Turbo as a mechanical sensor

bebolagalas T

Jul 18, 2007
Did you know turbocharger works as a mechanical sensor for the engine... how??
which mean when it damage,it can tell us what actually happen inside (by turbo post postmortem) the engine or what made the turbo failure...:confused:

for example...:nurse:

"The bearings are usually destroyed by either oil contamination, oil starvation or oil coking...Heavy grooving or pitting of the bearing surface usually indicates dirty oil, possibly due to inadequate oil filtration. Check for a plugged oil filter. Once an oil filter becomes clogged and it's bypass valve opens, unfiltered oil flows to the turbo and the rest of the engine.

"The condition of the compressor and turbine wheels... Cracks can be the result of metal fatigue, but nicked bent or damaged blades (turbine wheel or comp wheel) can only be caused by foreign objects. If the compressor blades are badly eroded, unfiltered air has been entering the intake system. Check for a missing, torn or poor fitting air filter...

:smokin:

Moral of the story :listen: - Don't F**k Turbo Repairer or Don't blame turbo..check the engine 1st..then later baru F**k them if necessary but remember we r Malaysian-- dont f**k2 --No good :bawling:
*proud to be Malaysian :biggrin:

cheers..:marchmellow:

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
add 1 more thing. run high boost but no blow-off valve. then screw the turbo seller because after 1 week turbo condemned. hehe

SDF

missing her so much
Nov 19, 2003
firdaus... well said.. no wonder ur nick called "bebola ganas" :biggrin:

bebolagalas T

Jul 18, 2007
add 1 more thing. run high boost but no blow-off valve. then screw the turbo seller because after 1 week turbo condemned. hehe
muahaha...:nurse:

BOV r turbo xcessory...sometime it become necessary sometime it don't necessary..so it depend on the engine setup..
...poor selecting turbo for the engine,compressor surge can occur and damaging the turbo compressor wheel..:listen:that y some turbo used anti surge aka ported shroud compressor housing..

choose the rite turbo my fren :slug:..when ur turbocharger problem.. can send to me.. i'll check for u for free..:biggrin:

:driver:

bebolagalas T

Jul 18, 2007
firdaus... well said.. no wonder ur nick called "bebola ganas" :biggrin:
haha...no la..:love: im a lover ma.. not a fighter..

u la 'ganas'..HAHA..:viking:

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
my car also didnt use any bov. turbo didnt blow but the engine blew due to famous RB oiling problem hehehe. i was only quoting a famous turbo specialist complaining that some of his customers experienced turbo failures due to lack of BOV

bebolagalas T

Jul 18, 2007
my car also didnt use any bov. turbo didnt blow but the engine blew due to famous RB oiling problem hehehe. i was only quoting a famous turbo specialist complaining that some of his customers experienced turbo failures due to lack of BOV
bro..for me personally(my opinion)..turbo is the main factor..there a lot of compressor wheel with various characteristic..lack of selecting the rite comp wheel resulting improper match to the engine characteristic..

example::smokin:
Using High Pressure Ratio (Big Comp) but Engine cant support the turbo makes the turbo running in surge (flow instability) area...continue operating the turbo lead to premature turbo failure due to heavy thrust loading...

wat im try to say is..Bov can be the issue-if we used wrong turbo..

y some DRAGSTAR dont use BOV on their machine?? :questionmark:
:stupido2:

*ps: something to share n discuss here - dont mean to be GURU OR CHAMPION :rolleyes: :biggrin:

jinkl

May 22, 2004
i want to add a question, y does all turbo cars come with a plumb back valve :P

turbojin76

Mar 29, 2008
most important how v maintain our car...change lubrication oil, oil filter,clean or replace dirty air filter ( For K&N filter just nid to wash monthly )....all must genuine!

bebolagalas T

Jul 18, 2007
i want to add a question, y does all turbo cars come with a plumb back valve :P
hoho..
bro r u asking about BOV plumb back??

bebolagalas T

Jul 18, 2007
This car 1000+ hp no BOV...never blew the turbo...see this
nice xample...where BOV r not necessary :) other example -Diesel turbo engine..hehehe

bebolagalas T

Jul 18, 2007
most important how v maintain our car...change lubrication oil, oil filter,clean or replace dirty air filter ( For K&N filter just nid to wash monthly )....all must genuine!
rite jin76..hehe..take care ur engine...u will get a long lasting turbo... easy:wavey:

Following two global recalls on certain Toyota and Lexus models, UMW Toyota Motor Sdn Bhd (UMWT), the authorised importer and distributor of Toyota and Lexus models in Malaysia will carry out Sepcial Service Campaign (SSC).

The First recall: To fix the possible crack in welded areas for curtain shield airbag inflators. If the inflator separates, it could cause an injury to the present...