Engine swap for bmw e36?

arielhow

Aug 29, 2009
Hi all,

I can't help but wonder if I should really consider doing a swap for my 318 e36. You guys prolly would already know it is underpowered. It only gives decent amount of power only if 1 or 2 ppl are in the car. Any amount of ppl more than that...well, let's just say it is not ideal and offers only bad FC at the end of the day. So here're the two questions of the day for you masters of the road out there: Is it wise to swap it to a bigger bimmer engine like a 2.5 or 2.8? How much would the WHOLE process be?

Thanks! :biggrin:

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
a conversion to 2.5 auto would cost you min 8k-10k,included halfcut,labour,parts & oils.

gwumpkus

Jan 4, 2010
Singapore
u may as well do the 2.8ltr... marginal difference..:)..
that said, the 318i is ok a runner i feel... i get about 10km/ltr from both of mine... considering the 2.8ltr transplant for one of them.. but that project is put on hold, the Supra gets my attention for now..:)..

is your 318i the M40? or M42?

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
u may as well do the 2.8ltr... marginal difference..:)..
that said, the 318i is ok a runner i feel... i get about 10km/ltr from both of mine... considering the 2.8ltr transplant for one of them.. but that project is put on hold, the Supra gets my attention for now..:)..

is your 318i the M40? or M42?

you mean M40 & M43?M42 is twin cam,similar output with M50B20 2.0

arielhow

Aug 29, 2009
It's a m43 engine. Hrmm, 8k-10k ey...some friends suggested superchargers, would that be advicable? and i think it's pretty hard to find a 2.5 auto engine these days,no?

arielhow

Aug 29, 2009
I did, but sadly the engine you showed me was not available anymore so i stopped hunting for awhile. Now i'm kinda itching =P so minimum 10k to do a conversion? and no to supercharger?

arielhow

Aug 29, 2009
SWEET!

I think it'd still be ideal to just swap to a m42, considering that i don't need to change much of the car cept the wiring? correct me if i'm wrong but swapping to a 2.5 or 2.8 requires me to change the wheel mount as well or something like that due to the weight of the engine etc?

Sonic Thunder

Jun 23, 2008
bro...swap in da F20C from da S200 sr8 man!
ive seen a E36 on option video b4!
V-TEC POWER!:burnout:
jst my opinion!
g'luck wit ur conversion!
cheers!

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
wat abt RB25/26?..sounds good with lotsa hp?..

gwumpkus

Jan 4, 2010
Singapore
my friend's just done the M42 swap into his 318i, seems to be straightforward job... :) so far the only s/c ones i know are some chaps in the US, who've used the DASC into the m44's..both for Z3s and 318iS..

wheel mounts? er.. u mean the hubs etc? never thought they were an issue..correct me if i'm wrong, but the chassis is pretty much designed to take all the engines, of course mountings might differ, but mounting positions are afaik same.

seems manual versions are diff to find..so if u do find a 325/328i that u want, u could do the transplant, ensure everything is runnig stable, before u swap out the autobox.. also a straightforward job..depends on what engine u get, i might have a spare getrag 5-spd lying around from our "spares"..:)..

good luck bro..:)

SWEET!

I think it'd still be ideal to just swap to a m42, considering that i don't need to change much of the car cept the wiring? correct me if i'm wrong but swapping to a 2.5 or 2.8 requires me to change the wheel mount as well or something like that due to the weight of the engine etc?

arielhow

Aug 29, 2009
Thanks for all the suggestions bros :) I'm kinda determined to just swap it to a bimmer engine, ideally a 2.5/2.8 auto. Any reliable cut-shops that any of you may know of or reccomend?

@gwumpkus, how did your friend find the difference after the swap? was it worth it and how much did it cost him overall?

gwumpkus

Jan 4, 2010
Singapore
so far the car has more low end power, pulls a little better than the old M40 SOHC block... he;s kinda preparing it for FI applications..cos the M42 block is stronger than the M40 block definitely.. not sure how much he spent in all.. but i suspect in SG here, it'll prob cost more than in MY.. but i understand the engine came from MY i believe.. whether its worth the trouble/money, that seems to be an individual thing..:)..he's happy to spend some dosh on this, as he treats it like his project car..:).. i'm trying to get a gearbox for him at the moment, for manual tranny swap..:)..

@gwumpkus, how did your friend find the difference after the swap? was it worth it and how much did it cost him overall?

arielhow

Aug 29, 2009
oh i see. Seems like your friend has no regret after the swap, perhaps it's a good idea afterall, especially if you're swapping it to a manual tranny :) Thanks for all the infos gwumpkus! :D

Bros, is there any cut-shop that any of you would reccomend to go to to get a decent-priced-good-condition M50 engine? I'll be running on auto tranny for now...Any reccomendation will be greatly appreciated, thanks! :)

zack_evo

Jan 13, 2010
kedah
hi all...
i want to know if there any powerful japan engines can fit in bmw e36 318i body?? many foreman are recommended a 1jz..but a friend told me..using 1jz eng cannot blah...because the e36 body was heavy...is it true...how the f/c? diff with vvti n non vvti? how about 2jz? can endorse?
i hope any sifu² here can help me..

cheeft

Mar 29, 2005
you can opt for 1jz or 2jz... rb20 or rb25... but since your car is 318, i dont think you can endorse it... maybe rb20 or sr20 is the way to go... i sat in a e36 with 1jz and i can tell you the car is flying!!!

zack_evo

Jan 13, 2010
kedah
you can opt for 1jz or 2jz... rb20 or rb25... but since your car is 318, i dont think you can endorse it... maybe rb20 or sr20 is the way to go... i sat in a e36 with 1jz and i can tell you the car is flying!!!

aiseh...connot endorse meh? but...i love 1jz sound...stim...he..he..he...tq for info...

jo-e34

Apr 18, 2005
seremban
well....its not going to be feather weigh....but the car is certainly going to feel lighter after transplanting.......:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 05:57 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:56 PM ----------

never try never know.......just do it.......:biggrin:

aiseh...connot endorse meh? but...i love 1jz sound...stim...he..he..he...tq for info...

microeurocar

Dec 22, 2008
For e36 318i...the more suitable engine to swap will be the m52 328i.
Get the halfcut and dump it into your car.....and install a decent turbocharger kit....forget about supercharging...
I've seen 1 before and it kicked a ss....

jo-e34

Apr 18, 2005
seremban
force induction on N/A internals......is like a timebomb.......regardless of how light the boost is.....=)

For e36 318i...the more suitable engine to swap will be the m52 328i.
Get the halfcut and dump it into your car.....and install a decent turbocharger kit....forget about supercharging...
I've seen 1 before and it kicked a ss....

YellowFlash

Sep 28, 2009
Jb
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=571rUe8GVOw

drift king driving a e36 400hp 1JZ GTE

my frenz eg3 kena stolen at sri petaling yesterday morning.. pink color with 16" white color sport rim and with twin tail pipe behind bearing number plate JEJ 9066.. any1 spotted plz call 016-916 7769 thankx