i just did my ground cable... share share

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
hi all sifu sifu....

yesterday i just install my ground cable....
first is that my car is old..
so originally.. if open lights.. the rpm will drop a bit..
but then.. after i install ground cable, also same.. :(
dono why like this..
maybe my cable not thick enough? ( i using like 16 gauge)

the point i use is ... 2 point at engine block..
and one point at firewall, another point at body near the headlamp.
maybe not enough point?

any sifu can help?

another thing wan to share is that
those 'Y' shape thing i use..
normally ppl need special clamp to clamp wire to it
since i not have the clamp
i got another way.

first i use plyer to open up a bit
then put the things in
then i use small happer to hammer kao kao the place
so the wire will be tight
then i balut with isolating tape.. so it looks nice. :D
hope this helps those DIY'er out there who not have the clamp.

kelfo

Mar 9, 2005
Bukit Bintang
Have you tried grounding to your alternator as well???

I noticed that some of the commercial grounging cables are at least 6 gauge thick as a reference... It will be better to use the heat shrinking tubes, cos when hot the electric tape will come unwind and come out.

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
hmm... from wat u said.. looks like ur job is not nicely done... even the workmanship also..

for a grounding kit.. use at least 8ga cables.. 16ga is too thin... even 10ga also too thin.. i assume the "y" thing u mean are the cable lugs... u either need a proper crimping tool to hold the cable or usesoldering method... or at least use a plier to crimp it.. not using hammer...

for effective grounding.. u need at least 5 points.... 2 points is too little... for the 16ga u using... almost useless....

edwin_lcw

Jul 13, 2005
Setapak
can tell me whare u get those stuff ar ?
and for a normal wira nee how many gauge and how many points ?

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
those stuff can easily get from pasar road or any electronic shop...

generally all cars need 5-6 points. 8ga as entry level.... 4ga would be best....

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
oh...
i think my problem is that
1. cable too thin
2. not enough point..
:D

but my place no thick wire....
have to keep on searching

btw
i use plier to close the 'clamping place' shut tight first
only hammer slightly so it will stay nice.

btw.. what is 'heat sinking tube' thing..?
is it like i saw on other's project that black rubber thing?
where to buy one.. and how to put them there one?
that one looks better..

kage2099

May 14, 2005
Subang Jaya
when i did mine... i use car amplifier power cables... 4-gauge ones... rather good...

if im not mistaken it cost me around RM4/6 per feet... u have to measure the distances (agak agak) and provide some allowance for the lugs...

youmolo

Jul 3, 2005
Subang Perdana
www.tzywen.com
kage2099 said:
when i did mine... i use car amplifier power cables... 4-gauge ones... rather good...

if im not mistaken it cost me around RM4/6 per feet... u have to measure the distances (agak agak) and provide some allowance for the lugs...
yea, those will b perfect. or if u cant find any good wire, just go buy some jumper cables and slice them up :biggrin: u can get heat shrink tube from any electronics shop. make sure u clamp them tight. u don't want any wires running lose in ur engine compartment...

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
go acc shop 2 get those power cable they uses 4 amplifier 1....
normally they stock 8awg n 4awg...
u can use 2 8awg 2 make it into 4awg wire..
not sure if it works 4 grounding but in ICE...using 2 8awg kinda makes into a 4awg..

Aiya, if u lazy to do all that DIY, just contact C-GROUND (Drexchan) and just buy the package la bro. Seriously. They have multiple packages to suite your budget. Good stuff.

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
no lar...

DIY only have the fun in it...
thats the spirit mar.. :D
so i think i use 4x 16awg cable
can turn them into 4 awg... hehehehe

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
sam1741 said:
no lar...

DIY only have the fun in it...
thats the spirit mar.. :D
so i think i use 4x 16awg cable
can turn them into 4 awg... hehehehe
putting 4x16ga cables doesnt make a 4ga cable... a 4ga cable is much thicker than that...

tykoh

Jun 30, 2004
tykoh88.blogspot.com
khguan said:
putting 4x16ga cables doesnt make a 4ga cable... a 4ga cable is much thicker than that...
i bought 4ga cable in electronic shop.... cost RM10 per meter... i bought 4 meter leh... then the cable lugs also cost 50cent each... just done 4 points on firewall, alternator, engine cover, body...

gavan

Apr 14, 2004
well, im using those 4 gauge grouding cables too. helps abit kwaa...buthen old car, dun espect perform like new larr, butthen do espect a lil brighter lights and better sparking efficientcy lorrr....mine also old car marr.....more than 10 years old already... :D

cacin

Mar 9, 2005
tykoh said:
i bought 4ga cable in electronic shop.... cost RM10 per meter... i bought 4 meter leh... then the cable lugs also cost 50cent each... just done 4 points on firewall, alternator, engine cover, body...
How did you ground to alternator?
Any pic?

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
how to ground alternator?
find the alternator
see if any screw u can screw your ground cable to it ..
easy. ;)

Alvin

Sep 18, 2005
show pictur ah bang!! GPGT(Got Picture Got Talk) :tongue: :biggrin:
kiddin la :smile: if possible post some After DIy pic 2share wif us lo... :tongue:
wah!! which elect shop selling $10 per meter?? got so expensv meh?? mine oso using kind of audio type cable those thick thick 1 4got how many gauge liao, i buy 5 meter not even cost $20. :tongue: