually does provide notable difference.
At what RPM does your max boost come in?
using TD04, my boost start 1900 RPM, max boost to 0.4 bar is around 2100 RPM or less.
my turbo cut in early.

AFR , i dont have the gauge.

pls advise.

u mean your car vtec n/a and after bolt on turbo also 12sec ??
that's funny...
you try boost more 0.1 bar...
and better change injector !!

yes i also think of add injector.

so what is the max boost (bar) for stock engine ( haven't change to metal gasket, enhance piston, con rod , crankshaft etc)

donCityZ

Feb 8, 2006
U got go for dyno/tuning or not?

or maybe ur turbo lag. like an evo also lose to stock 1.6 sedan in TopGear last time..

if stock engine parts.. i think boost 0.5-0.6 still ok la.. should be.. not sure though.

or maybe also ur engine thirsty of fuel. must check AFR.

best is just go for tuning/dyno checking.. chg injectors also might solve it..
but remember to use Fuel regulator so that can tuning further.

pioneer411

using TD04, my boost start 1900 RPM, max boost to 0.4 bar is around 2100 RPM or less.
my turbo cut in early.

pls advise.

so what is the max boost (bar) for stock engine ( haven't change to metal gasket, enhance piston, con rod , crankshaft etc)

i think too much power, is the gearbox cant tahan la :)

my turbo cut in early.

pls advise.

i think too much power, is the gearbox cant tahan la :)

veilsideboyz

Oct 28, 2008
make sure you change your injector and retard your timing...
can boost 0.5-0.6 bar without any problem......
you bolt on turbo juz boost 0.4...is damn less !!
install fuel pump and regulator :thefinger:

Bump: make sure you change your injector and retard your timing...

witch13

Dec 20, 2004
yea.. change the injector.. same happen like my fren bot 4g92p 1.6... using standard injector tat time.. no feels at all at 0.4bar....

after installing 390cc injector n safc lil bit setting... 0.4bar alredi feels the turbo function... he also using auto gearbox..hehe

veilsideboyz

Oct 28, 2008
wht turbo he using ??
yup...me too.. auto gearbox :)
now boost 0.6...
going to boost 0.7-0.8bar soon...
safe for autogear box...better install ATF COOLER

hawick

Jun 27, 2005
D'sara / S'ban
Your question should be "What is the max torque my CVT can withstand?"

Honda City is not meant for BOT, max boost is about 0.4, thanks to CVT.

How much you spent for this kit?

mcwk

Jun 15, 2009
Possibly your 0-100 time is bad due to wheelspin? You did mention the timing is worse if you floor it. Maybe you can turn off the VSA function too, if you have it.

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
wheel spin??:hmmmm: it is impossible for cvt gearbox 2 wheel spin dude...
i think i better off dyno ur ride to chk fueling...the 1.5 vtec engine has compression of 10.5/1 if not mistaken..not tuned rite and there goes ur hard earned money and lots of hard metal pieces coming out of ur engine bay...not to mention lots of oils too:smokin:

i personally think the timing is bcoz of the cvt...as u know,when u put to N and then u floor the throttle n put it to D mode...the cvt gear box kinda slip for a long time...btw...did u use the 7 speed mode?

plz do care to share the cost and some pictures will be great...i'm driving a 1.5 vtec city also

clanbuster

Jul 2, 2009
i check back with my AEM tunner. he said I can add injector.
he said will improve Hp and torque but may not improve 0-100 km/h le

he told me, "CVT how fast u want?"

so does anyone drive 1500CC car with CVT but can go faster then 10sec or less?
Is it CVT slow me down?

make sure you change your injector and retard your timing...

Bump: make sure you change your injector and retard your timing...
hi, my workshop told me my car don't need add fuel p/p and regualor, he told me add 1 more injector is good enough, CVT cannot go faster. i don't know is it true,but abit sian when i
heard this. spend so much give same pick up speed. :banghead:

yea.. change the injector.. same happen like my fren bot 4g92p 1.6... using standard injector tat time.. no feels at all at 0.4bar....

after installing 390cc injector n safc lil bit setting... 0.4bar alredi feels the turbo function... he also using auto gearbox..hehe

Did he try to clock how fast for 0-100 km/h?

because i feel i had alot faster and alot more HP.
but when i bought this device to check, then i found that is same as stock. only HP and Torque improve.
Used stop watch to counter check, my device is correct answer.

OH No, am i spend $$ for back to Square one. :sleep:

could it be , i didn't mod my exhaust pipe. didn't remove cat? etc

U got go for dyno/tuning or not?

or maybe ur turbo lag. like an evo also lose to stock 1.6 sedan in TopGear last time..

if stock engine parts.. i think boost 0.5-0.6 still ok la.. should be.. not sure though.

or maybe also ur engine thirsty of fuel. must check AFR.

best is just go for tuning/dyno checking.. chg injectors also might solve it..
but remember to use Fuel regulator so that can tuning further.

yes, AEM piggyback tunned.

my turbo lag? my turbo cut in 1900 RPM, can lower to 800 RPM cut in? unless i got supercharge,
then look like GOLF TSI, twin charge. WOW.... good le.

i also think 0.5 is it good. but my tunner warn me "NO"
AFR was tunned. forget to ask them, but is 1 year ago, they should forgotten, but should be 12:1

kenzo

u start boosting at 1.9k rpm with td04? wow

wats the mode u have? who tune for u? any data logging can show us?

firstly, do an exhaust setup, original piping is not sufficient bro

secondly, plz either change ur injectors, or fuel pump and adjustable fuel pressure regulator

any boost leak? how many inch rims ur using? tyres? additional weight? woofers?

if flooring more worse means its either ur gearbox slip or too lean...

Bump: u start boosting at 1.9k rpm with td04? wow

wats the mode u have? who tune for u? any data logging can show us?

firstly, do an exhaust setup, original piping is not sufficient bro

secondly, plz either change ur injectors, or fuel pump and adjustable fuel pressure regulator

any boost leak? how many inch rims ur using? tyres? additional weight? woofers?

if flooring more worse means its either ur gearbox slip or too lean...

vteckiller

Supporting Merchants
want car less than 10sec 0-100kmh buy nissan navara diesel hahahah:)

seems that its really hard to find new panel for eg4,so i want to wrap my panel with some sort of leather or fabric.but where can I find a shop that can do this kind of wrapping?

i know there's a diy topic bout this,but i need a shop,cause its easier