Come n talk about ur SE ride here....

hachiroku clan

Oct 16, 2008
IMHO, all half-cut absorbers are hydraulic ones. I'm not sure, though. Because my absorbers are hydraulic, taken from a half-cut.

If its hidraulic, then its good.. I regret using gas, didnt last long, not even for a year.. How much was your abs per set of 4?

redsider

Aug 19, 2010
Malacca
If its hidraulic, then its good.. I regret using gas, didnt last long, not even for a year.. How much was your abs per set of 4?
My front absorbers are stock absorbers from AE101 model, came together with Silvertop engine that I purchased early this year. My rear absorbers are original AE92 model, came together with rear disc brakes. I'm not sure about the price.

If you're looking for a good absorbers, I'd suggest you Kayaba New SR. I think they're hydraulic. If you want a better set, a TRD full adjustable absorbers (hi/lo, soft/hard) would be the best choice. You might want to take GAB full adjustable absorbers into your consideration too, as I get good comments from various GAB users. Of course full adjustable absorbers would cost you more, but it's a good investment. I'm planning on changing all my absorbers to TRD, but my pocket says no :rolleyes:

Adeen

Apr 28, 2006
GAB adjustables would cost you around rm1.7k for whole set if i'm not mistaken...
if u take the normal 6kg front and 4kg rear would be ok for day to day drive IMHO...mine are 8kg front and 5kg rear...still bearable..
but different ppl have different taste/opinion...
i've been using them nearly a year...no problems whatsoever for me...
dunno about other users...
wish u happy hunting for new shocks though... :D

i've got some mudah.my links for u to click on to benchmark on the price of absorbers mentioned...
Absorber sport gab baru ae101 ae111 - Car Accessories & Parts for sale Selangor - Mudah.my
Absorber for AE92, AE100, AE101 - Car Accessories & Parts for sale Malacca - Mudah.my
Absorber kayaba NEW SR special ae 100 101 111 - Car Accessories & Parts for sale Kuala Lumpur - Mudah.my
Toyota AE92 front absorber - Car Accessories & Parts for sale Selangor - Mudah.my
Toyota JDM AE111 Big Shaft Front Absorber - Car Accessories & Parts for sale Kuala Lumpur - Mudah.my

nnik

Sep 20, 2005
Lembah Klang
GAB adjustables would cost you around rm1.7k for whole set if i'm not mistaken...
if u take the normal 6kg front and 4kg rear would be ok for day to day drive IMHO...mine are 8kg front and 5kg rear...still bearable..
but different ppl have different taste/opinion...
i've been using them nearly a year...no problems whatsoever for me...
dunno about other users...
wish u happy hunting for new shocks though... :D

i've got some mudah.my links for u to click on to benchmark on the price of absorbers mentioned...
Absorber sport gab baru ae101 ae111 - Car Accessories & Parts for sale Selangor - Mudah.my
Absorber for AE92, AE100, AE101 - Car Accessories & Parts for sale Malacca - Mudah.my
Absorber kayaba NEW SR special ae 100 101 111 - Car Accessories & Parts for sale Kuala Lumpur - Mudah.my
Toyota AE92 front absorber - Car Accessories & Parts for sale Selangor - Mudah.my
Toyota JDM AE111 Big Shaft Front Absorber - Car Accessories & Parts for sale Kuala Lumpur - Mudah.my

wah otai lama speaking....salute....heheheh
what is ur ride now adeen....isit the signature pic...wow!!!!!!!!!!!

hachiroku clan

Oct 16, 2008
I appreciate your input sifus! Ok I got an idea on the prices now..
Last question: can these absorbers be serviced?

My eyes are on KYB n Tokico now but the latter is hard to find..
Thanks guys, I appreciate your help :-)

nnik

Sep 20, 2005
Lembah Klang
I appreciate your input sifus! Ok I got an idea on the prices now..
Last question: can these absorbers be serviced?

My eyes are on KYB n Tokico now but the latter is hard to find..
Thanks guys, I appreciate your help :-)
HWL oso ok...buy new 1...u oso can choose the spring rate depend on ur driving style...:D

hachiroku clan

Oct 16, 2008
HWL.. Servicable? im looking at low-range prices, around 130-170 per piece.. Have you guys heard of ACE? their absorbers are servicable, and later if you decide to convert to adjustable ones, you can use the same absorbers back.. but the price doesn't agree with my wallet, around RM1400-1600..

Adeen

Apr 28, 2006
HWL.. Servicable? im looking at low-range prices, around 130-170 per piece.. Have you guys heard of ACE? their absorbers are servicable, and later if you decide to convert to adjustable ones, you can use the same absorbers back.. but the price doesn't agree with my wallet, around RM1400-1600..
Ace also not bad...used before in my e30 sr20..
If im not mistaken u can look out for adjustable kits.
I've got a friend who converted his abs to adjustables using the kit.
Some ppl are selling them in mudah.my also.
And hwl, gab, titan, most of them r serviceable nowadays

Nnik: aduh mr president jgn salute2 sgt..sje bsan2 lame xpost..burger ade lg la kt umh ni.hehe

hachiroku clan

Oct 16, 2008
Ace also not bad...used before in my e30 sr20..
If im not mistaken u can look out for adjustable kits.
I've got a friend who converted his abs to adjustables using the kit.
Some ppl are selling them in mudah.my also.
And hwl, gab, titan, most of them r serviceable nowadays

Nnik: aduh mr president jgn salute2 sgt..sje bsan2 lame xpost..burger ade lg la kt umh ni.hehe

ok thanks for the inputs, will scout around and make my purchase soon.. :driver:

hello86

Jan 15, 2010
mine 1 is ae92 , using silvertop now ..
gonna change to blacktop ... but my foreman said if use back ae92 manual gearbox better than silvertop blacktop !!! may i know i hav 2 use which gearbox ? i know d ratio nt ngam , actualy if blacktop use back ae92 gearbox n silvertop gearbox any diffrence ????
if 5 speed gearbox can use 6 speed gearbox wiring ? any diffrence ?
coz i wanna buy engine edi .... thx

Adeen

Apr 28, 2006
got some gearbox sifu in this forum but don't know still active or not...
i don't know whether it's true or not, but last time a mech also asked me to change to ae92 16v gbox because of the longer ratio..??
can any gearbox sifu here confirm....since i'm still a newbie regarding to engine/gbox modification.

---------- Post added at 01:57 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:56 AM ----------

Hey SE Riders...care for any TT session? Maybe this weekend?
where r u staying...??TT quite fun if got a lot of members involved.. :D

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
mine 1 is ae92 , using silvertop now ..
gonna change to blacktop ... but my foreman said if use back ae92 manual gearbox better than silvertop blacktop !!! may i know i hav 2 use which gearbox ? i know d ratio nt ngam , actualy if blacktop use back ae92 gearbox n silvertop gearbox any diffrence ????
if 5 speed gearbox can use 6 speed gearbox wiring ? any diffrence ?
coz i wanna buy engine edi .... thx

as far as i know.. AE92 4AGE manual gearbox & 20v gearbox not much different if 5 speed..

6 speed = close gear ratio.. not really suitable for AE92 light chassis.. but i've seen people doing this..

5spd gearbox using 6spd wiring no prob.. mayb a lil bit more power if use 6spd ECU.. juz a lil bit

got some gearbox sifu in this forum but don't know still active or not...
i don't know whether it's true or not, but last time a mech also asked me to change to ae92 16v gbox because of the longer ratio..??
can any gearbox sifu here confirm....since i'm still a newbie regarding to engine/gbox modification.

---------- Post added at 01:57 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:56 AM ----------

where r u staying...??TT quite fun if got a lot of members involved.. :D

Adeen

Apr 28, 2006
i've only seen/driven a SC engine using blacktop gearbox...
so fast climb to 180km/h....and could see the difference @ 5th gear...

SC gearbox on SC = 5th gear 5k rpm = 180km/h
BT gearbox on SC = 5th gear 5k rpm = not yet 180km/h

vincelee1981

Jan 9, 2010
seremban
i've only seen/driven a SC engine using blacktop gearbox...
so fast climb to 180km/h....and could see the difference @ 5th gear...

SC gearbox on SC = 5th gear 5k rpm = 180km/h
BT gearbox on SC = 5th gear 5k rpm = not yet 180km/h
yup bro,its true i'm using the blacktop gbox with my sc(st150) the fun of using the bt gb is mid range 3rd gear climb until 165-170km/h boost @ 0.9 bar but on the 5th gear i'm getting 5.5k-6k rpm 200km/h(tune by emange).....:listen:

Adeen

Apr 28, 2006
ur car must be sleeper car....:D

redsider

Aug 19, 2010
Malacca
hey...this thread is already dead? can't believe it!

Guess AE90 series or to be exact, Toyota SE (Sedan or Ceilo) in Malaysia should be considered as "VINTAGE"...hehe!:smokin:

The reason I start this thread is I've notice for a while now since 2007. Most car that are stolen or break in are either those car that took part in Autoshow , appears in car magazine before or are well known around a certain area due to it's specialty like it's fast or got some goodies inside the car. I'm saying this by seeing the real things that happen and not guessing.

Autoshow can be a chance for the thieves to see what's in your car much more better and know every bit of things you...