windscreen

silverwave

Nov 25, 2005
i heard there is such thing as single layer and double layer for car glasses. May i know the difference? I've been told by a windscreen specialist that mine is single layer, but my friends say even kancil has double layer. mine is satria 97. What do u guys think?

mag9556

Jul 11, 2006
hei..
single layer, once brake bye bye...
tempered glass wise, not well easy to brake..
better check by with the windscreen expert...
good luck..

silverwave

Nov 25, 2005
i think that windscreen specialist wanted me to change the glass. so may be thats y he said it is single layer.

zan

Feb 20, 2005
long time ago, windscreen glass are just manufactured just as a piece of glass.
when accidents occur, they will break into pieces big and small. the bigger piece is extremely dangerous - imagine if they poke into the driver's eyes...

so, manufacturers improved it by creating tempered glass. tempered glass will break into thousand of small pieces to reduce injury in case of broken.

and then, as technology improved there is now so called laminated glass, also known as double layer as it is self explanatory. becoz of its design, it will hold to its shape even when beaten to shatters.

the downside is, such windscreen has its own weak zone and this kind of windscreen can crack easier than laminated glass but it is still safe to drive around. the crack can grow as we drive on uneven surface (for example) and that is a normal characteristic of it.

mag9556

Jul 11, 2006
hei silverware,
it is not important that u are having tempered or not tempered glass...
the most important is the insurance u that u buy is covered with windscreen or not...
i have brake 2 windscreen on my 2 car this year... think abt it... dun save a bit later regrat...
good luck...

AccordRacing

Feb 2, 2005
kepong
www.zhapalang.com.my
zan said:
when accidents occur, they will break into pieces big and small. the bigger piece is extremely dangerous - imagine if they poke into the driver's eyes...

so, manufacturers improved it by creating tempered glass. tempered glass will break into thousand of small pieces to reduce injury in case of broken.

and then, as technology improved there is now so called laminated glass, also known as double layer as it is self explanatory. becoz of its design, it will hold to its shape even when beaten to shatters.

the downside is, such windscreen has its own weak zone and this kind of windscreen can crack easier than laminated glass but it is still safe to drive around. the crack can grow as we drive on uneven surface (for example) and that is a normal characteristic of it.
good explanation dude:_:

silverwave

Nov 25, 2005
zan said:

thanks for ur explanation. helps a lot. any way u should suggest to check whether it is single or double layer. curious. :_:

silverwave

Nov 25, 2005
mag9556 said:
hei silverware,
it is not important that u are having tempered or not tempered glass...
the most important is the insurance u that u buy is covered with windscreen or not...
i have brake 2 windscreen on my 2 car this year... think abt it... dun save a bit later regrat...
good luck...
it's covered.

silverwave

Nov 25, 2005
putra4767 said:
tinting the front windscreen also helps prevent glass when shattered to stick together to a certain extent
i've tinted it before

zan

Feb 20, 2005
silverwave said:
thanks for ur explanation. helps a lot. any way u should suggest to check whether it is single or double layer. curious. :_:
look at manufaturer's stamp at the windscreen, normally at bottom left corner. other than their logo and company number, they will state the type of windscreen.

if it states laminated = double layer

if it states tempered = breaks into thousands of small pieces

if its does not state anything - it will break into different sizes. normally fitted in commercial vehicles.

zan

Feb 20, 2005
silverwave said:
i heard there is such thing as single layer and double layer for car glasses. May i know the difference? I've been told by a windscreen specialist that mine is single layer, but my friends say even kancil has double layer. mine is satria 97. What do u guys think?
didnt notice ur early queries

. early batch wiras of 93 are using tempered windscreen. start 94 they all changed to laminated type.

all sagas are using tempered glass. first batch iswara from 92-94 also using tempered glass. beginning 94 onwards all iswara changed to using laminated glass.

all 1st three kancil (K1, K2, K3) models were using tempered glass. beginning with the last model (K4) in 2002 they are changed to laminated type.

silverwave

Nov 25, 2005
zan said:
didnt notice ur early queries

. early batch wiras of 93 are using tempered windscreen. start 94 they all changed to laminated type.

all sagas are using tempered glass. first batch iswara from 92-94 also using tempered glass. beginning 94 onwards all iswara changed to using laminated glass.

all 1st three kancil (K1, K2, K3) models were using tempered glass. beginning with the last model (K4) in 2002 they are changed to laminated type.

like that most probably mine is laminated glass. must check the glass later

Greetings,

Just need to confirm with you guys, is it possible that Satria 1.6 using the small spare tyre (like Honda) rather than the normal spare tyre?
Thanks.