Fiat Coupe

Water pump, thermostat, and most importantly fan shroud/insulation for the fan+radiator combo.

My boat used to overheat because I threw away the foam between the radiator and the exhaust.

es86

Feb 17, 2015
Higuys, wow, v useful tips, tqsomuch! i m goin2hav achat w my mechanic, 1st thg 2moromonin! Yup, beliv ritenow d problem has narow dn2dis few items..
vr2turbo, ya wil ask mechanic2chek d pump2moro, dats wat i m suspectin2.. if it dosnotflow, heat buildsup, makes perfecsens!
Scoupe, ijus monitor d temp fr d dashboard, d ori thermometer. Wat do umean if d thermostat is openin fuly? M not familiar w dis item.. D electrician alr set bothfans2mov nonstop s long s power is on. Wen it boils, yup water is cominout fr d sparetankcap, n perhaps due2constan overheatin, now d cap is damag2, d springvalv device is broken, now itsjus a normalcap w a hole.. bout temp, dis2days is worse, goesup110 n boil, while movin fas! Mygod.. i got2add in a galon of water if i wish2drivit again..
Iseo, hey dats a gdpoin myfren! Perhaps isud conside addin somkinda insulation btween d radiator n d exhaus.. greatidea indeed..
Orite, letmejus tryout2moro haha, thksagain pals!
O bydway, anyidea wer2find chopshops dat sels fiatcoupe parts? Need2find som replacemens, tqvm n brighday

Higuys, wow, v useful tips, tqsomuch! i m goin2hav achat w my mechanic, 1st thg 2moromonin! Yup, beliv ritenow d problem has narow dn2dis few items..
vr2turbo, ya wil ask mechanic2chek d pump2moro, dats wat i m suspectin2.. if it dosnotflow, heat buildsup, makes perfecsens!
Scoupe, ijus monitor d temp fr d dashboard, d ori thermometer. Wat do umean if d thermostat is openin fuly? M not familiar w dis item.. D electrician alr set bothfans2mov nonstop s long s power is on. Wen it boils, yup water is cominout fr d sparetankcap, n perhaps due2constan overheatin, now d cap is damag2, d springvalv device is broken, now itsjus a normalcap w a hole.. bout temp, dis2days is worse, goesup110 n boil, while movin fas! Mygod.. i got2add in a galon of water if i wish2drivit again..
Iseo, hey dats a gdpoin myfren! Perhaps isud conside addin somkinda insulation btween d radiator n d exhaus.. greatidea indeed..
O bydway, anyidea wer2find chopshops dat sels fiatcoupe parts? Need2find som replacemens, tqvm n brighday
Thermostat controls the flow of water also. When cold the water flows slowly through a bypass only. At the water heats up the thermostat starts to open to allow faster flow. What bro. scoupe meant was whether the thermostat is opened fully when heated up. If not, it is holding up the flow that is why the water boils.....

holy crap I had a brain aneurysm trying to read that...

es86

Feb 17, 2015
Thermostat controls the flow of water also. When cold the water flows slowly through a bypass only. At the water heats up the thermostat starts to open to allow faster flow. What bro. scoupe meant was whether the thermostat is opened fully when heated up. If not, it is holding up the flow that is why the water boils.....
Icic.. thksalot bro, dismonin ispen somtime w mymechamic, plus ur explanation, ihad a beter ustdin bout d thermostat now, wehad oso discover dat dflow isnot ok, tophos ishot n botomhos iscold, means notflowin..
Dat narows dn d reason2 2items, thermostat, o dpump, n d thermostat malfunction probability is higher, so we decided2handle it 1st..
ok, d climat here is sowarm, wat do usay if i getrid of d thermostat? Cos d mechanic says he dosdat alot, ijus wana makesure its orite..
Ps, haha sory bro izso..

Icic.. thksalot bro, dismonin ispen somtime w mymechamic, plus ur explanation, ihad a beter ustdin bout d thermostat now, wehad oso discover dat dflow isnot ok, tophos ishot n botomhos iscold, means notflowin..
Dat narows dn d reason2 2items, thermostat, o dpump, n d thermostat malfunction probability is higher, so we decided2handle it 1st..
ok, d climat here is sowarm, wat do usay if i getrid of d thermostat? Cos d mechanic says he dosdat alot, ijus wana makesure its orite..
Ps, haha sory bro izso..
no need for apologies. I find it fascinating the way you spelt everything and when I read it out loud everything makes sense.. HAHAHA

lsm1991

Sep 30, 2011
oh god..... my eyes.

if you suspect its the thermostat, yes you can just take it out for now.
suggest you put it back in after you confirm thats the issue. You want it there to allow the car to warmup properly

parakey

Apr 30, 2012
IF the thermostat is faulty, it's better you just replace it. The thermostat is for helping the engine get to optimal working temperature faster. For testing purpose, you may instruct the mechanic to temporarily remove it. See if that helps

Agree with bros., change the unit. Thermostat is important to keep the engine running at optimum temperature.....

es86

Feb 17, 2015
Monin every1
Bro izso, thks n glad dat ucud read my scrip, somof myfrens claim its fr outerspace..
Bro ism1991, tq2, umade myday starts w a smile.. oknoted, wilgo takitout now, but seriosly, isit realy necesary2warmup dcar? Imean in diskinda climate? Itot warminout isjus4coldweather places..
Bro parakey, ya dat makesens oso.. like usaid perhaps its needed2get d engin2reach proper operatin temp.. mmm.. indatcase perhaps isud putin anew1, but wehad ahardtime findin parts, any sugestions pls?
Bro vr2turbo, u thkso2? Okok.. infac iwas wonderin, wats realy d nomal temp? Aroun70? 90?
Bydway, hav uguys anyidea wer can i get fiatcoupe parts? Been askin aroun4quitesomtime..
Thksalot n lovlyday

Monin every1
Bro izso, thks n glad dat ucud read my scrip, somof myfrens claim its fr outerspace..
Bro ism1991, tq2, umade myday starts w a smile.. oknoted, wilgo takitout now, but seriosly, isit realy necesary2warmup dcar? Imean in diskinda climate? Itot warminout isjus4coldweather places..
Bro parakey, ya dat makesens oso.. like usaid perhaps its needed2get d engin2reach proper operatin temp.. mmm.. indatcase perhaps isud putin anew1, but wehad ahardtime findin parts, any sugestions pls?
Bro vr2turbo, u thkso2? Okok.. infac iwas wonderin, wats realy d nomal temp? Aroun70? 90?
Bydway, hav uguys anyidea wer can i get fiatcoupe parts? Been askin aroun4quitesomtime..
Thksalot n lovlyday
Yup, around 90 t0 100 Celsius. I tried before in my previous old car. My water temp meter is just the needle type and it always points to the middle. Once the thermostat is out it runs at 1/4 only. Cold rainy day or morning even lower.....lol

parakey

Apr 30, 2012
but seriosly, isit realy necesary2warmup dcar?
Yes, it's necessary. The engine is designed to run at a certain optimal temperature. As you may already know, most engine damage/wear occurs when the engine hasn't reached optimal temperature.

During testing, please have your mechanic remove and inspect it. I strongly suspect it's more of a degraded water pump issue. By the way, when was the last time this pump was replaced?

Yes, it's necessary. The engine is designed to run at a certain optimal temperature. As you may already know, most engine damage/wear occurs when the engine hasn't reached optimal temperature.

During testing, please have your mechanic remove and inspect it. I strongly suspect it's more of a degraded water pump issue. By the way, when was the last time this pump was replaced?
When thermostat is removed and can see the water flow strong, then pump ok. If slow, means pump gone also......lol

scoupe

Mar 19, 2005
shah alam
i am not a fiat guy, so no idea where to source parts.. have you tried looking at shops in Jln Ipoh?

lsm1991

Sep 30, 2011
mah eyes!!!

come on man....
when i was looking at fiat coupes back then, i got most of my info from the owner groups. Partswise, was told some of them kept spare units (i assume spare sg cars) to raid for bits. I think its best you go look for those guys.... tip, don't type in this manner, the chances of getting completely ignored is 99.7%

Well it’s actually a marketing gimmick but do you really need an excuse to watch a video of Vaughn Gittin Jr. letting his inner hoon out by drifting a Ford Mustang around a Carl’s Jr. parking lot after getting his daily dose of turkey burgers and Monster energy drinks.

We must admit that even we have to constantly fight the urge to let loose our inner hoon in an empty parking lot but we’re pretty sure that...