B16b stroke to 1.8 build

mysayasan

Jul 25, 2009
If you have lay/skim/resurface/mill your head or deck you block, acceptable clearance must be achieve. Check P2V for safety purpose, and check your v2v if you are using high performance aftermarket cam. Adjustable cam gear is needed :)

deathzone

Jul 9, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
Well this is my second setup.... but let's talk my 1st setup 1st

well my 1st setup is b16a head + b16b cam + b18cr IM + b18cr block(skimmed)+ b16b piston + b20b rod + b20b crank with ACL bearing + O.S Giken single + b18cr96 header+vfc. at the end of 3 years plus... my ACL bearing worn out because b20b no balancing and my top liner worn out also because my block skimmed the compression too high(engine knocking). so white smoke when vtec engage. so on august 2011 Engine R.I.P

Now second rebuild done on october 2011
B16b block + b16b head + b16b cam + b18cr im + b16b piston + b18cr crank and rod + Exedy 3 puck clutch and Spoon flywheel + b18cr98 spec header+ ECU rechipped +vfc.

Compare good/bad1st setup vs 2nd setup.
================================
1) Now since b16b block and b18cr same height you can find wikipedia. haha now pay RM90 for 1.6 roadtax but 1.8 engine. unless u punching number
2) Engine run more smoother than 1st setup. never use b20b crank without weight balancing other wise even u got ACL bearing also worn out. keep Stock Type R is good enough already
3) Since 1st setup use O.S giken. Of cause is nice grip and sound Gling Gling. but my pressure plate got crack... so turn to spoon flywheel and 3 puck exedy. I dunno why my 1st setup O.s giken so stiffer than current exedy and horspower below 250bhp type r or exedy is enough. but O.s giken flywheel is lighter about 4.0kg and spoon 4.2kg, toda 4.1kg. But to me not much difference but just miss O.s giken clutch sound.
4) both 1st setup and 2nd setup feel a lot of torque. even my friend feel it too. But 1st setup engine knocking make liner worn out make white smoke and consume more engine oil (always need topup engine oil). Some more losing power and compression. my second build is safe and no knocking as long as ur short block or head no skimmed .
5) 2nd setup got ecu rechipped haha now the car is easy to drive than before(my VFC just to set vtec engage point 6k rpm). because when u use CTR piston, compression high then your idle like up and down. when low rpm is hard to drive. Rechipped is the best once your car all is complete.hehe ask ur mech rechipped and make power bhp@9500rpm. My 2nd setup is 9500 rpm. mine 9500rpm (without titanium retainer) vs 8000rpm. feel the difference. Me thinking if got budget to make 11000rpm. but expensive when I ask my mech.
6) since my engine is rpm 9500. 96spec 4-2-1 header hard to reach. even when it reach it sound like hell. when using 98spec 4-1. easily reach 9500 rpm and sound nice too.

My opinion is what ever you mod if stay in Type R parts will be more safe and durable. Unless you want heavily more to make your car quicker and more than 200>hp than choose wisely component and a good mech. Why Good mech? For Example some mech intro u to upgrade h22a injector or type r distributor or larger TB or skunk2 pro 3 Cam. That all upgrade won't make your car go faster. unless ur engine overbore 81mm to 84mm, engine already increase displacement then h22a, larger TB, skunk2 pro 3 Cam, mugen/spoon header works here. otherwise waste money. oh yeah don't upgrade type r distributor unless u need to. b16a/b16b/b18cr distributor same power output. just different obd1 and obd2 harness cable.

Hope I answered many question from you. Thank You
Good info bro, btw my spec is 90% similar to ur 2nd build only the diff im using type r clucth with toda flywheel. Now driving for 6months without any problem. Btw i would like to share this video of my car below.....video took after 2nd oil change after overhaul.

p/s The driver is my mec and the other guy is my friend.

EK4 Sedan B16B 9K+ rpm on road tuning! - YouTube

---------- Post added at 10:04 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:02 AM ----------

Btw my car is using lousy tire while recording thats y u can see no traction, now using advan neova tyre.

9tailsfox

Sep 28, 2010
hello, nice video. :driver: by the way what is your gearbox? mine is b16a with lsd 4.4 FD. Oh yeah you are using AD08? So just use safc neo no rechipped? got dyno how much you get?

haha if you can tapao evo or stock b18cr. what is ur engine? haha reply him 1.6 only.

deathzone

Jul 9, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
hello, nice video. :driver: by the way what is your gearbox? mine is b16a with lsd 4.4 FD. Oh yeah you are using AD08? So just use safc neo no rechipped? got dyno how much you get?

haha if you can tapao evo or stock b18cr. what is ur engine? haha reply him 1.6 only.
My car using ek9 4.4fd S4C gearbox, In this video the car is using lousy falken tyre but now using old neova ad07. Ecu is spoon obd2 and afc neo for fine tune. Never dyno my car before.

So far havent tested with any car officially, if can tapao stock dc2 b18cr im already satisfied hahaha.

9tailsfox

Sep 28, 2010
Ad07? well lasttime i was using this tyre aand it grip also. but raining suck la. Now i use potenza re001. just ok for dry and wet. agree most our part setting almost same. but my car is eg9. I saw the driver is ur mech chinese? haha when got come to KL? we marking haha:driver:

deathzone

Jul 9, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
Ad07? well lasttime i was using this tyre aand it grip also. but raining suck la. Now i use potenza re001. just ok for dry and wet. agree most our part setting almost same. but my car is eg9. I saw the driver is ur mech chinese? haha when got come to KL? we marking haha:driver:
My mec is chinese but the guy with camera is a malay customer also a friend. So far i never race this car before only sometimes siok sendiri. Very seldom drive it too...bcos i spent most of my time working outstation.

9tailsfox

Sep 28, 2010
Ic, then your car must be very clean. Well my ori eg9 is my daily ride. I can say I drive almost everyday. Hate jam only otherwise night time got some arrival entertain them la(sometimes only). this setup is already good. unless u want more power can use BC stroker kit. 1.6> 1.8> 2.2. Can make 230 -240 whp. Last time thinking wanna make that power but is all matter of money. haha Well now everything is stock setup and durable.:driver:

deathzone

Jul 9, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
Ic, then your car must be very clean. Well my ori eg9 is my daily ride. I can say I drive almost everyday. Hate jam only otherwise night time got some arrival entertain them la(sometimes only). this setup is already good. unless u want more power can use BC stroker kit. 1.6> 1.8> 2.2. Can make 230 -240 whp. Last time thinking wanna make that power but is all matter of money. haha Well now everything is stock setup and durable.:driver:

My car still can drive in jam cos only using type r clutch set but the toda light flywheel make my car torqless when drive in low rpm compare to type r flywheel. This comming week im gonna bring my car for cam setting and retune, hope can gain few whp :P

How i wish i got enough money so that can sleeve my b16b block to 85mm and use back my b18cr stroker. 2liter engine with a 1.6liter block hahaha can cheat many ppl.

9tailsfox

Sep 28, 2010
I get your point. haha if tapao 2.0 car, if they ask what is the engine in your car? Just 1.6 only haha. well that is the best performance and the cheapest roadtax on the road b16b+b18cr stroker= b16CR Rm90:biggrin:(lasttime b18cr pay rm300). Unless you are driving rx7 1.3 rm 70.00 But fuel like a more than a fair lady consumption. So vtec is the best. Well is been quite sometimes that I drive, and feel like no rasa when vtec engage. Maybe already get use to it. If can make it 2.0 or >230Hp. I guess will feel the pull when vtec engage. That's why some people after tire the stock setup then abit hardcore aftermarket setup to get more HP. So the Mech is very important...and he must know exact what he do and making the engine durable. So what ever you put in as long as it is safe. Not sure don't put in. You can go to forum like honda-tech.com and ask what ever mod you want. Those mat salleh will answer you and give you advice and save money.

deathzone

Jul 9, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
b16b rojak with b18cr should produce a little more hp and power more then stock b18cr. I think honda oem engine parts is reliable and good enough for street driving. The only thing im not satisfied is my low end torque, maybe my car is heavy and im using light flywheel. Any tips how to solve this problem without changing to 2liter?

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
i tot lightened flywheel improves pickup and acceleration?..how come urs different?..

cad843

Mar 23, 2005
Oita Ken
b16b rojak with b18cr should produce a little more hp and power more then stock b18cr. I think honda oem engine parts is reliable and good enough for street driving. The only thing im not satisfied is my low end torque, maybe my car is heavy and im using light flywheel. Any tips how to solve this problem without changing to 2liter?

I have solutions for u ... I'm using Toda flywheel oso n last time facing the same prob with u ... PM me for details ... there's secret recipe n can make ur car spin at 2nd or 3rd gear ... heheheheh

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD
I'd like to know too. Share here la Cad. If can't share here, please PM me too. Thanks.

Guys,
Anyone knows where to buy check valve? also known as 1 way valve?? for air..
Also, where can i get copper piping?? around 10mm diameter